We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
dothan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was OK BUT”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Of course we rented through VRBO from a owner that talked his condo up big time, and continuned by saying how clean it was for he uses his own personal cleaning lady. Well when we arrived at Sunrise beach we did get in early. We had to pick our keys up at bestbeachgetaways, for thats who he has managing his condos. They gave a a code to get in which worked but when we went into the unit it was dirty. The furnishings were beautiful, but good grief the furniture was a overkill for the size of rooms. It was HUGE!(the furniture that is). He said we could see the ocean on our 5th floor unit which overlooked the pool too, but really their was no ocean view from our room. He said the pool that we were staying by was heated..(which it wasnt till I complained) because we had some really cold night making the pool freezing! Than they finally heated it which too a couple days to enjoy. All and all the unit was beautiful BUT EVERYTHING needed cleaning..and they never even had dish towels! Our feet was always black from walking on the tile in there. We wore socks alot in there of course making them black. I tried with what I had to clean the tile but they didnt leave a bucket etc....I would definetly stay at Sunrise again but not in unit 502.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tropical144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    61
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
160
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Sunrise is one of the best, Resort Condo Services knows how to give good customer service. this condo is perfect for a couple or small family (2 kids in bunk room). excellent location to all new attractions on west end beaches(Pier Park, Margaritaville, movies ,shopping, homemade ice cream, great beach, great pool. under building parking, large balcony for enjoying the ocean view, no crossing street to get to beach. water amenities available, jet skis, parasail, banana boats, chairs/umbrellas. been going to PC for 60 yrs. seen a lot of changes. hightly recommend this condo.be sure and check out the new Pier Park complex and still growing. favorite eating places, Montego Bay and Scampy's on east end Thomas Dr. good food, excellent prices. we will certainly be back if we don't continue to lose our retirement to the stock market.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redmanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Resort Condo Services was great to work with. It was easy to log on to their website, VisitPCB.com, see the rooms to choose from and reserve the room that best suited our family. The room was wonderful and the view was awesome! Having the beach chairs with umbrella included with our room was great! We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpmomof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

After a disasterous start to our vacation (see review of Tidewater Beach in PCB!) we were offer to switch to another Resort Quest property at Sunrise Beach. We had previously stayed at Boardwalk on S. Thomas and frankly prefer the resorts at that end of PCB. We were looking for something with a similar "resort feel" and some ammenities to satisfy two families with young ones, teens and young adults. I specifically wanted nice pools and a master bedroom with a balcony/beach view (the 1 BDR's as Boardwalk have caves for master bedrooms - that's the only reason we didn't go back). We also wanted the security of renting through Resort Quest as we had always had good luck with their units in the past and I was booking for my brother's family as well - didn't want any surprises! Sunrise was a really good value and the both our 2 BDR condos were beautiful. Perfect ocean views, tall ceilings, beautiful furnishings. Our unit (1108) had a gigantic oval tub, full size washer/dryer (bigger laundry room than I have at home!), beautiful dishes and Cuisinart cookware. It had fun, beachy decor. My brother's family loved their unit (1410) with dark wood furniture, black granite countertops and huge four-poster queen bed in the master. Both rooms had an adorable bunk room with a tv and enough drawers for all the kid's stuff. My girls (8 and 13) LOVED their little room and my 17 year-old son loved having his own queen room. Plenty of space and privacy! The only criticisms were the 5th floor pool deck, while pretty, clean and spacious enough, you had to go back down the elevator and through the parking garage to go out to the beach. Kind of a hassle, but it didn't really take that much time.
POSITIVES: Deluxe furnishings, really large units, great views, MUST GO THROUGH RESORT QUEST to get so many extras and great service - beach chairs included saved us over $200 week and all you needed to do is walk down around 8-9 in the morning to reserve them. With Resort Quest you are guaranteed your unit will have nice stuff - we cooked giant gourmet meals for 10 and had a blast! Plenty of parking in underground garage - car was never in hot sun and we didn't have to schlepp stuff from across the street. Nice pool chairs (not the hot, broken plastic kind).
NEGATIVES: Pool on 5th floor, beach on 1st floor of parking garage. Elevators were slow on Saturday when everyone was checking in...rest of the time ok.
THINGS TO DO: Favorite PCB restaurant of all time is Schooners. Go for a late lunch and stay till the music starts. Best crab cakes in the world! Highly recommend Island Time snorkling and dolphin watch cruise - right next to Schooners so you can go before lunch! From Sunrise Beach you can walk to Sharky's for Happy Hour - not the best food by any stretch, but it's fun. Sunrise is walking distance to Pier Park.
OTHER TIPS; During busy times of year, I wouldn't go all the way to WalMart from the Sunrise Beach (Pier Park) area. WAY too crowded (we waiting an hour just in line!) Publix is closer on Back Beach road and they have good prices. Target at Pier Park is closer. WalMart was a zoo and took half our whole first night of vacation, plus they were out of everything!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

In reference to room 1208 and 3 others that we reserved for the whole week. the traffic going anywhere around is awful on the weekends. The weekedays were not so bad. The elevators stay busy on the weekends not to bad during the week days. Our room had a great decorators touch! We had one really ugly room out of 4! GREAT view of the beach, be prepared to spend lots of cash for food if you go to any of the nearby eateries, be prepared to be stuck in traffic if you go to some of the common eateries. Bring extra towels, toilet paper, paper towels...etc! To use the pool you have to purchase a 1.00 armband each day, but if you go out after the office closes its free"wink" Be sure to get lots of the coupons for attractions around PCB when you check in I found these on the 2nd to last day we were there. This CONDO was extremely family friendly!! It was quiet at night and I always felt safe to walk around alone out there. The people were friendly and respectful to your children. Our top covers had to be stripped when we got there, they were extremely nasty. With washers and dryers provided in room, I washed the sheets before I jumped in. This Condo was rented through VRBO.com!!! Have FUN!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trackjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

To get to the beach, you have to cross two lanes of traffic in the parking garage.
The elevators have a very long wait and are not working properly alot of the time.
Also, there are not enough of them. Whole families waiting at the time over 10
to 15 minutes at times. Luggage carts are non existant. If you are on a high number
floor. Good Luck with luggage and groceries.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grannylga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

I would recommend this condo site to anyone! We went for the first week of what would be the college spring break! The condo was still very quite and the pool was not crowded. I read reviews that said they were disappointed about the beach being out the parking ramp and having to wait for the elevator and was concerned. We didn't think that those things were a problem in the least! The view was absolutely amazing and the sunsets unbeatable! The only problem I found was that the carpet was in need of cleaning or replaced. Even then it wasn't that bad. The condo is located on the far NE end of the strip, which is away from the prime of the activity. We had no problems with parking at the condo, or when we went out. I would go back here time and time again, matter of fact, we are planning to come back in August!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassyshilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#17 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#7 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#17 of 83 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#8 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Property: Sunrise Beach Resort
Address: 14825 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3554
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Vacatia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing