We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK and VERY Overcrowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calypso Resort & Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Calypso Resort is situated very conveniently near the Pier Park Mall area, however, the location is overcrowded. We booked a 3 bdr condo in the west wing. The condo itself was very spacious and well stocked, decorated nice and was clean.

However, mid way through our stay the keyless entry would not work. Beware as if you book through another source other than the onsite property management, they will refuse to assist you . We were locked out for over an hour as we had been down at the pool and the number to Southern Vacation Rentals was in the room, which we could not get to due to the electronic issue with the door. We had to call 3 different numbers that we googled on one of our phones to find the correct person to speak with while watching numerous cleaning and maintenance staff pass us by (who were not allowed to help us due to us using an outside source for booking, therefore I would not book with the property management now as that was a total turn off and did not shed a good light on their customer service.

The hallways are too narrow so check in day is a hassle trying to pass people in the hall with luggage and racks- you literally cannot pass each other so someone is going to have to back all the way back to the elevator area which is ridiculous. The parking situation is a hassle. The bridge to the parking is on the 3rd floor, but you will never find a spot on that floor of the garage; and since the parking has a separate elevator you will have to ride an elevator or climb multiple sets of stairs just to get to the 3rd floor where you will get on another elevator to get to your room. Also, we were on a high floor which was a pain each time we tried to get an elevator. There are 3 elevators but only one seemed to be in service and inevitably stopped on every floor due to the fact the resort was booked to capacity. This resort would probably be nice off season without the frustration of the crowds and if you can book a room on the 3rd floor and actually be able to get a parking spot on that level. Any other time is not worth the aggravation.

Room Tip: Choose a low floor - the elevators are slow and will stop on every floor. Preferably 3rd floor so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 469 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

the location is great the room was filthy room 2008 west building they advertise 3 bedrooms it was not it was a bunk room with a bunk bed if you are going to rent there folks use vrbo stay away from best beach getaways had to learn the hard way

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to book a last min vacation in Panama and came across a condo unit at the Calypso which had a last min cancellation. The condo unit was an owner managed unit which was beautiful and very well maintained. While this was very good to know since this would be our home for the next 7 days, the resort itself had some issues. First of all this is a very large resort, not something I minded at first however after staying at smaller condos in Destin year after year it made me miss the smaller less congested resorts.

Let’s start with the good; While the parking garage is across the street, there is plenty of spaces for their guest. The resort was very clean and maintained and the pools and beach were nice. The location is what makes this a prime resort. It’s only a hop, skip and jump away from Pier Park which is the only dining/shopping destination in Panama. It was very convenient to be able to walk over to eat verses having to get in the car, drive and find a parking spot. I think the proximity to Pier Park is what keeps its vacancy high. The resort is also very close to grocery stores so not a lot of hassle to go grocery shipping.

Now the bad; First of all the design of the Resort makes no sense. The walkways to your rooms are very small and it’s difficult to traverse if people are coming the opposite direction. You pretty much have to turn sideways and slide by each other in order to make it by. This made it very difficult to navigate with luggage carts since no one is able to pass since the luggage carts takes up the entire walkway. We literally had to go backwards to let a cart pass us. The walkway from the garage to the resort is on the 3rd floor, if your condo is on any floor but the third expect a lengthy trek before arriving at your room. The parking garage is 8 floors so if you park on the 2nd floor you have to take an elevator up to the 3rd just to get to the walkway and then once you reach the resort you have to take an elevator up or down to get to your room floor. Resort elevators are not centrally located and while they do have three elevators for each building they never had all three operating at once. With being such a large resort there were always long lines which extended into the very small walkways.

During our entire stay I don’t think we had one staff members say hello, how are you or anything. If anything I would say the staff was very discourteous and rude from what I saw. For those of you who enjoy the pool over the beach a few things to be aware of. DO NOT leave the pool area if you have towels on chairs. They do not allow pool chairs to be reserved if you’re not in the pool. They monitor this very closely with the “Want to be police” staff, and if they find out you are they will take all your personal belongings. There were several instances where staff would walk through the pool area and very rudely talk to guest about the policy. I can understand the rule but the manner in which they enforce is wrong. For those of you who have seen Hotel Impossible on the Travel Channel the host always makes remarks about how hotels should not post tons of signage with every little rule. Well the Calypso has gone wild with all the posted signs and its becomes almost amusing after you start paying attention to all of them. They could have taken the $$ spent on all the signs and put that into the addition of a hot tub which is one thing this resort lacks. Never heard of a large resort not having a hot tub but there is a first for everything.

Now the bad, Whoever designed this resort was not thinking

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family stayed the last week in July and the saying is true about location and that's about it - resort is on the beach and a block away from Pier Park. Being near Pier Park is the only reason we stayed here this time, so if you don't need to be that close, I'd stay somewhere else. Condo was dirty, public areas were dirty and guests were dirty, (leaving trash on beach, in hallway, elevators). Seriously, there was a tampon wrapper outside our door for four days before it was picked up...I didn't remove it myself because I wanted to see how long it would stay there! Our room was nasty...food crumbs, sand, mold, stained & ripped linens, hairs...). We actually cleaned it ourselves after it was "cleaned" a second time by a rude and sassy male duo who said it was clean enough. We cleaned it ourselves and could only "top clean" because too much grime from neglect...used extra sheet to cover couch & chair to sit on. Later we needed something replaced, but cleaning service would not return calls. We had great weather, weren't in the room much and had a nice week anyway. Many, many complaints from other guests as well. We visit PCB once or twice a year and I've stayed in much nicer, less expensive places. Also, if you have a cargo carrier on top, you can't use the garage...only a 6'8" or 6'9" clearance which is listed as you enter. There are parking spaces outside the garage, but hard to find an open one at night. Beach chairs and WiFi are up to individual units…we had neither.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in Calypso hotel in Panama City beach and aside from the beachside location, this hotel is very dirty and ugly. Our room had broken tiles covered by dirty mats, there is a big black stain in the carpet, right in the middle of the room. The carpet is filthy, the room decor is outmoded and the upholstery faded and torn. We checked in after 10 pm and the lobby was locked. There was no one available after 10. We had to call a number and was directed through a maze before we spoke to an actual person. We had difficulty getting in our room due to codes that didn't work. They don't change your linen daily and they hardly have anyone available to assist you. Yucky room. I will stay away from all Sterling resort hotels. The only thing not cheap in their hotel is their rates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuckyhotelguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We rented a 2 br + bunk room from vrbo the last week in July. We rented directly from the owner, so there was no checking in at all-we got a code to get in the covered garage and the front door of the condo a few days before we went. All of the condos are individually owned, so decor and condition will all be different. We were in the west tower on the 21st floor (there are 23 floors) in condo 2102. All of the condos are facing the ocean and the pools so you cannot go wrong with the views no matter which unit you rent! I have read a lot of reviews complaining about waiting for the elevators for a long time. We never had a problem all week.
The location is hands down the best!! We parked our car and used it only once for the whole week. You can walk to the pier and to Pier Park. We also walked to Target and Walmart.

THINGS TO DO:
My boys fished at the pier. They are 16, 13 and 10. We bought fishing poles at Walmart, but you can rent them right at the pier for like $12 per day. I am not into fishing at all, but it was fun to watch the serious fisherman fishing for sharks. A guy caught an 8 foot hammerhead! There is a $6 fee to fish on the pier and a $3 spectator fee for everyone else.

Pier Park was so great! We went there just about every night. They have restaurants like crazy and every store you can imagine, both chains and independent. Margaritaville, Tootsies, Back Porch, Dicks Last resort, Rumrunners, etc. There was also a Starbucks and ice cream shops. Very tropical with palm trees all around. Loved it!

We went on the Sea Screamer dolphin tour boat ride. It was 2 hours long and we all enjoyed it. We saw dolphins, they had the kids have a water gun fight on the back of the boat, they caught crabs and brought them on the boat for everyone to hold, they let the kids drive the boat and told us some history of PCB. It was pretty inexpensive, like $20ish dollars pp.


THE BEACH:
There were some mild waves everyday. We had fun jumping them and the water was warm. Some days the water was more clear than others. I guess there was a lot of rain the few weeks before we got there, so the water wasn't as clear as it could have been.

THE POOLS:
There are two long narrow pools in front of each of the towers. They are open from 9-9 and there is a pool attendant (not a lifeguard) that comes around checking wristbands and making sure no one has glass by the water, etc. Pretty laid back. The pool goes from 3 ft to 5 ft. You can bring a cooler of drinks and snacks, just no glass. There is a tiki bar for drinks, but no food. You can order from Fattys across the street and they will deliver to the pool. They have great sandwiches and salads at decent prices.

When we return to PCB we will absolutely stay at Calypso again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank b5travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter and I came down for a long weekend Aug 2nd. We booked through Sterling. The staff and service that we received was great, although didnt have much interaction with them. The view from our condo could not be beat. Amazing. The Pier is right across the street. We ended up there every evening which was nice. The pool could definately been bigger and there were never enough chairs unless you got there at the crack of dawn. The beach chairs were included whih was nice. Just make sure you get there early as they are first come first serve. If you get there any past 9:30 you will be in the second row. The ocean water when we went was as beautiful as I have ever seen. Hardly any seaweed. All in all a good stay. Next time will stay somewhere with a resteraunt attached or at least a small store, bigger pool and perhaps some afternoon music.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
166 reviews
5.8 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,617 reviews
4.7 mi away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#15 of 82 in Panama City Beach
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#7 of 48 in Panama City Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Resort & Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Resort & Towers

Address: 15817 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2534
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $154 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Resort & Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Calypso Resort & Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Resort & Towers Hotel Panama City Beach
Calypso Resort And Towers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing