We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calypso Resort & Towers
Nearby Hotels
$202
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Resort(Panama City Beach)
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber By The Sea(Panama City Beach)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park(Panama City Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach(Panama City Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Panama City Beach(Panama City Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laketown Wharf Resort(Panama City Beach)
$225
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chateau Motel(Panama City Beach)
$159
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Carillon Beach Resort Inn(Panama City Beach)
$192
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
215
128
65
36
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
128
65
36
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsacross the streetparking garagewithin walking distancebunk roomfishing pierchair servicemovie theaternice resortrestaurants and shopsbeach servicegreat condofamily vacationrecommend this resortexercise roomprivate owneran umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Overall the resort is very nice. It's right on the beach and within walking distance of Pier Park. It is also close to a Wal-Mart and Target which made grocery shopping easy. Pools were very clean as well as pool areas. Bathrooms near the pool area appeared to be well maintained. Two beach chairs and an umbrella were a nice part of the deal. We arrived about 30 minutes early and were allowed to check in. We stayed in unit 2204E which was on the 22nd floor and offered an excellent view of the beach and surrounding area. Upon entering the unit, we immediately noticed it was not very cool so we contacted the rental company and they sent someone over immediately. After a while the employee finally decided he needed to get someone else to check the air conditioning unit. The AC man had to work on the unit and it took a few hours before the problem was fixed and the room began to cool. I have to say they were quick to get people in to work on the issue, but it should have been taken care of before we got there. The unit is well decorated and spacious; however we did experience some issues with our unit. You are required to report any issues upon arrival, otherwise they may be attributed to your stay and effect your damage deposit. The microwave oven had a large crack in the front door, but was usable. The sliding door leading out to the deck from the living room was broken at the latch-opening. There was a hole where the lock should have been. Even though there were 3 DVD players, only the one in the master bedroom worked. We found that only about 1/3 of the remote controls contained batteries. In the bathroom next to the second bedroom, the shower rod fell down after hanging a towel on it. We found a piece of the shower rod in a bathroom drawer and put it back up. There was a minor issue with the coffee maker as the cut off on the drip cup was broken. One of the lamps in the guest bedroom was out. The washing machine and dryer were nice to have but if you are in a hurry you need to wash with warm or hot water because the cold water took forever to fill the basin and begin the wash cycle. Basically, this is a nice unit but needs a little TLC. We would stay at Calypso again but would choose a different unit.

Room Tip: Even though most of the issues we had with our unit were minor, there were several of them and when you are on vacation you don't want to have to deal with a lot of issues with your rental unit.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Calypso. We like its location next door to a fishing pier and Pier Park. There are several restaurants within walking distance. It's nice to go out for cocktails and dinner without having to drive. We enjoyed the Tiki Bar. We are already missing the margaritas and sunsets at The Tiki Bar. We enjoyed the conversations and cocktails prepared by Brian and Heidi. We wished the Tiki Bar didn't close so early. It closed most nights at 7 . We didn't have any trouble with the elevators or parking. There is an eyesore looking water drain on the beach now. This ugly drain was not there the last time we visited. It is hideous looking. It looks like it could have been built differently . It looks terrible when looking down at it from the balcony . We tipped the beach chair attendants and got wonderful service. If you are demanding and rude , you can expect to be seated far away. We enjoy The Calypso and will return again .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Calypso. Our condo was modern and beautiful. It is within walking distance to the pier and shopping. Parking is covered and safe. The worst part of our stay was the forever long process of getting to our room on Saturdays. Everyone has to come Saturday to Saturday so catching an elevator on that day was an hour long experience. Also,much to my husband's dismay, there was no hot tub. Didn't matter to me though- I loved our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have four preteen/teenage kids and were warned this was going to be a party city. However, it was great for all of us. Our condo was plenty big, clean, and updated with a beachy theme! The location was amazing. We were right on the beach with the pier and pier park a few feet away. There was a Winn Dixie for regular groceries right down the street. The only thing we dreaded was traffic at night. During the day it was smooth, but at night it was bumper to bumper and ver slow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajmagoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First the good: We stayed in a unit on the 16th floor, we think 1607 West Tower (sorry about the forgetfulness here, and it was a very nice, clean room. Very cute decorations. Beautiful views of the beach. Found on VRBO listing 436753. One bed room, two full baths, adorable bunk area in hall area. One thing we appreciated were the room darkening draperies. It was VERY dark which made for great sleeping in. We did not have our children with us this time, but any children sleeping in the bunk area would not be up with the sunrise in this room. The bed was very comfortable. The unit was very, very clean. They had internet service and beach service included with the room. So every day, we had two wonderful beach chairs with umbrella. We really enjoyed this unit. We never used the pool because the beach area had perfect weather, but the pools did look nice, but in walking by. There was a tiki bar. The boys that set up our chairs each day were very nice and accomodating. We didn't have any interaction with the staff, so I can't say as to their helpfulness. There was free DVD rental in the lobby which we liked. The grounds were clean. Lifeguards on duty on the beach. The location is walking distance to Pier Park and the Pier is right there. We enjoyed being able to walk there at night for shopping and dinner. The luggage carts were to be checked out and returned which meant there were always luggage carts which we appreciated as parking was across the street. Elevators were fast.

Now the not so great: We really didn't have a negative experience here other than one, as my husband said, glaring eyesore. There is a HUGE drainpipe that looks to be on the property or right on the line on the beach on the pier side. Now these are the "most beautiful beaches", and out of this drain, which protruded out of the ground, a giant cube with a grate on top and water, which through internet research, we discovered was drainwater from the roads, was spewing into the air, not over your head, but with enough force that it was a good foot off the top of the pipe (there had been rain signficantly in the days prior to our arrival) and it then ran down the pipe and there was a gully that was either man made or just worn from the water in the sand leading to the ocean. Inside the gully was a brown sludge. We aren't sure if the drain wore down the sands because we have stayed in other areas of PCB where there was a steep grade to the ocean, so we walked down the beach on both directions and the beach was not worn away. In front of Calypso, this drain, in our opinion, had worn away so when you went to the ocean it was a very steep grade that was at least 3 feet to 4 feet in drop. I have a bad knee and it was tough getting to the ocean. The thing that was the most disturbing was from our room, you could see the brown sludge's path into the ocean. It was disgusting. Now some kids played in the area cause it was like a wading pool, but I was afraid to put a toe in it. I walked down the beach till I found blue water to get in. But I still couldn't get this gross brown water from the streets being poured into the ocean out of my mind. My husband and I pondered this had to be EPA approved. Our internet research showed us that this was an old drain that had been clogged for some time, and they finally figured out a way to open it and the water came gushing out of this pipe. It was so alarming to owners and guests, the way we found out what the pipe was, was when the drain opening, it was headlines the next day because guests and owners had no idea what was going on. I made pictures to attach. It is really a shame, because we found the resort to be great location, nice accomodations and then this strange gunk spouting up.

Parking is across the street. It's no big deal to take the elevator down to the 3rd floor and walk across. However, if that is a problem, elderly etc, it could be an issue. The parking can be a little confusing. People tend to crowd around the third floor obviously, but if you just go a little further you have plenty of parking. The halls are narrow. You can barely fit a luggage cart down the hall. So I would plan my trip to get there early for check in or pack light because we left on a Sat at check in time and it was crazy and people were NOT happy. Or, even better advice, pack your swim suit on top, enjoy the beach, and unload your car when the rush is over.

We really enjoyed our visit, and I know unfortunately the oceans are polluted and would probably be shocking to know "what we don't know" is in there, but this was just disturbing for me to see this gunk flowing into this ocean. It was a deal breaker for me. We won't be back. But I still gave average, because this could just be a me issue, because other than that, it was a nice experience... I just couldn't move past it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank meljinqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews