We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was a little worried at first, but upon seeing the room, I became a fan. The room was clean, nice view of the beach, decent bathroom, and awesome kitchenette with dishes and a little stove. My friends and I had a good time there. It was close enough to restaurants and entertainment, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle so we could have beach space without crowding. It was a plus that reception desk people were nice!

Room Tip: you may not want to stay on the ground floor, facing the beach since there's a lot of people tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    72
    28
    33
    65
See reviews for
113
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in June 2013. We chose it because of its quiet location. The beach was not crowded. Our kids had plenty of room to play. My 7 year old learned to swim in the hotel pool. Both kids loved this place and cannot wait to come back.
The hotel itself is old and worn. The matresses were thin and uncomfortable. But, we saw no bugs anywhere in the buildings. The appliances and bathroom fixtures were rusty. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They replaced a broken chair very quickly. Tourist attractions were a 15-30 minute drive. If you want a quiet stretch of beach, and you do not mind the worn carpets and beds, this is a good option.

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the top two floors to avoid the noise of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We love our first time stay and the staff went above and beyond. The 1st night the elevator went down and since we were on the 5th floor the night guy quickly explained up front that it may be down for a while. He offered us a room in the other tower and without hesitation even offered to assist us with our luggage. The new room was indeed much larger and we really appreciated the upgrade. Our initial room was fine however my mom had a bad knee and David at the desk told us up front it may be hours before repaired and we may want to take the upgrade. Thank you very much for the great service and honesty! Sugar Sands is in a quiet location, yet close to shopping and never did we have any problems with parking at the property. Despite a few showers the beach was awesome and the view breath taking. Linda @ the desk in the morning was also very helpful with requests. House keepers serviced us daily with a smile and anything we needed we were told at check-in to just ask. Thank you again and we plan to visit our new beach "getaway" soon in October.

Room Tip: Best to call ahead as we did and make sure you let them know how many in your party. We never knew t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and we had lots of towels. This hotel is located outside of the busy area which is good if you're looking for a little seclusion. The hotel is located right on the beach. Almost everything you would want to visit is on that same street so you won't get lost. I got a good deal for two nights and I don't regret it. The hotel is a little dated but it was a good night's rest and quiet. The only downfall, is the parking. If you're gone the entire day & come back late, expect to park across the street on a dirt lot. There isn't much parking on the premises, so get back early for a spot. Other than that, it was a great deal and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgal428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very clean. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Full kitchen. Maid service daily. Plenty of clean towels and wash clothes. Just minutes away from all the restaurants and shopping.
Worth the money. This will be our choice next year on our anniversarry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have had a wonderful time in Panama City Beach! This hotel is right on the beach, with a pool and hot tub that is also steps from the beach.The staff is friendly and helpful, the place is clean and neat (if a little dated), and it is away from the noise and partying of PCB proper.

Highly recommended for families not wanting the nightlife.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach! Get a low floor for convenience (elevator is slow) or a higher floor for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After reading some of the negative comments, we were nervous to book a room here. However, with the price per night and the location away from the busy part of town, we decided to take a chance. So glad we took the chance, because the experience was great. I was greeted with a smile at check in and when I had a question one night the staff was helpful. The cleaning ladies were amazing. They were very friendly and even took time to talk to our kids. The room was clean as well as the pool area and beach. The only downside to our stay here was the parking wasn't the best (not a big deal) and the amount of rainfall. So to sum it up if your looking for a 5 star hotel on a 1 star budget this is probably not the place for you. If are looking for somewhere with a reasonable price to stay away from the crowd this is a great place! Thanks Sugar Sands for a wonderful stay! P.S. hopefully someone enjoys the huge box of pb crackers & cookies that we forgot:/

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollTideFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#8 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#25 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#13 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Property: Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Address: 20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is a mid-rise family oriented beachfront resort located on the desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just five minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes, and great rates for family vacations! Beachfront tropical pool and hot-tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing