We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere !!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed during the Memorial Day weekend. Room looked like a hold-over from 1956. Very shady/sleazy atmosphere. The first hotel I have stayed at that I felt uneasy about mine and my family's personal safety. A lot of screaming and yelling next door and loud banging on the walls. Some one actually tried to unlock and enter our room. The so-called "security" was non-existant. Do not stay here!!!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    95
    94
    234
See reviews for
197
112
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I booked a week at the hotel. We got there and we're really disappointed. We had a room with 2 beds. They were really small and appeared like the room hadn't been clean. You ever stay at a hotel where you were afraid to lay down on bed? That's what we got. We looked for additional rooms but they all looked old. We stayed the night after changing the sheets and pillowcases. I didn't mention the bed felt like it had sand in it. Checked out the next day and went to holiday inn. Wouldn't recommend boardwalk to no one especially for the price. I've stayed in better $60.00 a night rooms that were nicer.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nothing like the pictures. It's false advertising!! Our room looked like a shelter. It only had one lamp so half of the room was dark. The beds were full of grit. Our room didn't get cleaned the entire stay. Our microwave was burnt, our mirror was colored on with a marker. There's only 2 plugs, and the heater/air didn't work. This hotel is horrible! But you get what you pay for.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Pictures of the rooms do not match what we received.

The workers are rude and smoke right outside of the rooms.

The map of the property includes amenities that some people are restricted to aka false advertising.

The rooms are covered in a layer of grime (I went into 5-6 other rooms of friends I was with).

The best things about this hotel is the beachside location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel I have ever been too I have already booked my room for august for the gulf coast jam and plan to be back before then thanks to all the friendly staff great room service excellent view of the ocean the bed was soft had wifi and just about anything you could ask for thanks Boardwalk for the best stay in room 4531

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, MX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel has nice location within Panama City Beach, and a nice beach. That's pretty much all you can say about this place. The hotel not only looks old and run down, it's maintenance is also very poor.

We stayed here because my wife did the IronMan Florida 2013 in October 2013. Lobby was ok, as soon as we went through the diner, I was amazed how old it looks. Their menu board on the wall, is at least 20 years old. Their tables are all wobly, half of them can't be used at all.

As soon as we got up to our room, I noticed the elevator which looks like a freight elevator and the room is so run down and old. There was a bed, a drawerset with a TV with a remote that did not work, and a fridge with a microwave on top. No chairs, no desk, no closet, nothing.

Enough said, just look at the pictures. Do yourself a favor, don't stay here... there are plenty of other properties with are a much better option.

Room Tip: Beach is really nice in this hotel, so a ground level room with a beach view will allow you to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipers Fork, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I selected this hotel as it was significantly cheaper than most beach front hotels for the one night I would be staying in Panama City Beach. I'm a very experienced traveler, staying over 200 nights a year in hotels, and I had read the very mixed reviews. The check in process was painless and quick. The woman at the front desk was very nice, offering tips on local restaurants, etc. The room was beach front, in the hotel tower. First impression was that the room was worn. No bugs, no dirt, average quality decor, and remarkably cheap linens and towels. The AC worked, fridge worked, and all the lights worked.

I honestly don't know who would reserve a room here and expect it to be a 5 star resort. It is what it is....a decent BEACHFRONT hotel for less money than most other beachfront hotels. If you want a better experience, pay more and get a better place. If you want a 5 star property, go to one. Don't book at room here and then be surprised when it doesn't match up to your expectations.

Now, if you want a decent beach front hotel, with adequate parking, a less congested area, and want to save some money...Stay here. It's not nearly as bad as some of the reviews would lead you to believe,

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are obviously more expensive but worth it. If it's your one trip a year to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottG155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
110 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
448 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 9600 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4234 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Boardwalk Beach Resort Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel At The Boardwalk Beach Panama City Beach
Resort At The Boardwalk Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing