We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida At its Best”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old Florida At its Best”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We still love the Driftwood. Wonderful people, beautiful beach. The rooms are looking a little uncared for, although clean, things need to updated. Our room had a sink that reminded me of a gas station sink. No towel rack or hook for even a toiletry bag. With nightly costs nearly that of a condo, a little spiffing up of the rooms would go far. BUT...it's such a family oriented place you can forgive the room details. It makes me smile to be at the Driftwood, watching movies, eating popcorn and fudge, seeing the sandcastle judging. A truly wonderful place that people return to year after year.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lafolet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    78
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
157
99
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This year we returned with our family just More {20} family for our Great Getaway of the year, it just got bigger & better. Couldn't ask for a better place to be, the grandchildren just love this place. The staff, location, cleaniness, and family atmosphere is just great! Any age group is always welcome here with a great smile and friendly welcome and a GREAT " See you next time". I really enjoy being there usually try to go twice a year later in the year just hubby and I, still the same great place to be. Everyone needs to come here and enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyTN38583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Couldn’t ask for a better hotel! The family atmosphere was beyond anything we could have imagined. The friendly staff, Watermelon Time!!!, and the size of the place made it feel like home. Our room was overlooking the pool and the beach. We could keep an eye on the kids no matter where they were running off to. The entire place was filled with families and the kids always had someone to play with. The movie night was amazing and the ribbons the kiddos got from Watermelon Time were just too cute. There was tons of beach space in front of the hotel and was not nearly as crowded as the beach in front of the big high rise hotels.

There are no fancy amenities like a restaurant or fitness center but really we never felt like we were missing anything. It was the most amazing laid back, family friendly time we ever had. We have already decided this is going to be our yearly vacation hot spot. That said, I wouldn’t book here if I were traveling without kids. This really is a family hotel. The parking can also be tricky but we found we hardly ever had to drive with Pier Park right down the road.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor are the best for coming in and out of the ocean. The second floor rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDG310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have two nights and three days to visit PCB. This property only accepts reservations for five night minimum stays and therefore refused my booking. For anyone who has a short stay in mind, skip this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kevobooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have visited the Driftwood for over 10 years. The location, staff, cleanliness, friendliness of the other guests is unbelieveable. Walk out the door, and in fifty feet, you are on sand. This family that is outstanding in every aspect. You can pay more for the "big boys", but the experiance will not be the same. This is home.

Room Tip: Cabanas are on the Beach level. Patio rooms are above the beach. You can't lose either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have stayed at this motel for 10 years and will continue to use it. The Lodge is family ownwd and it is reflected by the staff members. The staff makes everyone feel as if they are [art of the family by having free meals, movies, and entertainment for the kids and adults.

The rooms are very clean, with staff members attending to the upkeep of the rooms, facility, and grounds. This motel is dated, but it offers a family atmosphere that you can not find in the large motels. I wholeheartedly recommed the Driftwood Lodge for your stay in Panama city Beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This motel was wonderful! Very, very clean and everyone was super, super nice. I learned many of the occupants return each year and hopefully I will become one of them!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor --- #139. Had a great view and shade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
820 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#36 of 48 in Panama City Beach
114 reviews
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
372 reviews
Osprey on the Gulf
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2596
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing