We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All about the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Ozark, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All about the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff was great but it is a bit rundown. The sleeper sofa was broken and the bathroom fan was loud.all in all we loved being on the beach. No I would not stay here again.The price was not to bad but the floor was dirty and they did not give full maid service. there was water damage to the tiles and the beds sheets had stains and the bed,well we did not sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawandAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    71
    28
    33
    66
See reviews for
113
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for Spring Break, since I was under the age of 25 I had to put a 300.00 deposit down. The hotel was good because it was on a quiter side of town, yet a close drive to all of the 'spring break action'. I stayed in the older motel style efficiencies that are across from the actual larger hotel. Could not beat the price of $90.00 a night for it being right across from the beach and the high demand for rooms that week. The room itself was OK. Everything worked just fine, but the fridge was rusty and the walls were warped. It was an old place, but it was clean and worked just fine for a place to sleep and shower at night. I had a pretty decent experience with the hotel until it was time to get my deposit back. The hotel ended up charging me $20.00 for two 'stained towels' that had eyeliner and makeup on them from washing my face and a kitchen towel that I used to clean up spilt orange juice with. Absolutely ridiculous! Unlike many college springbreakers, we were very conscientious with how we treated the room and left it exactly like it was when we first unpacked. It's a shame they had to 'scam' us after all we did to ensure that we would get our entire deposit back. I'm just glad they didn't take MORE of our deposit for other ridiculous things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cons - No Hair Dryer in room, No ice machine, and spinner in microwave did not turn.

Pros - On the Beach, Clean room, comfortable room, great shower pressure, and plenty of hot water. Full kitchen, with full size fridge. Balcony overlooking the beach. Heated Pool, and great Hot tub, both kept clean. Motel was at the end of the strip so to your West there was NO other Hotels or homes, just a 1/2 mile of beach to wander and enjoy. For the price, very hard to beat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was dissapointed to learn that the hotel "didn't have record of my pre-paid reservation", after my flight landed, although I had an email confirmation weeks in advance. I had to scramble on a holiday weekend to find a room with an ocen view and comprabible to Sugar Sands price range. I chose Flamingo which is much more centrally located and near Pier Park. I used to be a big fan of Sugar Sands, but I will be staying elsewhere from now on due to the miscommunication.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peeppeep194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My father and I have been traveling to Panama City Beach together for years (ever since I was in 7th grade). We used to go to the Sea Witch, but once it shut down we started going to Sugar Sands and have never had any reason to change. Is it the fanciest place in the world? No. Also, to be fair, we always go when there's a cheaper rate, so we usually end up paying 100 dollars per nite as opposed to the 150 that has been mentioned. However, our priority is the beach, and the access is unparalleled. Since it's smaller than the massive resorts, the beaches aren't as insanely crowded, and it's easy to get right down to them. The staff has always been helpful, and the room itself is fine; the kitchenette works great for preparing morning/noon meals. If you want a Hilton experience, then this might not be what you're after, but if you want a nice, clean, dependable, relatively quiet place to relax, Sugar Sands is your place.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HwaetWeGardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our famlies fourth trip to PCB in 8 yrs. and each one has it's own memories. West side in my eye's is the Best side.At Sugar Sands, which is our favorite value, is out of the way and actually with the exception of the Thunder Beach Rally, quite quiet.We've meet some very nice & interesting people there.The Staff were alway's pleasant and helpful in our room need's as well as suggested places to dine or explore, it helps to get to know the locals.Yeah there were some room and building issue's, But we're only there for a week and for the money it was PERFECT! The pool, Sparkling, the beach,alway's clean, surf fishing ,could always be better.WiFi worked fine,All in all, we hated to leave and can't wait to visit again nexted year!

Room Tip: My Wife & I took our 1 1/2 yr. old grandson and of course his mommy and daddy, so we had a Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Hotel was a little older in Decor, but very comfortable, had no issues with the room,Clean, no issues with front desk,Managers were friendly and easy to understand, Parking was a little tight, and the overflow lot was across the street behind another business, but the path was well lit. This property is located at the western end of PCB, It seemed to be fully occupied but the beach was not crowded. we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I like the 5th floor for the veiw, You had a good veiw from all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Beachbreak By The Sea
#26 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#13 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#29 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Property: Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Address: 20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is a mid-rise family oriented beachfront resort located on the desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just five minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes, and great rates for family vacations! Beachfront tropical pool and hot-tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing