We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good for the price!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed there a couple of nights for New Years! Very clean and updated with a great ocean view! Had a 2 room suite with kitchen for $69 a night. I had called around to some condos that claimed $100 a night, but by the time you pay a reservation fee and a clean up fee it turned out to be $200 a night. You can't beat this hotel for location, clean with plenty of parking at a bargain price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbosold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback!

One of our greatest features at all 3 By the Sea Resorts properties is that we don't have any hidden fees. You are correct that resort fees, parking fees, cleaning fees, etc can add up quickly! Know that you will never have such fees when staying with our family of hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    207
    64
    39
    39
See reviews for
212
185
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
here
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

not fancy, but great value, rooms had everything you need for a long term stay, perfect location... not lots of noise or disruptions, pool was decent, would definitely stay again if a long term stay.... beach is amazing on this side of panama city beach

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hereherehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your thoughts! We appreciate the kind words. Location and value are two of our strongest selling points for sure. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Beachcomber as a family and loved the location. The beach is awesome. And like other people have commented, it was great to have a door dividing the bed from the living room. I liked it for safety for my kids as well as being able to stay up later than they did at night. BUT the last morning I woke up to find a HUGE cockroach in the walkway from the bedroom by the kitchenette. So, so gross and to think we were walking barefoot through there to go to the bathroom. When we said something to the staff when checking out they simply said they would clean it up. As much as we liked the location, the fact that on the 4th floor they have such huge roaches and the lack of appropriate response by the staff means we won't be returning.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Whites8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber By The Sea, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, and I am sorry for such a delayed response!

I am very sorry to hear that you had such an experience with our property. We do have our rooms professionally serviced for pests on a monthly basis, but unfortunately some slip through the cracks from time to time as much as I would like to say they don't. Even more troubling is that we did not provide you with the level of service that you expected. However, I appreciate you letting me know this, as we can use this as a specific learning opportunity.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, as what you experienced is certainly not the norm. Service and cleanliness are usually two of our strongest assets! Please give us the opportunity to make it right on another vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Vern nice hotel! i visit panama city beach each fall for my fraternity date party, and stay at by the sea hotels. It has a very good rate and an excellent view of the gulf. The staff is very gracious and very eager to help you with any accommodations you may have.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeroH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice accommodation in Panama City Beach. Beautiful room as a full condo suite. VERY VERY clean and attractive. the balcony facing the ocean was mint. could see anything
the full kitchen was amazing.
Good rate and great views of the Gulf. Full kitchen I made use of to save money. Nice balcony and seating area with the Gulf view. Two Tvs and a door between living and sleeping areas. The breakfast is prepackaged bagels and buns juice, coffee, tea, and yogurt, I was immediately impressed upon entering our room. It was well decorated and spacious. The bedding was very comfortable and the view was great
It also had a second television in this area. There was good access to the beach. The pool and hot tub were very nice, as well. There were ample parking spaces during our stay, with overflow spaces across the street.
I would recommend this for anyone. singles, couples and family
stayed here as a solo in November 2013
would recommend i personally would stay again

Room Tip: Get room on 5th floor so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way south. Good rate and great views of the Gulf. Full kitchen we made use of to save money. Nice balcony and seating area with the Gulf view. Two Tvs and a door between living and sleeping areas. The breakfast is prepackaged bagels and buns juice, coffee, tea, and yogurt. Pool was clean and refreshing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We needed a place for one night, and they offered competitive rates... The room was smelly, not clean, the bathroom was so awful that we decided not to use the shower. The carpet was funky and probably the source of the smell. I have never been so relieved to leave a place. We arrived at 9pm and if we didn't have to leave by 4am again, i would have gone to another hotel. The only reason they can charge (or think they can) is because of the beach right out front.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shonzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
546 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
449 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
111 reviews
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing