We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raccoon River Campground
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We camped here for 8 days. The location was great, we could walk to the beach and pier. It was also close to the ball park and Walmart! There are two polls with some sunshade available as well as a devise to get handicapped persons into the pool. The only drawback was the size of sites. We had reserved a site explaining the size of our travel trailer and they tried to put us in one that was too small. We changed sites but all of them were on top of each other. However the area was well maintained and we would camp here again. We have a 29 foot travel trailer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cameron1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
32
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just want to say on our trip to Panama City Beach we found that we preferred the campground. We stayed one night in a motel (pricey yet dirty). Luckily I decided to pack camping supplies. We found the campground and for $25 per night it was much better. With 2 pools, hot showers and clean restrooms the stay was very nice. Will hopefully return. Oh yea it's within walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I made my reservation, I requested 2 side-by-side spots that were large enough for tents. We have another family that we camp with and wanted to be beside one another. I looked at the map and told them that anywhere would be fine except for the tiny little spots up front. They said they wrote it down and that it would be fine. I called a couple times ahead of time to confirm and was told that our request was noted and shouldn't be a problem. The day of our checkin, we were given the "tiny little spots up front" and were told that they couldn't promise any spots. We asked if our friends would be next to us. They repeated, "they coudn't promise any spots". Our friends did squeeze in the spot right next to us. And we were able to fit our tent in the teeny little spot next to our RV and pay an ADDITIONAL $30 PER NIGHT! It's a really great campground, but I've never been to one that I couldn't request a specific spot when making a RESERVATION! We won't go back :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LRoutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay during spring break minus the cold weather & tenting! From the moment we pulled in we felt great about this place. We were a day early but found us a spot on high ground as it was raining cats & dogs. Throughout the week everyday staff were spotted working cleaning pools, cutting grass, cleaning bathrooms, going around on golfcarts speaking with guests. The bathrooms were clean even during busy spring bring! Toiletpaper never out. Sometimes a cold shower, but that was only once. laundry facilities top-notch. Location close to everything! You can easily walk to beautiful beach, or drive to Wal-Mart, or shopping at pier shops, play mini golf, of check out souvenir shops (also in walking distance). Two cons- neighbors really close, potholes from heavy trucks and campers. I would recommend, & would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjsgirl3212012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

For $22 with tax in the primitive tent sites in October. Can't beat that when you have a 5 minute walk to the beach thru a back trail that used to be drivable but no longer is. No entrance fee for the beach as it is a county beach. The bathrooms are well kept, a little rustic feel with the wood and all, a little grafity here and there, you can tell they have covered a lot of it up. Hot showers, outlets and long mirrors in the bathroom. A lot of feral cats wandering around the campground. They never bother you but just a heads up the owner feeds them so they are always around. The only con is that there were no fire rings in the primitive area (basically just a field). We saw other fire rings at the RV sites so that was a bummer! Close to about everything, we drove to the Pier Park in about 5 minutes, Wal-Mart in the opposite direction. Great Campground overall!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank briannasipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First time camping here. The small campground is underneath the shade of pine trees and is very clean. Has a well-stocked camp store, nice showers and bathrooms, pools and playground. Lots of repeat campers here! What made it so great was the lady who checked us in and is present throughout the day. She's retired Army and is a gem! You can't beat the location; right in the heart of PCB yet it's secluded. Only a five-minute walk to the beach!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

everything was really great, my only complaint is that the spots are literally right in top of each other. The shower houses were clean, the area was well kept but the spaces are just so darn tight! and we have a pop up! The staff was wonderful and we will be regulars from now on, it was by far the best location we saw while in PCB. The walk to the beach is quick, however we drove because we take so much stuff and stay for the whole day, and the parking lot is right there so it is super handy! love the place just wish spaces were a bit wider.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panama City Beach FL
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Panam...
#24 of 48 in Panama City Beach
544 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#18 of 48 in Panama City Beach
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#20 of 48 in Panama City Beach
229 reviews
2.3 mi away
Executive Inn Panama City Beach
Executive Inn Panama City Beach
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIty Beach
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raccoon River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raccoon River Campground

Property: Raccoon River Campground
Address: 12209 Hutchison Blvd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3424
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Raccoon River Campground Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing