We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Repeat customer and very satisfied!

If you are looking for a personal experience with your family or just you and a buddy this is a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jcox6
On the fish!!

Great experience. Caught over 100 pounds of Vermillion snapper, trigger fish, white snapper, and 2... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Alan S
via mobile
Read all 242 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Panama City Beach
from $42.80
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $67.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
241
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain dave catching fish snapper trigger fish amberjack great trip king mackerel out of season hooks baited amber jack fish cleaning deck mate brought home deck hand spanish mackerel filet these guys
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 242 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Captain David took us fishing last Friday and we caught some great fish including Black Snapper, Amberjack and Grouper. We also caught a large Bull Shark as well which was fun to catch. Capt David and his first mate were great and worked hard to put us on the fish. We have fished on larger charter boats over the years and this was our first time to go out in a center console boat. The boat is in excellent condition and very easy to fish out of, we were able to get out to our fishing spots quickly and move to the other holes as needed very fast. Overall I will rank this as our best fishing trip for numerous reasons including the amount of fish, size of fish, and Captain David's ability to put us on the fish. By the end of the trip we were worn out from fighting fish all day. We will fish again next year with Captain David.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank hwade11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have to agree that Captain David and his first mate Chase, were awesome. Our group consisted of myself and girlfriend with three teenage girls. Other then one of the girls getting a bit sea sick it was an awesome trip. Captain and Chase really catered to the girls making sure they caught fish, and catch fish they did!! We ended up with a mixed bag of 45 fish. We lost quite a few and had to throw at least 15 Red Snappers back because they weren't in season. I'm sure Captain didn't mind not having to clean more fish. (HA HA!!)

Our next trip to Panama City Beach will definitely consist of a trip with Captain David.

Awesome, Awesome day thank you Captain David & Chase.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank luvs2fish4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Capt. David and his first mate, Chase, were great. We left early and David put us on the fish quickly. My group consisted of me, my wife, a 14 year old girl, 13 year old boy and a 9 year old boy. David and Chase were very helpful with the kids. After a couple of hours of landing big fish, I asked to move to an area to catch some smaller ones that the kids could catch by themselves. We had a blast and it was great for me to see the kids having a great time. We ran over a little bit on time because we were catching so many, but David kept right on and he probably would have stayed out all day. Once back at the dock, he cleaned all of our fish himself so there was no extra charge for fish cleaning like on most charters. They WILL be getting our repeat business!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank seanmP5080HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I think this is my first Trip Advisor posting and it is with absolute delight to provide some insights. About 6 weeks ago, I visited Trip Advisor to search for a great fishing charter.....there were some good reviews of some other charters but Captain David's caught my eye. I like local, I like small business owners, so I gave Captain David a call and left a message. He promptly returned it and we pencilled in a day, August 12. I could tell during the phone call that he would be a great fishing guide, very home spun, down to earth, salt of the earth type...

About 3 days before the trip we communicate via text and coordinate the logistics. Also, due to tenuous weather, he gave me some back up plans and basically said, lets not give up too soon and lets just see what happens.....we delayed the trip until 730a versus 530a....soo happy we did not reschedule.

We left on a post frontal morning with a nice overcast of strata form clouds heading to the first GPS coordinate, a wreck about an hour away. Capt. David got us into position and darn, we could not land any amberjacks. We did have 2 hooked but lost them, it was thrilling. Before leaving, we caught a huge snapper but released him since it was out of season. (we caught 3 more nice ones..We will come back during snapper season next year, with Capt David)

We then moved on to the next GPS coordinates.......and it was at this triangulation of satellite signals where the magic happened. Soon after pulling up, we were on a school of mahi mahi.....due to Capt David's skill, poise, patience and prowess we landed 6. It was simply amazing watching them work the bait, they are an amazing fish.

afterwards, we went to a couple of more spots....caught some trigger fish, white snapper....all in all, I am certain it will be hard to eclipse todays fishing.

Capt David has my family's highest recommendation, he is awesome with young kids, teenagers and even a type A wife who thinks she is a fishing pro.....thank you, Capt. David!!

thank

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank W7285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We had group of six ranging from mid twenties to mid fifties. The ride out was a bit rough with a decent wind blowing in from the gulf. Our first spots were targeting amberjack but they weren't biting. My FIL did land a nice grouper. Our next few spots we landed several red snappers which put up a great fight but had to be released. Throughout the trip we caught about twenty five white snappers. Unfortunately a couple of people in our group got pretty sea sick so we had to head back. All in all, we had a great day fishing with captain Dave and his dad.

1  Thank rtipton1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews