We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Spring Break, no frills”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed back at the Sandpiper in college for Spring Break one year with my fraternity brothers. It was an ok place to stay, basic ammenities, felt clean. The best part about the Sandpiper though is the night life! Within walking distance of lots of the best bars in Panama City as well as a great bar right on the property. During the day there was always something to do like fun beach side games and contests so you felt like you were staying at a fun all-inclusive, just without all the drinks included ;) Definitely for the younger crowd during Spring Break, but I'm sure would be a decent place for stays during other times of the year. The facilities have taken a beating over the years, not the most modern place, but you can tell they try hard to keep things up to date and usable.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view! The rooms on the street just aren't as fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RaveLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon for your Spring Break! We do our best to provide a fun Spring Break atmosphere for our guests as well as cater to families and other groups throughout the seasons and different times of the year! Thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back in the future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,120 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Fantastic place ! Loved it. Staff is friendly & very helpful. Rooms are clean & comfortable. Great price ! The pools & spa (hot tub) are extreemly clean & wonderful. Indoor pool and lazy river was very nice. Will be going back often. No more other places this it The Place ! Tiki Bar is Awesome too !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort! Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments and we look forward to having you back very soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed this year in January (2014) for 4 days with my 10 year old son and we had a generally positive stay.

Rooms and property are dated and facilities are as well. That being said, nothing was out of line during our stay.

Staff was helpful and courteous, housekeeping did not make much of an effort to keep things spotless in our room, but overall my 10 year old enjoyed himself. Decent value as our costs averaged about $100 per night.

Stayed last year at a chain resort on the beach and while that location was much nicer, it was also quite a bit more expensive.

Nice location and The Sandpiper Beacon is fine if you don't expect too much in the way of amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chsinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments about your recent stay at the Sandpiper Beacon! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on the
World's Most Beautiful Beaches" very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stopped and got a room for a few nights while on an unexpected business trip to the area. Much to my surprise, I was staying in a newly renovated, nicely furnish room that was perfect for a tired business traveler. The beach scenery was marvelous & I can see why this is the spring break mecca for northern college students. The beachside tiki bar was large and right down on the beach. Nice staff and clean rooms, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello!

We are so happy we were able to provide you with comfortable accommodations for your business trip! We often have many one night travelers who enjoy the hotel, then bring their families back for a longer vacation! We look forward to having you back and thank you for staying with us at the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I read reviews on this and I will keep it simple: it is a great place to go with children. Lots of activities and right on the Gulf. If you are a "5 star" hotel type go somewhere else.

The staff is constantly checking in on you as you are walking around to make sure you are having a great experience. There are things to keep the kids busy and planned activities. The outdoor pools are very warm (we swam when it was around 45-50 temp outside but the pools were prob 87 degrees!) Also a great value!

Here are the "bads":
No coffee in the rooms. The "indoor" pool and lazy river is really a mostly enclosed porch so it was just a little warmer than being outside. The lazy river was chilly. No breakfast. Beds are a little in the uncomfy side. Ice costs 25 cents. Big deal!

All in all we had a riot and after staying in multiple different hotels in the area this is where we would go back due to the fact they had lots to do to keep us entertained. There is an onsite bar, water sport rentals, waterslides, planned activities daily.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Truth2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hello!

We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your vacation with us at the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort! We are glad you were able to take advantage of all of the fun and family-friendly activities and amenities, especially the heated pools! :)

We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into consideration to help us make future guests stays more enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and choosing the Sandpiper Beacon out of all the hotels in Panama City Beach! We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

2nd time here, this time got a room facing the gulf. 1st problem was that the seal of the sliding glass door glass panel was broken and therefore the door was fogged up inside with condensation inside the glass. Killed viewing out the door right away. Other fixed door was able to look out only 1/2 way because curtain would only slide that far. Asked for other rooms, looked at two others and doors were just as bad and one was worst. if you kept the door open, birds would come up to the door opening. Time for some replacements. other issue was housekeeping not making the room up consistent each day such as the bed. Also don't think vacuuming was on the list to do every day. Tiki bar very nice, beach beautiful, (got to pay to use the beach lounges). Also dogs allowed guess all floors as we saw them on 1st and 3rd floors. Panama city beach pretty much closed up except for shopping and eating this time of year.

Room Tip: ensure glass doors are clear.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raperlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hi!

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We apologize for any issues you may have encountered. We do our best to make sure all guests are comfortable and pleased with their accommodations. We appreciate your comments and will use them to help improve for the future. Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort and we hope to see you again in Panama City Beach! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was the best hotel and we give it 10 plus. The employees were so friendly and the food was great and best of all it's pet friendly. We give five stars and will be staying at sandpiper beacon from this day forward. They have earned a lifetime customer. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossbearers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi there!

We truly appreciate you staying with us at the Sandpiper Beacon! We are so happy to hear you were provided with great customer service and accommodations at our Resort! We look forward to having you back and being a part of the Sandpiper family! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 48 in Panama City Beach
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#21 of 48 in Panama City Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $49 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing