We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobo Campfire cookout.”

Florida Railroad Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Parrish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1981, the Florida Railroad Museum's mission is to acquire, preserve and operate historic examples of Florida's railroad history. The museum is open Wednesday through Sunday from 10 AM to 4 PM, year-round. Diesel train excursions operate on Saturdays and Sundays only, departing at 11 AM and 2 PM. Special events are scheduled throughout the year featuring themed train rides. Some events have different operating schedules, so please call or check our website before your visit.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hobo Campfire cookout.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've always loved trains, and when I heard about this, and that they had a hobo campfire cookout train ride. I had to go, there's different cars that yo can ride in, one of which is an open air car which is super cool. The train ride lasts around an hour or so with cool stuff to see, like an orchard, old country homes ect. Once we got to the location we were given hotdogs and buns and open fires to cook em'. The best part was that they had a band playing old folk songs. If you love trains you'll looks this place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SrirachaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    20
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Thomas at FRRM”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited the FRRM for the Day out with Thomas event. Parking was free and well organized with volunteers about every five feet to help. We had preordered tickets and will call pickup was right out front and only a short line. Once inside the standard fair type booths were there, face paint, funnel cakes and lemonade... In addition there were many train and Thomas themed booths with toys and activities. As is typical at these types of events bring cash. The big event involved a real working Thomas the Tank Engine pulling you on some passenger cars for about 20 minutes. The Thomas train looks great and is complete with smoke and whistles. Getting in line early will get you in the first car, but really you don't see much more than any of the other cars as the Thomas is out in front. Biggest sticking point is the photos with Thomas. These pictures occur while the train is loading/unloading and you get in line immediately after your ride on the train. If you don't get your photo before they are ready for the next departure there is about a 30-45 minute turn around time for the train to return. The photo people were working fast and did a pretty good job moving people through, but you are also able to stand next to the photographer and take your own photos. Pro photos take 30 min. to process and cost $30, we didn't bother as we just took or own. Also don't waste much time in the gift tent, not really anything in there very special or that can't be easily obtained on the internet. There were also some smaller train and tractor rides for kids to enjoy. Overall for an event with thousands of toddlers it was fairly smooth. Best advice is to go early and get an early train ride. Things started getting crowded around 1030.

Helpful?
3 Thank bluetravellerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Live Museum”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Since having a Locomotive Day I have been a member now for a few years and the whole set up is so family related. Everyone makes you welcome and it is a great day out. Special train days are great to like Thomas and North Pole trips.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil-KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best place to bring your child!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

You can ride the train as many times as you want to, donations accepted. You can also bring your blankets, and food and have a picnic. It's so much fun. They have a huge playground where the kids can run around and burn that energy! It's a pretty big park in Dunedin that you cannot miss. Its a must when it comes to fun activities in the weekends with the kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pams picks”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very historical and they have specials from time the time. The grandkids of course love the rails. Always a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PamsPicks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Florida Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing