We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's a beach motel....o.k.?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Stockbridge, Ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a beach motel....o.k.?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked the room for 4 nights after reading mixed reviews. Arrived and room was ready. Elevator stunk and was dirty. Room was clean and fresh. Looked like new paint. The carpet was clean as well as the bathroom. Now for the not-so-good. The bathroom fixtures were corroded and nasty with rust. The mattresses on both beds looked like they came from the flea market. My hips still hurt from those things. There were mattress toppers on them but they did not help. The refrigerator sounded like it had a woodpecker living in it. It was noisy and kept us awake. The tv looked like something from the 80's..Parking was terrible. Not enough room on beach side and parked behind a convenience store in the dark. (Did not seem secure) Overall, I cannot complain...it's a beach motel. Housekeeping did a good job with towels and making our room smell clean.

Room Tip: Try for a floor on ground level or 2nd floor. Take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    71
    28
    34
    67
See reviews for
116
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our stay at Sugar Sands was great! It was Me, My husband and our 19 month old toddler with some friends. We got down there on the 4th of July and stay until the 8th. It was a surprise to what the room looked like when we arrived. Very clean, smelt fresh, dishes, pots and pans. bathroom was clean. and the Balcony view was amazing. We had the DQ plan with the Two Queens bed and sofa sleeper with a split room.

The AC went out about the 2 days we were there and the staff immediately fixed it with no problem. Staff was extremely nice and helpful, especially when I got stung by a Jellyfish for the first time. Our family will deff. stay there again on our next trip to PCB. Great Price :] about 5 miles from entertainment but the drive is not long at all.

Very Happy customers.

Room Tip: DQ plan is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been staying at this property for a number of years. Yes it is an older place. But it is not some high rise that you have to wait on elevators and walk a mile to the beach. We stay on the bottom floor and the beach is right there at our back door. I would recommend this for a family that wants to be close to the beach. If you are wanting to stay in a high rise high end condo this is not a place for you. We love the beach. The staff is very accomidating to our needs. I have already booked rooms for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay at Sugar Sands was great! Friendly staff...room was clean...view was breath taking! We will definitely be staying here AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skkstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our second trip to Sugar Sands. We stayed in Plan A on ground level this time around since there was 6 of us staying. Overall, things were great! We love the accessibility of the beach, literally right out the back door. The room was HUGEand well equipped!! On the downside, the couch had seen better days. It was ery hard to get up off of. The sliding glass door that lead out to the beach did not hae a lock on it, just a stick to put in the railing of the door. That was a big issue for us as we had a 4 year old with us. Plus if you went out to the beach, you either put the stick in the door, went out the front & around the bldg. or you left your room unlocked.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the extra $5 a night they charge for a ground level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were staying there while we waited to move on to another better place close by. In years gone past this place was fair to nice but it was filthy, with open garbage cans spewing forth in open view. The cupboards were empty of necessary implements in the kitchen (like a dish, a spoon, a pot - basic stuff totally not there!) and the management staff was totally disinterested. The landline phone (we can't use cellphones r/t hearing problems) was from 1960's and we had an emergency and could not use it. The room was drab and depressing and the furniture old and stale-smelling.

The final point, without going into rather depressing details, is that we strongly believe that we got bedbugs from this pitiful place. - Caveat emptor!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AikenSouthron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Tifton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was very disappointed in this motel. To begin with when I booked this room I was told it was located in PCB, wrong! It is actually in Laguna Beach. The room looked run down and were very dated; there were stains on the carpet and the mattress in the pull out sofa was disgusting! The mattress on the bed was very hard and pillows were lumpy. The tv remote didnt change the channels and there was no ice machine located on the property. I go to PCB every year and decided to try a new motel this year but this by far was the worst!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#26 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#16 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#28 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
5.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#12 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Property: Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Address: 20723 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3625 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Sands Inn & Suites is a mid-rise family oriented beachfront resort located on the desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just five minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes, and great rates for family vacations! Beachfront tropical pool and hot-tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing