We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very Nice But Across From Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Origin Beach Resort
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Origin is an extremely nice condo and is brand new. The reviewer below must have been referring to a different property because this building was built new around 2007...I watched it going up on our trips:-) Anyway, we rented from the owner through VRBO and can't comment on the reservation/check-in folks, but the units are beautiful. There are a wide array of views ranging from zilch to awesome depending on location in the building, so keep this in mind when reserving and be sure you know what you are getting. We had a true 1BR (some are just efficiencies) and it was spacious and beautifully furnished with balcony overlooking the gulf. Everything is upscale and new. The pool was great and the gulf views from it are awesome too. Sharky's is right across the street and there is exclusive beach access next door to it. All of this being said, do keep in mind that this condo is not on the beach...it is across the street and there is no "cat-walk". We never had any trouble crossing as there is a crosswalk, but I can see where in the Summer getting across with kids and all their "stuff" could be a nuisance. There are no tall buildings across the street, so views on about the 4th floor and up are unobstructed (if unit is facing the gulf). If the price is right and you are sure what you are booking (VRBO, etc), this is certainly a good option to higher priced beachfront buildings with all of the new condo luxury and relatively easy access. Depending on rates being much lower than the true beachfront buildings, I would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Origin Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 659 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

Sad to say: Location is good but the hotel is run down. They are in the process of switching into condo. The problem was that is an old hotel that seems a bit covered up with a slight face lift.

The staff at the front desk it's to used to raudy Spring Breakers that they don't show much respect to their guests.

Internet gets interrupted all the time. Weak signal or no signal.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lerianix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Do not stay here.

I stayed here with 4 friends for spring break. Upon arrival, we discovered that our room only had sleeping for 4, and we paid for 5. To get an air mattress was another fee, even though the mistake was their fault. The document we signed at check-in said we would receive a mid-week room cleaning, for which the hotel would keep $50 of the $500 deposit we put down the first day. We never received this room cleaning. When we explained this to the manager at the end of the week, she said they do not clean the rooms during spring break. I showed her the document I signed that said our rooms would be cleaned, and she said the policy had been changed mid-week and that money would not be refunded us, and was instead being kept as a "registration fee".

The supposed "free wireless internet" did not work whatsoever and none of the employees could help us or explain why. Also, the hotel movie theater was closed all week. We asked 3 different front-desk employees why and none of them knew. Overall, the employees at the Origin were completely unknowledgeable about the hotel and the local area. Really, really unhelpful. Though our group was completely respectful to the employees and followed the hotel rules, we were treated rudely. I understand that some spring-breakers had caused damage to the hotel, but that does not give the employees the right to treat every vacationer rudely.

The best thing I can say about the Origin is that the building is nice. But I would have rather stayed at a Motel 6 than at the Origin. Poor treatment, unhelpful employees, hidden fees -- skip the Origin and save your vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missnewbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I recently stayed at Origin at Seahaven for 2 nights with my daughter during spring break. Never again. The hotel was wonderful and the staff should get paid double for all of the disgusting,rude and destructive things the spring breakers do during their vacation. The Spring breakers are charged a $500 refundable charge for any damage that they do to their room. The problem is they for some reason think "I wont destroy my room cause I'll get charged so I'll destroy the hallway and the stairwells" Holes were punched in hallways, room numbers ripped off of wall and garbage just littered the stairwell. The hotel hired security for the pool area and they were wonderful but can only do so much. Our room was great and the staff was great and pleasant. I dont know how they kept their cool when rude 18-23yr olds spoke to them. I would definately stay here again but I would never go back during spring break.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I have been here since Jan 09, and have watched the distruction first hand, from broken elevators to trash thrown all over, walls kicked in, light fixture and exit signs broken. They urinate and puke in the stair wells, pull fire alarms just about every night. They take control of the small pool area, and even if you wanted a swim, it would be full of urine and beer. Although the staff try's hard they are unable to keep up with the trash. I would say that 98% of rooms occupied are breakers and then all the rooms are over loaded, which creates a dangerous overload of all facilities. Glad not to be coming back next year & REAL HAPPY not to be an owner. Signed a Liberal Snowbird

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberalsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We decided to drive straight through our 20 hour drive and got there a night early. The front desk was very helpful, especially at midnight. She tried to switch our assigned room so that we would not have to move our things the next day. However, she gave us the wrong type of room (studio instead of efficiency)... so we had to ask to move anyway. The first room had a broken switch to the ceiling light, and the light bulb was left uncovered and partially unscrewed to keep it turned off. They were really nice about getting us the right room though. The lobby is beautiful, but parking is really awkward. There are only 4 luggage carts in the entire place, which are usually left around instead of gathered. After getting into the right room later that afternoon (and tracking down a luggage cart), we were greeted with an extremely comfortable bed and pillows. This was the best part of the whole room. The tv is small and not very clear, the couch had a large scuff mark/stain on it, and the a/c made a terrible clicking/grinding noise. We were however right on the pool/jacuzzi deck which was nice. Great heated pool and clean hot tub. The bathroom was clean, but the tub didn't drain right when you showered. There was not daily cleaning, and no one actually showed up in the entire 5 days we were there. We had to get clean towels and wash cloths from the front desk, and they would only release 2 at a time. You are responsible for your own trash, washing the dishes that you use, and making your own bed. You also have to get dish soap, coffee, coffee filters, and make sure to bring your own shampoo/soap, as they only leave one sample size for the whole stay. All of these things were tolerable, and I'm sure the place was a lot better than most for the price that we paid. There were just a lot of minor issues that made things a little less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Wow! When we opened the door to the 14th floor, 2 bedroom condo, we were thrilled! The view of the gulf was spectacular -- from the balcony, from the living area and from one of the bedrooms (mine!). How relaxing to wake up every morning and see the waves breaking on the beach! We stayed over Christmas Eve and Christmas, plus one more night and it was very quiet in the area. I'd recommend bringing groceries at that time of year to cook in the well appointed fabulous kitchen! A lot of restaurants are closed off season and of course on Christmas! We had a dining table that was massive and would seat at least 6. The granite-topped bar and tiled kitchen were lovely. Beach access was great -- just a short walk across the street and right onto the sugar sand. We had read that some people experienced slow elevators -- that was not the case for us!

The rates were fabulous and so was everything else about our stay! I'd definitely recommend this great property! Hope we get to come back soon -- it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lauriesaturn_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
845 reviews
3.5 mi away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#12 of 83 in Panama City Beach
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Laketown Wharf Resort
Laketown Wharf Resort
#20 of 83 in Panama City Beach
598 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#60 of 83 in Panama City Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Beach Resort

Address: 15100 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-4553
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $100 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Origin at Seahaven is located directly across the street from the Gulf of Mexico, offering beautiful views of the beach and surrounding city skyline. The resort is just minutes from a variety of restaurants and numerous family attractions including Pier Park, Frank Brown Park, and St. Andrews State Park. Offering condominiums ranging in size from King Suite to 4 Bedroom, you will be sure to find the perfect accommodations for a family of any size! Come enjoy the beauty of the pristine white sands of the Gulf of Mexico or relax on the 15th floor observation deck, watching the sunset over the water! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Origin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Origin At Seahaven Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing