We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Good, Lots of Bad”
Review of Sugar Beach Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar Beach Condos
Reviewed August 9, 2012

First the Good. It is not a high rise condo.....which is VERY rare in PCBeach. The property is very quaint with the condo's built in a big "U" shape.....inside the "U" is a lake, grassy area, tennis courts, clubhouse and pool. The grounds are taken care of fairly well. It is only 3 floors so there are NO elevators....big plus. If you make reservations early enough, you can get one of the limited beach front condos....which have great views of the beach....(except for the one bedroom beachfronts that are behind the sea wall....so you cant see the ocean at all from these first floor units.....ALL the one bedrooms on the beach make up the bottom floor, so don't expect a view from these condos) It is in a great location. Walking distance to Spinnaker and La Vela....within a mile of Pineapple Willies. The big Walmart is very close, there is a golf course practically across the street. Lots of good restaurants in the vicinity.

Now for the bad. The owners don't seem to be interested in updating the condos. Many are in some form of disrepair. Old doors that don't lock easily, rusting fridges, cracked microwaves, no wi-fi, televisions that don't work, faucets that have cold/hot water not matching what's on the faucet (eg...cold comes out when you have it set for hot), very limited pots and pans. They seem to have an issue with lots of stray cats and some of the rooms smell like cat spraying has been going on.....not pleasant.

It is really a shame that these condo's are not better taken care of because it could really be a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TravelDBug1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Don't waste your vacation staying here!! It was pretty dirty.. It had a very bad mold issue.... The TV in one of the bedrooms did not work. We found several cockroaches.. Me & my best friend slept on the pull out the first night and the next morning we relized we had bites on our stomachs & backs.. We told the front desk and she just really had nothing to say about it and she told us the manager would call us and he hasn't yet. That's been over a weeks ago! It also needs a good updating! NEVER staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Blynn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Will never stay at this condo again! Tv did not work in one of the bedrooms. Very outdated. Wood around sliding glass door was routening. The first night my girls slept on the pull up bed woke up the next night with bites on their stomachs. We found a bracelet and a hair extension under one of the pillows like the sheets had never been changed. Oh and to top it off we found a 2 inch cockroach under the bed. Furious I called blowing in the wind (who told us it was a nice condo when we booked it) to get our money back and try to salvage the rest of our vacation basically said there was nothing they could do. They said the manager wouldn't even give us our money back for the nights we hadn't even stayed yet. They would keep the money and to bring keys If we where not staying there the remaining of our reserved days and they would have manager call us. This was on mon. Today is fri. and manager still has not called. Don't waste your money or vacation on this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shookyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

As i pulled into the parking lot in my chevy iroc i wondered if this was really the place for me. I pulled in put on my raybans popped my collar and hopped out of my 'maro. I walked inside and kicked off my reebok pumps took off my members only jacket and turned on the woodgrain tv but it cable box wasnt working i thought. Fortunatly they have all the mOdern technology like the wicked sweet vcr so i ran and got my miami vice season one tapes. The well still no Picture and i dont get it because RCA makes all the best stuff. Well i turned it off and just savored the ultra moden decor. Denim dust cover over the mini blinds , blue carpet throughout, and a wicked sweet crock pot! This place has it all. I mean not like a view or anything but the fish pond is totally rad. Now im going back to try to get one of these tvs to work, its almost time for CHiPS.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cj7deerslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It smells, it's very old, THERES NO WIFI! I know some here said there was, I here now and I promise there's not. The very nice lady at the rental office said there was in the clubhouse, nope, an if there was it wouldn't matter... It's locked. Did I mention it really smells bad.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

You may find yourself somewhat disappointed when staying here compared to what PCB has to offer. This is a not a high rise condo like the rest. It is a quaint, 3 story complex located on Thomas Drive. Thomas Drive is not exactly a "happening" place. It is pretty far away from what has recently become the Mecca of Panama City, Pier Park. But, you are within a few minutes of Pineapple Willy's, Spinnakers, and Wal-mart.

I have stayed at Sugar Beach close to 15+ times. Every year, it becomes a little more dated. However, each condo is a home away from home. Featuring a full size living room and kitchen, spacious bedrooms and full size bathrooms. The rooms may be very out of date, depending on who you rent from. I've stayed in at least 10 units, and each one different. But, most are very clean.

There is a pool, but no hot tub. Next to the pool, there is club house with a few games inside and clean bathrooms saving you a trip back to your condo. There is also a grill area, in case you enjoying cooking on vacation. On your walk back from the beach, there is a nice 'lake' stocked with fish to feed your left over bread! Kids love this and mine can't get enough of seeing the turtles and fish. There is also a shuffleboard and tennis courts.

Convenient parking, as your park outside your unit door. However, in mid July, it may be a long hot trek from the beach to your unit's door. If you are looking to trade a busy high rise with slow elevators for a decent fairly quiet condo, this may be what you are looking for. Also, mid summer pricing is SUPER cheap compared to the rest. Sometimes, you can get a 3 bedroom 2 story unit for what you might pay for a one bedroom elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check the map of the units on The Sugar Beach Condo website to get an idea of the location of your u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BchLuvrofTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This place was SO convenient! We were on the first floor which I think made it even easier, but you are right next to the beach and since it's not a huge, tall building, you don't have to fight for the elevator or suffer through never-ending stairwells. It's also very easy to go back to the room throughout the day. The room itself was VERY clean and comfortable. Also, we were really close to Wal-Mart which made it very convenient to get supplies. There is also a man-made lake in the middle of the property filled with turtles and fish which the kids enjoyed tremendously. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jandvmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Gulf Crest
#16 of 83 in Panama City Beach
109 reviews
St Thomas Square
#71 of 83 in Panama City Beach
49 reviews
Top of the Gulf Suites
#72 of 83 in Panama City Beach
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boardwalk Beach Resort Condomini...
#26 of 83 in Panama City Beach
300 reviews
Lollye On the Beach
#27 of 48 in Panama City Beach
103 reviews
Holiday Beach
Dunes of Panama
Dunes of Panama
#30 of 83 in Panama City Beach
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Condos

Address: 8727 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4033
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $180 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for something other than a high rise condo on Panama City Beach? Tired of spending your days waiting on elevators in the high rise condos? Then Sugar Beach is the place for you and your family. It's one of the few condos where you can park your car right outside your door. Sugar Beach is located on Thomas Drive and offers 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom and 4 bedroom condos. All condos are spacious with fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and private balconies or patios. Your family will enjoy the large beach front pool and clubhouse with a game room, pool table and ping pong. Sugar Beach is located close to family entertainment spots, night life, restaurants, shopping and golf. Water sport rentals are available behind the condo. Sugar Beach is walking distance to Club LaVela and Spinnaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Beach Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condos Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing