We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have to agree with all of the reviews that stated the limited number of elevators and luggage carts is a significant issue at this resort. I don't understand why there are not more than 2 or 3 luggage carts when everyone checks in on the same day. Even if you can find a luggage cart which I could not you have to then try to find an open elevator. I am sure 4 elevators is code for a property with this many units, but it is not sufficient. I carried all of our stuff up the stairs. It was a great workout.

The unit we stayed in 1001 was a very large 3 bedroom 3 Bathroom unit. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook and eat. The wireless internet worked well. The unit was not very clean when we got there. We had to sweep the floor and wipe things down.It appears the cleaning team simply changes the bedding. We had to ask for more towels. The towels in our unit were not very appealing.

The view of the Gulf was excellent. Unfortunately, the people in the unit next to us smoked regularly and the wind was blowing our way. Everyone at this resort smoked. It was a bit gross for those of us who do not smoke.

The pool was nice and well maintained. The exercise room was decent, but the televisions did not work very well. We did get two beach chairs each day. That was a nice benefit.

While a reasonable price, I would spend a little more and go somewhere else like Destin. There is really not anything to do in Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: get a room on the lowest level possible. We were on 10 and that was to high. Keep in mind that floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt22260993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    63
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
163
50
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had stated at Sunrise beach five years ago and loved it but this year we were disappoited. The elevators were slow, crowded and hot but that really wasn't that bad if you know that is the case when you get there. We liked being able to park under the buiding. We left sand toys, boogie boards, etc in the car and go them on the way to the beach to avoid carring them to our room each time. The pools were nice and seemed well maintained. The chairs and loungers were in good shape. Each room has a large balcony overlooking the gulf. The water was great for 4 out of 6 days we were there. On the other two days we had lots of seaweed. Guest started writing on the beach in the seaweed. By the time we left the sand was covered in seaweed graffiti which ruined the once beautiful view. There were lots of church youth groups and softball/baseball teams staying at the resort. Quite a few people smoking on the beach. We were worried about the noise from the pool or elevator, but it wasn't an issue. Each condo is different but as for ours it looked dated and needed updating. The room wasn't clean when we arrived. The was a very used bar of soap in the shower, hair on the floor in the bathroom, enough dust on the nightstand to write your name, a used bandaid stuck to a pillow on the couch (in their defense it was on the under side of the pillow....) and the floors had not been swept. Our bed was confortable and the kitchen was well stocked. We enjoyed walking to Sharkey's and sitting on the balcony. In the gym there were six treadmills. One was broken and two said walkers only. There were free weights and other equipment. The resort is fine for a family budget level beach vacation but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom51mem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Ok! Here is my first review on trip advisor. I actually research wherever we go and can usually figure a place out by reviews on Trip advisor(of which I love and appreciate the reviews) that being said... This resort is terrible! Poor at best. I've never felt more duped by reviews and pics than ever! I'm even more embarrassed that we have our family here and some close friend of ours. Maybe there are other units in here that are probably ok, but this unit is horrible! When we walked in the floors are filthy! I honestly expect carpet to be terrible in a beach resort, but my 15 month old who is crawling/ walking her knees and feet turned black with dirt in less than 30 minutes from the tile floor. The shower curtain in the small bathroom had pink slime and mold. We were supposed to have gym card keys and pool bracelets, however, you have to pay $2 a piece for the pool bracelets. The elevators are so slow. 4 HOT elevators that we waited 25 minutes to go to the beach. I have 3 young kids, can't expect them to walk down or up 12 flights of stairs. We complained to resort quest who only "leases the space in the lobby" beware cause they cant help you at all! And they really could care less. Come on people is it too much to ask for someone to clean floors and replace the shower curtain or just have the place cleaned. There is no pride taken in this facility and it shows! When we complained about our rental/unit the person who manages it told us "it's clean, the floors will turn your feet black, oh all the shower curtains have mold" they did replace the curtain and swiffered the floors and got maintenance to fix the clogged tub that had nasty hair and dirt dumped in our trash so we all could see how unkept this place is. The only good thing I can say about the unit is it has a huge balcony that faces the ocean. We are sick at the money we paid for a place like this. To drive 14 hours with small children to come to a place that is unacceptable.... Please just don't go! Also the beaches are NOT kept. Seaweed everywhere on the beach! We asked about it and was told "we don't do that here." referring to cleaning the beach/sand every morning. We have stayed at PCB every year for te past 5 years and this resort is the worst! I will post pics in addition so you can see!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ELAmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First of all, let me say that Hector and Traci are very professional. The condo was nicely decorated, homey and very spacious. This was my family's first trip ever to Florida. The beach was beautiful! The condos were centrally located- within walking distant to stores and restaurants. I will definitely book there again. It was great!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed in unit 2005 and we had a wonderful stay. We arrived a little early around 2 pm (check in is at 4). The front desk clerk informed us that our room was not yet ready & that they were cleaning our carpet due to the last guest & said it may be a little wet. She asked if we wanted to use the pool while we waited. Since we were hungry anyway we took a ride down to Pier Park to get a bite to eat. As soon as we pulled in Pier Park the hotel called us informing us that our room was ready! So around 2:30 we go into our room and yes the carpet was a lil damp but very clean so I was just happy that they went out of their way to clean it because I rather have a semi damp clean carpet than a dry dirty carpet. The whole place was very clean & the kitchen was well stocked with more than enough amenities. The balcony was huge with breathtaking views! The armbands are FREE when you book through the hotel. The elevators were never a long wait like I expected maybe 2-3 minutes at its worst. The only thing I would maybe change is the parking garage is a little tight for larger cars/trucks but it was nothing major. I will definitely recommend this condo & I will most definitely be staying here again next year! One last thing you can go online to Resort Quest & see pics of each unit & choose which unit you want to stay in which is what I did. There were no surprises the unit looked exactly like the online pics looked! Simply Beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnygapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Three couples shared an end-unit at this fabulous resort, and we loved it! The building was well-maintained, and location was great-not walking distance to Pier Park but an easy drive. There is a parking garage underneath so unpacking was a breeze. The beach is easily accessed, as well as the pool. The only disappointment was that a wristband had to be purchased for $2 (nonrefundable) to use the pool-shouldn't that be included? Also, an outdoor bar would have been nice, but not a necessity. We used the fitness room as well as the outdoor grill. We hope to return to this resort in future trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mort39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family stayed at Sunrise Condos the week after the 4th. I have to say that it was one of my most memorable vacations to date. The condo was in the best location, the pools were never over crowded!!! I didn't want to leave. Also I would like to mention how great the people (Karen Jones) from Resort Condo Services were to deal with. Very pleasant!!! The only thing I found that I didn't like was the parking deck. Just glad I have a small car....haha!! I could have never manuveured a large vehicle in there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
813 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#14 of 83 in Panama City Beach
323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#10 of 83 in Panama City Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Property: Sunrise Beach Resort
Address: 14825 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3554
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing