We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with the Old School Feel”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went to Panama City Beach during the week of Christmas. I read some reviews from the Driftwood Lodge and settled there. I had one of the cabana rooms which was pretty much on the beach. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The bed slept comfortably and it also had a little kitchen to it. There was no stove but grills outside were there to use. I did grill out one night where I bought from the local fish market. The front desk staff was very helpful with the few questions I had. The internet did not work due the cabana rooms being brick. They told me the internet worked fine in other parts of the hotel. I wished the weather would of been a bit nicer but the Driftwood Lodge had nothing to do with that.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the beach grab a cabana room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 371 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well Pa and I returned again in the fall to visit Driftwood Lodge without all the grandkids and as usual it was really great. The couple that went us in May also returned with us (no grandkids there either this time). They loved it too. Really great atmosphere and the weather was really nice. The staff was so glad to see us and asked where the kids were and how they were doing they never forget anyone thats what makes it so nice, then when we returned home the kids asked about the staff so therefore everyone remembers, therefore the feelings are great ( memories are made) and cant wait to get back to vacation time. So Driftwood watch out in May hereeeeee weeeeeeeeeee come again. Love uns.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollyTN38583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our second year staying at Driftwood. Last year we stayed in the beachside Cabanas when we brought our kids and those rooms are right on the beach. This year for our 10th Anniversary we went back without the kids and stayed in an upstairs King Efficiency. This is an older hotel and some people might prefer the newer built tower hotels, but this place is family owned with lots of personal touches you won't find other places. They knew it was our Anniversary and when we got in our room there was a pair of wine glasses for us, filled with candies and sitting next to Driftwood t-shirt. There was always a staff member either sweeping or washing sand away or maintaining the grounds. Throughout the week they have contests, events, movies and more which only strengthens their family atmosphere. Plus, you can't beat the price, especially for a hotel that is within walking distance of the pier and Pier Park. I highly recommend this places and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just wanted to say a quick few words about the Driftwood Lodge. My family (3 brothers, Father and everyone's spouses) all stayed here for a full week the weekend after Labor Fay. It was my family's second time to stay and my first. I can not say enough about how nice the owners, staff and other vacationers were to all of us! As other reviews state on this site, you truely felt like part of the family! They took care of ever need that you could think of. The housekeeping staff were on top of their game the entire stay. The front desk was always staffed by a friendly smile that spoke good english! The grounds were very well maintained and no thrash what so ever! It seemed like every afternoon there was some type of cooking going on by either the owners or guest wishing to share with everyone that wanted too!
We have booked the same rooms again for next year and like so many others we will be part of the Driftwood family!

Room Tip: Stay in the Bungaloos. It is closet to the beach. We rented all four units so we had the entier plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunChaser1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We absolutely love the Driftwood. The setting is just beautiful and even when raining, we can just sit on the balcony and enjoy the view and sound of the ocean. Wonderful landscaping and friendly staff and activities. I do agree with a shelf in the bathrooms for personal items. Unfortunately, we tried the Tiki Bar several times and it was not open (understand there are extenuating circumstances). We enjoyed that last year - visiting with the owner, playing shuffleboard, & drinking in the rain. To be able to just walk out to the beach in the evenings is so peaceful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Consumer10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Driftwood. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is incredible. Since it's a family-owned property, they take great pride in making the guests happy. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are small ~ a shelf for personal items would be helpful. We are repeat guests and plan on returning again as soon as we can arrange a trip back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blootoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Once again the Driftwood did not disappoint. I love this place. We brought along family and friends this year who also loved the place as much as we always do. All I can say is the people who own the Driftwood (the Gilmore Family is the best) and the people we see each year who much love this place as much as we do. From the pleasant smiles to the outdoor movie night to the beautiful views of the Gulf. WE LOVE IT.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the poolside king efficiency rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
869 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Osprey on the Gulf
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $87 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing