We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mildew Odor and Questionable People Loitering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mildew Odor and Questionable People Loitering”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend during the tail end of our Summer vacation in the Florida Panhandle and New Orleans. We were very disappointed with our stay and actually were looking for other accommodations shortly after checking in. I was told when I booked this hotel that it is a 10 minute walk to the beach. I challenge anyone to walk to the beach from this hotel. There are two very busy streets you have to cross and a hectic Walmart before you get near the beach. Then you have to cut through other beachfront properties to get to the beach access. We woke up early and drove to the beach. Luckily we found quiet and free parking on the beach. Panama City Beach is not a sleepy, beach town in any way. The beach was wide but the water was murky and full of algae and seaweed. We were told this is not typical of the beach but we did not see any seaweed/algae in the water a week earlier in Destin.

Now to the hotel. As soon as we walked in, you are hit with a mildewy odor that permeated the property. It actually got worse in the room and we later found out that the air conditioner was full of mold and mildew. That could not be healthy for us. The floor in our room was filthy as well. On our second day after returning from the beach, there was an overwhelming smell of cigar smoke on the third floor where our room was. This is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel and when I reported it to the front desk, she told us she knew which room it came from and called the police on them. The pool is not fancy and did not seem clean. I witnessed a group in there with young children using the pool without swimsuits. They were just swimming in their underwear. That cannot not be sanitary and hygienic. Lastly, I noticed sketchy individuals in the lobby and parking lot throughout our stay. One night (8/3), there was someone loitering by the front desk trying to "sell" his room to anyone that came by. Since the hotel was full, potential guests that came in to inquire about vacancy were harassed by this person. The front desk person tolerated this person and allowed this to continue. She was not part of it and stated it was illegal but allowed him to stay there harassing guests and potential guests. I also noticed questionable people in the parking lot drinking alcohol, smoking and doing who knows what else. We did not feel overly safe here. In closing, we were not very impressed by Panama City Beach as a whole. Other destinations on the Panhandle like Destin, Fort Walton Beach and Seaside are much nicer. If we ever return to PCB, we will definitely NOT stay at the Country Inn and Suites on Clarence Street.

Tip - to get away from the all action and trashiness of PCB, head to historic St. Andrews on the other side of the Hathaway Bridge for harbor front dining, boating and shopping. Awesome food at Uncle Ernies or Gracie Rae's right on the water, nice little shops on Beck Avenue and live music and eclectic gifts ideas at the "Little Village". It was a great respite from hectic PCB and we may return just to hang out in St. Andrews. So quaint, low key and chill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrippers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizpatel, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to me directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

And again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    40
    26
    20
See reviews for
108
74
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel - it's clean the staff are very friendly but for $232 for one night I deserve some eggs and sausage or bacon. This is my second time staying here and it's still the same thing. I need eggs for $200. Please serve eggs on the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good location for the price. But my last post was deleted by the owner so im going to keep it short.housekeeping woke me at 8am every morning i was there not using thier doorstops, and using the metal lock thats on each door so they run in and out of each room letting it BANG so when I ask them to please stop, they nod and keep doing it! I would stay here of they cold get a translator in and ORDER them to stop! I enjoy sleeping when I am on vacation. I work housekeeping 4 yrs so there is no excuse for ignorance when I call front desk and tell them to fix this issue, and I am ignored

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizpatel, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the guestroom doors banging. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

1. Door latch has a screw missing.
2. Refrigerator not chill
3. Stains on carpet
4. Extreme slow drain in tub and shower
5. Upon entering the room the previous customer had left their coat hanger on the door.
6. stains on bed skirt--gross!
7. stiff bed.

Mind you, i'm being charged a little over $150 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Orlando for one night. We've stayed at this chain all over the US and this was a slight disappointment. Check in was smooth and the staff were friendly; however, the rooms carpets were stained and showed wear...needs updating. The breakfast line had a wait wrapping around the walls while people were holding the line up at the waffle machine. We decided to skip the line and look for another alternative. Suggestion for the waffle machine to be moved to the end of bar where the line would continue to flow. Also, this is the only Country Inn we've visited not offering warm chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. Be ready for a hike if your looking to walk to the beach, not on beach front and room prices escalate on Saturday night stays. Would opt for a newer hotel with beach frontage on next visit, cost is similar if not lower.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 917traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before checking into our beach condo. It was a reasonable price & the hotel was clean, our room was spacious and the staff was very friendly & helpful. The best part is location, you can walk to zaxbys, Krystal, dollar tree, marble slab & front beach road (so not too far a walk to the beach)! Very satisfied!!!!! We requested an early check in and they worked hard to get us in at lunchtime! Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollygcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend it is easy to walk to the beach, loads of parking and a Walmart across the street and plenty of restaurants around. The rooms are standard with the noisey AC unit that is present in all US hotels at this level... but leave it on whilst your out and the room is cool enough for you to switch off over night, they have cottoned on to saving energy in the US yet by making you stick your key card in to power up the room... so this works, breakfast is fine to get you started alll in all good value, especially if your a Carlson Club member as I am.

Room Tip: Read comment above about AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#20 of 48 in Panama City Beach
235 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
821 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Address: 10241 Clarence St, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-4104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites is located in Panama City Beach, near the beach and is centrally located to all shops, restaurants and attractions. There are seven different room types to choose from and the hotel has an outdoor pool, business center, fitness center, meeting space and guest laundry facilities. It is also close to the nightclubs and there is a trolley stop in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama City Beach
Country Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Beach Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing