We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the upgrade for the wrap around balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Summerhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summerhouse
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Worth the upgrade for the wrap around balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place to stay. We rented 1015c and loved the balcony. Well worth the $200 upgrade!! Compared to the other rooms we had a bigger living space, views from every room and a steady breeze all week! The positioning of the buildings provides the end units with a nice breeze that hits different sections of the porch throughout the day and evening. The other condos did get some nice breeze but for only a portion of the day. Our condo was nicely decorated and not dated at all! It had a mirrored wall ( I know sounds tacky) that made the place seem so large and bright. The kitchen was fully stocked except it did not have lids to match the Tupperware- which is not a big deal and exclusive to this particular condo. The pools were never crowded and great for relaxing. They had plenty of loungers and kept the pool and pool deck very clean. The beach was kept clean but did have some rentable beach chairs. We were allowed to set up our chairs in front of them without any issues. Overall great place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahack21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    32
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
152
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was having trouble finding a hotel room, so decided to try condo's. Found the unit 1001A at Summerhouse. Was a little concerned, due to some reviews,but had a good experience overall. Unit 1001A, had nice furnishings, sofa, 2 recliners, nice linen, and comforters, nice and adequate towels, and was clean. The unit was a little dated , but was clean. The unit had iron, ironing board, toaster, microwave, coffee pot, blender, AC worked well, WIFI worked well....flat screen TV's in all rooms. Beach access was very good !!! Had steps, and a ramp, which would be very good with children. Had 2 large pools, which were clean, and not real crowded, however the hottub did not work for 2 of the 3 days. The negatives were, the entrance area, and elevators could have been cleaner. The elevators did seem to be slow, as mentioned by other reviewers. Also be prepared as far as paper products, including extra tissue for bathroom. NO paper products at all in unit except one roll of tissue per bath. Overall ,this unit worked well, except the hot water in the small bath shower barely got warm.....otherwise everything else seem to be in working order. A little dated but I would stay here again in this unit.

Room Tip: Book directly with the Summerhouse front desk, and ask very specific questions about each unit......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to stay at the Summerhouse PC. We choose the same condo each visit because the view is awesome & very clean. The beaches here are absolutely gorgeous and very family friendly. I recommend Summerhouse PC to all my friends & co-workers. Love it & can't wait till next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

we stayed in the middle building 7th floor. Furniture was dirty and uncomfortable. You need to buy when you get here all of your supplies, toilet paper, etc. No water on two occasions. My wait for the elevator at times was 20-30 mins. I really h ate the 9 a.m. check out time. People are just getting up. If it were a little later maybe they would stretch out everyone leaving at the same time. The elevator wait the day I checked out was 35 mins. Get your buggy or clothes rack the night before as they were none at 5 a.m. Better yet, pack the car up the night before to save yourself the nightmare I had. Our unit did not have a workable kitchen. All pans were filthy and had to be scrubbed. I went and bought some SOS pads to work on them. The place looked better when I left than when I got there. I left a full dishwashing liquid for the dishwasher and some extra beach toys I didn't want to take back. I left coffee filters for the cone filter coffee maker. None were there. 5 washcloths for 6 people is not good. I bought some extras at Walmart for us to use. The pools were dirty a lot of the time and the hot tub never worked the entire time we were there. I do understand a lot of these are rented by owners or property managers and no reflection on the Summerhouse staff as you are not to bother them with your problems. Over all it is a okay place to stay just not upscale as all the new stuff on the beach. I have stayed here for 30 years and it hasn't changed. the grounds are not as pretty as years ago when they had millions of hibiscus everywhere. Was going to a small child to the beach at night and it is too dark. You use to turn on the lights on the beach to maybe 10 o'clock. Start doing that again for safety reasons.. Could not even find the steps to come back in and when you have a small child that is dangerous. I went the next day and bought a flashlight to find the steps. the washer area of the condo we were in was very dirty.. washer had to be washed before we could use it. Also bought a fan because the front bedroom was hot. cold near the front door bedroom but HOT in the front. you do have to drive to everything from this location.

Room Tip: Choose building A or B and you will have a view out the master bedroom too. The first building built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muddy8954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms were spacious and worked out wonderfully for our family. Pools were awesome and beach was beautiful. I did not like swimming in the gulf as much as the Atlantic because the waves were smaller in the Gulf. There was also lots if seaweed in the water. Another guest said that it had not been there in June so could just be seasonal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

First time to PCB and we loved this place! Perfect location for all the activities we went too. The rooms were very clean. It is perfect for a family especially around the pool area. The two pools were perfect. I liked the pool to beach deck and wash area. I recommend this place to anybody for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Make sure you go higher than the first floor to get a good view of the beach from your porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location is excellent and beach access ism terrific. However, the resort lacks many of the amenities usually f,Lund at upscale resort. You must travel by car to get to a restaurant of any kind. Bring your own TP as they provide one roll. Coffee, paper towels, etc. usually found in kitchens are not provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
7.1 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
7.6 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#4 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Treasure Island Resort Condominiums
Treasure Island Resort Condomini...
#2 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
7.6 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#8 of 83 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhouse

Property: Summerhouse
Address: 6505 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-6120
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summerhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Summerhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhouse Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing