We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not tub rash” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
soddy daisy.tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not tub rash”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Folks beware.....after using their hot tub my son and i both experienced hot tub rash.......and after many painful weeks and much expensive medicine we are starting to recover.....they did offer me discounts to come back and stay with them.......but no thanks and I will be checking the ph and cleanliness at any motel from now on..........they claimed it couldn't have possibly come from their hot tub but we broke out within hours of using it and my Doctor says it absolutely did come from hot tub exposure to a fungus infection.......and it was the only thing my son and I were both exposed to on the same day........he is a grown man by the way........beware!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank missdebbytennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Our hot tub and pool are cleaned everyday and the ph is tested twice per day. Also, our hot tub and pool are tested randomly twice per year by the state and have never failed and inspection. Your situation is unfortunate. However, I can assure you that our hot tub and pool are kept very clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    192
    55
    37
    38
See reviews for
195
172
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico from our balcony. Loved how the bedroom was separated from the living room and kitchen area. A+ ...! Looking forward to coming back :) Highly recommended for families with kids.

Room Tip: The Beachcomber is on the west end of PCB and is close to Pier Park. All rooms have a view of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We checked in everything was ok but we went out to eat and we put our drinks and such in the refrigerator and , left we return after we got groceries and the refrigerator had not got our drinks cold so we had to call the desk and we had to put our food in another room till morning so they could replace the refrigerator and they was no dishwasher so this is an efficient hotel room not a cond you get room service every day more to follow this is our first day here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wildfire1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are not a condo. We are a hotel and never advertise ourselves as a condo. With that said, we are even better than your regular hotel in the sense that our rooms are set up condo style. We are a suites hotel. We have double suites and king suites. Each has 1 bedroom with either 2 full size beds or king bed (depending on your room selection) separate living room with sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen and beachfront balcony. The great thing about being a hotel is that all our rooms are not individually owned and are all the same. You don't run into the problem of different rules and stipulations for different units with us. Also, all of our rooms are maintained and kept up to date, whereas in a condo property you may get one really great and one straight out of the '70's. Not only do condos usually require a damage deposit but they also have cleaning fees. We provide FREE Daily Housekeeping and in addition we also provide a FREE Continental Breakfast every morning. You don't usually get that with a condo! We also have a 24 hour front desk and maintenance staff on property everyday keeping our property running very efficiently. Appliances are not forever and at times may have an issue or two. I'm sure it's something that you may have even experienced at your home with your own appliances or belongings. The important thing is that once reported to our 24 hour front desk (which you normally do not find at a condo) we worked quickly to accommodate with an entire additional room (most likely would have been difficult to do at an individually owned condo property) and replaced the fridge the very next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owings mills maryland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The location was great, because you are right on the beach, and away from the main cluster of hotels. Down by Pier Park (main cluster) it is noisy and the kids riding the mopeds are whizzing thru the streets and constantly honking their horns. The hotel is older and we were told that it was updated. The rooms were clean. It is a work in progress. The prices are ok, because you have beach front rooms, with a balcony and a kitchen area. The baths are extremely small. But, this is where the value stops. I don't understand why the cost of rental chairs and umbrellas are 40.00 per day. So, we walked the beach and sat on our balcony enjoying the sights and sounds of the waves. A little more sprucing up, this could be a nice hotel. There is a pool and a barside pool on location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sage97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Yes, there is a beach rental service, separate from the resort, that will rent you a set of lounge chairs and an umbrella for the day. However, guests also have the option of setting up their own. We do not have a pool bar but we do have a beachfront pool with tables and chairs plus grilling area.

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed our accommodations, amenities and great location! We hope that you will be staying with us again soon. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

There are no umbrellas by the pool. The front desk staff are very unfriendly and unhelpful.
You have to pay $40 per day for beach chairs and umbrella. As they have THEIR chairs in front of the rooms on the beach guests are NOT allowed to put their chairs in front of them meaning you have to walk to the end of the property to use your own chair!
There is no safe in the room.
The pull out bed that is in the couch is all springs. The floor is more comfortable.
The free breakfast is donuts, beagles and waffles. NO FRUIT
For the money this place is lacking in everything.
Oh and the hot tub does not work!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Patricia U,

I'm sorry you were not pleased with your stay. We are always striving to improve our service and product, and guest feedback helps us to do that so I thank you for your review.

The beach rental company, separate from the hotel, has a portion of the beach. This is where they have their lounge chairs and umbrellas set up for rental. Guests may set up their own chairs in front of the beach service at the water line or at the sides of where the beach service is set up. So, there is plenty of room for personal setup.

We do not provide personal safes in rooms. We actually rarely even get a request or inquiry about them. Perhaps it's because we don't really experience problems in this area. In addition to donuts, bagels and waffles we also offer yogurt, oatmeal, coffee and juice in our FREE Continental Breakfast. I've researched and I have no record of our hot tub being down. If you found it not working, I hope that you did mention it to a member of our 24 hour front desk staff. We have a top notch maintenance department that is very efficient at keeping our resort running in tip-top shape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I am the sponsor of a high school musical organization. I brought a group of 40 students to stay at the Beachcomber in order to perform at a local music festival. I've brought groups to Panama City Beach before but this was the first time to stay at this property. The hotel is older but all of the rooms were clean and well maintained. My students did their time on the beach but they also enjoyed the pool area after the sun went down. The location was ideal for us as there is a shopping center with a grocery store and a drug store within easy walking distance. The students were able to go to the store and bring back food to prepare in the rooms. There are a couple of fast food places as well as some sit-down dining establishments just across the street. There was a good mix of young people, older couples and families staying here also. We only had one problem while we were here. There was a room with some rowdy spring-breakers in between two of our freshman girls rooms. They were being loud and obnoxious and I was concerned that we might have to contact the local police. Fortunately the people in that room left the hotel for a long portion of the evening and I discovered that the hotel has a security guard on duty all night until 6 AM. We were all glad to see that room check out the next morning. The hotel staff were always helpful and courteous. They even went out of their way to provide some special accommodations that we needed. I will definitely plan to stay here again the next time we come to Panama City Beach.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank brianp1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience at Beachcomber By The Sea with others! I appreciate your accolades about our clean rooms and pleasant staff as well as our security. Thank you for pointing out our great beachfront location and convince to everything. It really is second to none!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived in PC on a Friday afternoon. After driving for a hour looking for some where to stay. We found this hotel. It's a little dated, but very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with one king sized bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana17101, Director of Sales at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your business and review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be visiting again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing