We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Vacation”
Review of Sterling Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sterling Beach
Reviewed March 5, 2012

From the beginning this was terrible. A pushy sales person name Derek assisted me. All she wanted was to make the reservation and get my credit card number. When I arrived I had to wait to check in because of a mix up with my name spelling. The condo was below average and disappointing to say the least. We are going to Mrytle beach next year instead

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Sterling Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

I'm 13 and you might thing I'm a little young to be writting a review, but we have been staying a Sterling Beach since 2004. In 2004 on mistake they gave us a 3 bedroom 3 bathrooms on mistake instead of a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom, and we been loving it ever since. in 2009 I stepped on a piece of glass there (which is now why there is a no glass sign by the pool) and lucky we were so nice we only made them pay for my crutches. Also I got to ride on luggage rack to the pool and to our room everyday. The cleaning isnt the best, but I love how each room is designed different. The kitchen is nice and roomy. One thing I'm dissappointed about is the grills which dont work very well.The great thing about it too is that the parking lot and pool usally are not crowded.The size of the pool was one of things that led us. I can't wait for our trip this summer!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the 8th and 9th level have the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were so looking forward to our trip to PCB. This is our 7th year in Panama City Beach, because We love it here. VERY VERY disappointed to pay the amount we paid, to be annoyed by balcony restoration. Let me explain the noise that starts at 9am and does not quit until 7pm is so LOUD! You cannot watch TV, or listen to the radio to drown out the noise. You can't even hear yourself think. This had me in tears and was so upsetting. Don't think you are going to take a late afternoon nap, because even ear plugs cannot drown out the noise of vibration throughout the condos. I cannot imagine how the renters with small children are dealing with this. We have stayed at Treasure Island, Seychelles, Calypso, Grand Panama and now Sterling Beach and this has been the worse vacation. The pool is very nice, but was closed for 24 hours which was very upsetting to many people. The grounds are clean and beautiful. The security guards are very rude and have no personality whatsoever! Now I do understand that condos have to have maintenance, but my thinking is if you need this extensive work done than you need to be closed your slowest month of the year and get it done. If that is not a possibility, than you need to rent out the condos at a discounted price, with renters understanding the reason they are getting a discounted price. I will never stay here again, just for the fact that they care nothing about their renters. Renting condos with this kind of restoration is a RIPOFF and not a relaxing vacation to say the least!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank beachloverfromSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Sterling beach resort in Panama City Beach FL. is a beautiful condominium resort. The location is outstanding. Far enough away from the "Spring Breakers", but directly on the beach. The pool, hottub, grilling area and grounds are beautiful. The walk to the beach is short and well kept. The workout room is small, but efficient. The staff at the front desk was helpful at all times. The only negative I can give is do not stay in condo #301 until it is painted and the furniture is cleaned. There are numerous other condo's on this property that are in spectacular condition.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cantonsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here off season for a steal. This was the first time I stayed at a place where I had to do all the cleaning. If I had known that I would have brought my hoover vacuum and bissel steam cleaner, the carpet was so dirty it was almost unbearable to look at, I wanted to clean it so bad. The front office must not have a supervisor that ever checks on them since the NEVER came to work on time. They have a free dvd rental machine in the office but the receptionist never came to work till ten and were suppose to be open by nine. Make sure you bring everything you need since they will not restock any items during your stay. They also have a lot furniture and displays in the room, not ideal if you have small children that constantly grab things. No 24 hour service so if your key card doesnt work after 5 your in trouble. Other than that I wouldnt pay 350 in the spring summer season if I have to do all the maint around the place.

Pros

Great Pool with bubbles, and Spa.

Great fitness facility

Great beach view

Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reaper69316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Absolutely the best place to be in Panama City Beach, FL! Gorgeous grounds & pool, units are much biggest units on the beach, most are beautifully decorated - each unit is independantly owned so just depends on what style the owners have & if they keep it updated. Great large kitchen area, big pantry & bar. BEST part is the view!! Wall of glass that will have you sold the minute you walk in. HUGE balconies overlooking the lagoon shaped pool - you will LOVE this place!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BchloverGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

A nice enough place unless the wind blows. Then the deck railings set up a roar like a huge airplane landing right in your unit. I mean it's really ridiculous. I'm glad I don't own anything here or I'd be looking for someone to sue; I'm pretty sure full disclosure did not include "Hey, don't plan on sleeping when it's windy." The rental office acknowledges there is a problem but refuses any discussion of a refund for leaving early. In fairness, I spoke to two other renters; one was as bothered as I am, but another said "It's bad, but oh well." So whether you should stay here depends on how much discomfort you want for your money. We are here for the month; so far 5 out of 15 days have been horrible.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
3  Thank BeachVisitor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Sterling Reef
Sterling Reef
#61 of 83 in Panama City Beach
102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sterling Resorts - Reflections at Bay Point - Panama City Beach
Sterling Resorts - Reflections a...
#56 of 83 in Panama City Beach
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Watercrest
The Watercrest
#57 of 83 in Panama City Beach
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hidden Dunes Condominiums
Hidden Dunes Condominiums
#23 of 83 in Panama City Beach
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautical Watch Gulf Side Villas
Nautical Watch Gulf Side Villas
#32 of 83 in Panama City Beach
46 reviews
7.5 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#10 of 83 in Panama City Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Beach

Address: 6627 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $154 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Beach is a high-rise beachfront condominium located near family activities and popular restaurants. Sterling Beach offers 1-, 2-, 3-, and 4-bedroom fully-equipped condominiums with private balconies in a resort setting that includes a beachside pool, spa, and fitness center. A 48-seat movie theater, meeting/reception facilities, and free high-speed Internet access are also available. Sterling Resorts guests enjoy unlimited free DVD rentals and access to the nearby Bay Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sterling Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing