We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Pontoon with slides

We rented a pontoon boat with 2 slides for our family and boy was it a lot of fun! Kids had a... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2020
644jont
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Great day in bay on pintoon boat

Rented a standard pontoon boat with 50hp outboard- very smooth ride - lots of space- went to shell... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2020
N991HZgaryc
,
Houston, Texas
via mobile
Read all 66 reviews
  
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
56
5
0
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
5
0
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rented a pontoon other companies fish dolphin tour anchor keaton outboard gulf company shells blast vacation 50hp shore pcb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 66 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I, my wife, and daughters decided to rent a pontoon boat for half day. Great time had by all. We found lots of sand dollars and spotted many crabs an sea urchins. We even saw a few sea turtles. We only spotted dolphins a few times around the boat and it was deep water so no one wanted to go in. Great value for the money spent. We will definitely do this again for sure. Thanks for a great day.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank bkent7604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

My wife and I again rented a pontoon boat for the day from Shell Island Boat Rentals. We arrived a bit early and quickly filled out the paperwork and paid. Terry (who remembered us from last year) showed us the features of the boat. After a few minutes, off we went to explore the bay. Our first stop was just past the channel to fish for a while. We caught all kinds of lady fish, blue runners, and a bluefish. Around lunchtime, we headed further down Shell Island to relax by ourselves. We stopped a few times and dropped anchor to fish and enjoy the sun and quiet. Each time, we were run off by some clown who could not navigate their rental pontoon boat to save their life. While we both got a good laugh watching these clowns try to anchor their boats, eventually we would just move to get away from them. At one stop, we even saw a shark swim under our boat and large sea turtle surface really close by. We headed back to our original spot to finish out the day fishing before heading in. Great people and boats in excellent condition. Can’t wait for our next adventure with Shell Island Boat Rentals.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank MikeM0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2015

I enjoyed the Dolphin Tour and time on Shell Island, although I would have preferred a longer visit on the island but otherwise it was nice.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

The guys at Shell Island made sure we were good to go with local navigation, safety, etc, and told us where the good spots were. We got a "premium" pontoon boat for 8 hrs for 5 people for $220. Sounds like a lot, but cheaper than a half day tour boat for for five people so we decided to drive ourselves, go where we wanted, and spend as much time as we liked. Well worth it, easy, safe, and fun! Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2015
5  Thank jameswK7734AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

My family of four did the 2 hour Wave-runner tour. It was WONDERFUL. Our guide (I think his name was James) was super nice. He was very patient with us old, slower folks until we could get up to speed! Three of us had never driven these before but within 10 minutes he had us going full out. It was terrifying and exhilarating all at the same time. We came up on a pod of dolphins, including a baby. It was fun to get to just sit and watch them surface and explore around us. We had 7 Wave-runners in our tour plus James. We all got personal attention when/if we needed it. We made a stop right up on the beach at Shell island and went for a swim. We got caught in a lovely cooling rain for about 10 minutes on the way back. I at first thought 2 hours wouldn't be long enough, but it was perfect. Our booties and legs were tired after 2 hours like we'd been horseback riding!!

Perfect day. We would certainly do it again. We thought that prices were very reasonable as well.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews