We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here if you want to vacation with cockroaches!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you want to vacation with cockroaches!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here for two more nights. It hadn't been too bad minus the fact we received the smallest room ever and paid for a partial oceanview room, but have to keep the drapes closed because the balcony looks onto the balconies of the hotel next door and people just sit there and are able to stare right into our room. Maid service doesn't come until almost 4 which is usually the time we were coming in from the beach. Until 10 minutes ago we thought the room was pretty clean, that is until we saw something on the wall in the dark. We turned on the light and it was the biggest cockroach we had ever seen. (Yes, it was a cockroach, we made sure to do our research.) We have been able to see some other rooms and they look much nicer than ours. If you do choose to stay here make sure you don't get room 373!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heather7ue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello,

We are very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We wish we would have known about your situation while you were here so we could have taken steps to accommodate you better. Anytime a guest has a problem or concern, we encourage them to let us know immediately so we can solve it quickly and efficiently to get your beach vacation back on track.

However, we do appreciate you sharing your experience and will take your comments very seriously. We hope you give us another try for your future stays in Panama City Beach! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    501
    213
    99
    240
See reviews for
1,080
267
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Okay, it's a motel that uses motel soap and didnt have shampoo in the room...but the room was really clean, the bed more comfortable than at marriott and the amenities are awesome. The rooms have a large, flat screen mounted on the wall like you have at home, rooms have a full size microwave and the place has a pool, club, tikibar, deli, gift shop and beach rentals. Not gonna win any 4 star awards but it doesn't need to. This place is great as is. The a/c was loud, but that actually helped me sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zodiacwarpspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Small town USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a room with 3 beds plus a pull out couch and a kitchenette. It was perfect. We stayed during thunder beach (4 days) and our room was big enough to sleep 8 comfortably. The beds were ok. No bugs or fleas or any pests. We do not have any complaints. The staff, from the front desk to the house keepers to the man who parked our trailer, were all SO nice and helpful. We needed towels twice a day, and they brought them right on up. our room was clean and nice, and was tidied up everyday. The Tiki bar was great. The pools were clean and nice. The location is good also.. Sand Piper is on the west end of the beach but still plenty close enough to everything. And for Thunder Beach, all the action was right here, so we didn't have to leave, if we didn't want to. There was plenty of FUN to be had right on the front porch. Thanks, Sandpiper-Beacon., love, Jill

Room Tip: Corner suites are large, roomy and sunny. Rooms up high have awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Jill!

Thank you for writing a review about your recent vacation with us and sharing your beautiful photos!

We are so happy you came down for the Motorcycle Rally! We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Sandpiper Beacon! We do our best to provide our guests with clean and affordable accommodations as well as exceptional customer service!

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to have you back very soon! (Maybe for the Spring Motorcycle Rally!) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Once Again You Guy's Have Made Our Stay In Panama City Beach A Great One!!! Great Service, Comfortable Rooms, And Lots of Great Stuff To Do and Great People To Do It With!!!

Thanks Again and We Will See Ya on The Next Trip!!!

Also Make Sure You Take Advantage of The Photos There at The Sandpiper!!! This Guy Really Knows What He's Doing and Great Prices and Packages!!!

Room Tip: Room 316 Was Awsome!!! Had a Great View of The Gulf and No Out of The Way Noises!!! Woke Every Morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi David!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are so happy you enjoyed everything on your recent stay at the Sandpiper Beacon! We truly appreciate having our guests return each year and always look forward to having you back!

We are so happy you took advantage of the on-site photographer and we love your family photo taken on the beach!

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel has a little age on it but is well maintained and clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to meet your request as quickly as they can.It is especially family friendly with most everything needed is on site or very close. There are many things to do there and a very nice beach also.

Room Tip: We liked the third floor beach view because of an unobstructed view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort Michael!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been providing fun and family friendly vacations in Panama City Beach since the 1950's and do our best to keep our property maintained and make improvements whenever we can!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again on the "World's Most Beautiful Beaches"! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have visited this facility for two years now. The staff is always friendly and helpful. If you have a complaint, they call for guest services to address the issue right in front of you. This is a great place to stay if you have kids. I went this year by myself and still enjoyed the ocean air and gorgeous sunsets. Everything that you could want is all at this one place. Take full advantage of all of the things to do. There's something for everyone in your family! I will definitely be returning every year!

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room with a full kitchen so that you can have the choice of cooking in instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond53916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort for your recent stay in Panama City Beach! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us!

We are very pleased that any issue you may have experienced was taken care of swiftly and promptly by our Guest Services Team and your beach vacation was put back on the right track.

We are looking forward to having you as a repeat guest at the Sandpiper! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I found the Sandpiper to be a grand old place. It has all the amenities anyone could want, the lazy river is heated and good for adults at night after the kids go to bed, and the adult pool and hot tub are very nice, daquiri bar, music, tiki bar, deli on the beach, jet skis, etc. Its all there and if I had taken children or grandchildren they would have enjoyed it- however, being over a certain age I enjoyed going in September with more adults present, and I found all the staff to be friendly enough, some more than others, but that's everywhere you go. There are always going to be some tourists that have never been anywhere before that are going to make themselves or their children a nuisance to others, like the pregnant woman in the hot tub that also had a baby on her lap, that peed in the hot tub. I wonder why they think the Sandpiper put up a sign? In particular, the Sandpiper Beacon has the absolute best set up for people who rarely want to leave the resort. I didn't take any pets either, but saw several people with small dogs. I travel often and its a no-brainer to ask first if you're bringing any kind of pet - but I believe this is a dog only facility. I don't mind if there's a tiny bit of sand in the corner of the bathroom behind the commode. I don't mind if the trash outside smells of shrimp for a day or two, or if the air conditioner unit sounds like it fell off on the balcony when it kicks off. But then again, I don't mind being in my swimsuit with my hair a mess all day and only switching to my mu-mu at night, so maybe I'm not a real critical person. But I enjoyed my stay at the Sandpiper Beacon immensely, especially the staff: Keri and Robert. I enjoyed it all, even the rainy days. And if you must leave, you're only a couple blocks from Winn Dixie, etc.

Room Tip: West facing rooms for sunsets are nice, not too hot in the morning. Room 201 was great, close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ktruelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your awesome vacation experience with us! We truly enjoyed having you here at the Sandpiper Beacon.

We are so happy you were able to take advantage as well as enjoy all of the on-site amenities we have to offer. Like you said, many of our guests never even have to leave the property!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to having you back as soon as possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
467 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
232 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing