We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Not what i expected”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I loved the view . The parking sucks totally . The room was ok not the best. I wish it was bigger for what we spent. We had a good trip though. I think the chairs should come with the room rent for free. Just show proof . Your staying at the hotel. The air conditioner water kept dripping on us when we sat outside

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwdlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    29
    36
    74
See reviews for
126
70
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the 8th (at least) time my wife has visited Sugar Sands, wanting to share her 'hideaway' with her new hubby (me). We were on the top (5th) floor, all rooms with a balcony ocean view, and for those who rarely connect with this Gulf ocean and pure white sand, anything with a bed would've been good, as most of our time was spent at the clean and shaded pool or hot tub, in between the solitude of the ocean's rhythm. The staff are friendly and efficient; the maids patient in awaiting late sleepers; rooms comfortable; beds firm and clean; A/C working hard, but adequate; kitchenette fully supplied with a large refrigerator/freezer and microwave; plenty of clean towels upon request, the view gorgeous with pelicans abound!
Sugar Sands is on the Western end of the PCB area, secluded enough to allow peace and quiet, but a quick drive to plenty of upscale restaurants and shopping for these newly-weds.

Best rates and quiet times are said to be mid-October thru November 1st, so look for us again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything was sticky. The room was damp. My feet were BLACK after walking around barefoot for 5 minutes. No hair drier or coffee.
Pros, are the view, and the staff are super friendly. Pool and hot tub. You decide what you're willing to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuffer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had a great stay at Sugar Sands Inn. First night was a little tight but the next day switched to a larger room. We were not in our room that much because we were either pool side or down on the beach. When in the room everything was ok, if we found we needed something all we had to do is ask the front desk and they would get what we needed. A lot of people are quick to give a bad review but one has to wonder did they speak up and ask for something that they needed or did they just keep their mouths shut and not say nothing. I have found in most cases if you ask for what you need most hotels will get you what you need or fix what is wrong. We enjoyed our time so much we even stayed an extra day. We had two full beds a sofa bed and a roll away and three kids sleep in thier sleeping bags. For a large group with a bunch of kids we all had fun.

Thanks, Sugar Sands Inn, for making our summer vacation a blast! Cant wait to be back with you all again.

The Lashley Family
Princeton, Kentucky
Room 414

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eapgraceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I love being by the beach & Sugar Sands would be perfect... The pictures are out dated down to the decor, the dishes were very ghetto, our air conditioner was very old... on full blast, all the way on cool it did not beat the summer heat! We were on the second floor standing by the sink looking up there was a nasty brown stain on the celing that looked gross!! I was very disappointed we payed so much, to be uncomfortable in our room for the price we payed. Not to mention the Wi-fi did not pick up, when I complained there only reply was "too many people were on the internet" Really? I tried all hours...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmama1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We like the location. On the beach but away from all the partying kids and traffic. The rooms are adequate, but somewhat outdated. Kitchenette and bathroom small but clean. Beds firm but not soft. Nice flat screen, but a little small. Balcony very nice with great beach view. Pool and hot tub were very,very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was in short supply.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

exit signs hanging by wires, balcony railings loose, elevator buttons barely working. I was scalded by the shower, had to bail out and cut my foot. Will not return! Phone did not work right, and cover was off the phone jack. Got $84 off of my 3 night stay which was around $450 bucks. They said nothing was wrong with the water. It did change to boiling on me, I have pictures. I would like to warn others about the hot water. (Watch children and older people.) When I went to tell the clerk about it and get bandaids for my foot, he asked if there was a man in the room, I said yes and he said it was his fault. No joking matter! pictures posted. Bed was clean, so was shower, beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikkisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
5.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
546 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#33 of 48 in Panama City Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
480 reviews
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Panama City Beach
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Property: Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Address: 20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is a mid-rise family oriented beachfront resort located on the desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just five minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes, and great rates for family vacations! Beachfront tropical pool and hot-tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing