We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for a short weekend trip to visit family. It was too cold to enjoy the beach or pool but the view didn't disappoint. The room was nice with 2 double beds and a pull out sofa couch bed. The couch was a little old looking with some stains but it didn't stop us from using it. The kitchen is nice with just about everything you need (bring your own paper towels). However, our coffee maker didn't work. They do have continental breakfast with the following being offered: coffee, apple juice, orange juice, pre-packaged bagel/muffin, small yogurt, or oatmeal packet. If you're looking for the eggs/sausage/toast kind of breakfast then you might want to stay some where else otherwise you're better off cooking your own breakfast or going to Mcdonalds down the road. Being that it's the off season we were able to book this room for $69/night. Definitely would stay here again! Oh and it's a short drive to pier park.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback! Winter is a great value time to come visit us, but it can get a little chilly here in NW Florida as you saw. :( As you know the pool is heated, but I can't blame you for not utilizing it because you have to get out at some point!!

We are working on replacing carpets and furniture at all 3 of our By the Sea properties, so hopefully when you visit us again we will not have any stains on the sofa. Also, it is my hope that if you reported the coffee maker to us that we replaced it! I will have that checked to ensure that we do not have the problem moving forward.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate any and all comments so we know what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    192
    55
    37
    38
See reviews for
195
172
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Everytime I go the staff is always kind all the way down to the cleaning crew. Its a quaint hotel that's go for a family or couple get away. I recommend the Jacuzzi suite for couples. The free continental breakfast is a plus for the family folks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bam-Bam2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Our staff is always very appreciative to hear such nice things from our guests. Thank you also for continuing your patronage with us. We look forward to continuing to serve you in future years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was well appointed and the beds was very comfortable. We asked the front desk for a food recommendation was given a place by the name of Dusty's and it was excellent. It was very peaceful rest as we opened the balcony door and fell asleep listening to waves. The only negative I found was that there was no public access to Internet without paying for it, so the access to company email and stuff was through my phone, just not he same.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts! Our staff is all long time locals, so they definitely know the good watering holes and eating establishments! Just ask us.

I certainly understand your frustration about not having free internet. That is something that we are working to resolve as soon as possible. It is our hope to have free internet in rooms within the next 2 years. In the meantime, we do have a public access computer in our lobby that is available for guest use. I hope that our staff made you aware of this, and I apologize if we did not.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was a great stay overall! The place needs an update but it's kept clean. The view was great! The divided room was a great with a full kitchen always comes in handy.Especially traveling with 2y/o twin boys. They got the living room while the rest of the families still snoozing. The price we payed was worth it. Beds were comfortable, too! To get up and wake up with the view and the sound of the beach at your balcony was awesome. Convenient location. Close to everything. Staff were accommodating. Outdoor was an idea but it was chilly to jump in. It would be nice to have an indoor pool...=)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdavis5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your thoughts! We do pride ourselves on our service and our cleanliness. We also are always working to update our rooms and facilities. We have several renovation projects going on at all 3 of our properties as we speak! Our new breakfast area at Beachcomber is absolutely beautiful, and it will be open in the next few weeks!

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on future stays! Come see us when it is warmer, and you will thank us for the outdoor pool....unless it rains!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed there a couple of nights for New Years! Very clean and updated with a great ocean view! Had a 2 room suite with kitchen for $69 a night. I had called around to some condos that claimed $100 a night, but by the time you pay a reservation fee and a clean up fee it turned out to be $200 a night. You can't beat this hotel for location, clean with plenty of parking at a bargain price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbosold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback!

One of our greatest features at all 3 By the Sea Resorts properties is that we don't have any hidden fees. You are correct that resort fees, parking fees, cleaning fees, etc can add up quickly! Know that you will never have such fees when staying with our family of hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

not fancy, but great value, rooms had everything you need for a long term stay, perfect location... not lots of noise or disruptions, pool was decent, would definitely stay again if a long term stay.... beach is amazing on this side of panama city beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereherehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your thoughts! We appreciate the kind words. Location and value are two of our strongest selling points for sure. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Beachcomber as a family and loved the location. The beach is awesome. And like other people have commented, it was great to have a door dividing the bed from the living room. I liked it for safety for my kids as well as being able to stay up later than they did at night. BUT the last morning I woke up to find a HUGE cockroach in the walkway from the bedroom by the kitchenette. So, so gross and to think we were walking barefoot through there to go to the bathroom. When we said something to the staff when checking out they simply said they would clean it up. As much as we liked the location, the fact that on the 4th floor they have such huge roaches and the lack of appropriate response by the staff means we won't be returning.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Whites8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I am sorry for such a delayed response!

I am very sorry to hear that you had such an experience with our property. We do have our rooms professionally serviced for pests on a monthly basis, but unfortunately some slip through the cracks from time to time as much as I would like to say they don't. Even more troubling is that we did not provide you with the level of service that you expected. However, I appreciate you letting me know this, as we can use this as a specific learning opportunity.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, as what you experienced is certainly not the norm. Service and cleanliness are usually two of our strongest assets! Please give us the opportunity to make it right on another vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#29 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.1 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing