We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Week at the Beach in the condos 8/10-17/13”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Barney, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Week at the Beach in the condos 8/10-17/13”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked Sandpiper because it had a Lazy River. Splash has one too, but they were booked. We are glad they were - Sandpiper was better. We stayed at the condos - I would definitely recommend this over the villas or the beach house - more space all on one floor, great kitchen for families, plenty of seating, 3 televisions, HUGE walk-in closets, ON THE BEACH for wonderful views, private pool and beach. Best part for our multigeneration family - lots of kid things to do at Sandpiper for the young; the Tiki Bar for the young adults who can drink and do karaoke, and quietness for the older folks who want peace to watch the waves and sunset - but easy walking distance to ALL of the things to do there!

The only downside was parents who did not police their kids as little ones were climbing into the hot tub and climbing on the miniature golf statues and swinging clubs around while others were trying to play. My suggestion to the hotel was to have these areas policed more with people who can actually tell the kids they need adult supervision for some things. There will always be inattentive parents who are oblivious to everything but their cell phones, unfortunately.

We actually looked over Splash while we were there to do a comparison for next year....will go to Sandpiper! Who wants to wait 1/2 hour for a 20-story elevator.

There was plenty of parking for our group. The staff was very courteous and able to assist in a timely manner. Sandpiper is older but we did not feel congested in the condos; they were clean and maid service was excellent. Check out was a breeze - we called, said we were ready to check out, the pleasant young man said, are you leaving now? I said within 15 minutes - he said - DONE! We didn't have to return keys or anything!!

The entire family enjoyed the time and want to do this again. Yes, we will!

Room Tip: Stay at the condos! Don't stay inside by the pool sides - much noise and kids running everywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Nancy!

Wow! We are truly ecstatic from reading your review! We are so happy to hear all about your wonderful vacation experience at the Sandpiper! It is always rewarding to know that we are providing our guests with quality accommodations, entertainment, and excellent customer service.

We appreciate your suggestions on having more areas monitored and supervised. Our intention is to make sure ALL of our guests get to enjoy the amenities and activities so we will definitely look further into improving this.

Once again, we greatly appreciate you choosing the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort! We look forward to having you back at the "FUN Place!" very soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    508
    214
    99
    240
See reviews for
1,095
268
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice something for the entire family. Rooms were nice and clean, beds comfy. Elevators are slow and hot. Everyone was friendly, it was very convenient. There were activities throughout the day to keep everyone busy. The drinks at the tiki bar are a plus including the food. Easy access to the beach as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Tonya!

We appreciate you sharing your vacation experience! We are so happy that you and the family enjoyed your time with us. We do our best to provide fun activities and amenities for all ages to enjoy and we are very pleased that everyone in your group was entertained! We are also glad that you enjoyed the drinks from our beachfront Tiki Bar and the food from our Beachside Deli! Many of our guests find this very convenient. Thank you again for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon in Panama City Beach! We look forward to having you back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very nice place to go and stay and have a lot of fun. All the staff is great. They are very good with the kids and makes sure they have fun. The security staff in the Tiki Bar is awesome. This is a great place for family's to go and enjoy the beach. There is alot for the kids to do. There is a awesome bar for the adults which is ( kid friendly ). I enjoyed the karaoke nights. The burgers at the snack bar is very good too.

The only exception of awesome staff is MIKE the night manager or something like that he is an idiot ( dick with ears ) that's what another guest was saying when I was in the Tiki Bar. When i was sitting at the bar I saw this idiot come down and accuse a guest causing trouble when that guy didn't do anything. His comment was ( It's you again always causing trouble ). This was totally un-called for.

OWNERSHIP. I would defiantly recommend you take care of Mike talk to him about how other guest hotel sees what he does. I did not know the guest he called out but later I talked to the guy he was a cool person. That guy said he and his family goes there every year for the last 4 years. You could end up loosing money if MIKE does that to other guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We just got home from our 3rd visit to Sandpiper...once again it was fantablous!! The staff was great, the beach house was awesome, and all the fun things to do there were fantastic. We truly love the beautiful beaches, and awesome hospitality. Thanks for another unforgettable vacation. See ya next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie_Leavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Jamie!

Thank you for choosing the Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, yet again for your beach vacation in Panama City Beach! We are so happy to enjoyed everything we have to offer. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and write this "fantabulous" ;) review! We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the sandpiper for the first time in August of this year for our family vacation. We have a family of five, children ageing from 3 to 12 two girls and a boy. We had several concerns that arose over our five days there.
First there were several members of the staff that were very rude and insulting to our family. We reported the incident to the managers and our complaint was immediately rejected as if we were making it up and the manager said he would follow up with it and that was the last we seen him.
Second every evening one member of their security staff who was in his late 20's married with kids surrounded himself with groups of 14 year old girls, allowing them to squeeze his arms and show off his muscles... you get the picture.
Third there were other members of staff that followed my wife from location to location over the course of our 5 DAYS there making her feel uncomfortable and very annoyed.
To be fair the room was very good and the location to the beach was great, the pools were all operational and clean and with several pools it made it not crowded and kept the kids interested going pool to pool. The free extra's for the kids were a nice bonus like face painting and Hula lessons there was something to do every day.
Even though the hotel has great things to offer we WILL NOT stay there again because of staff rudeness and inappropriate behavior and will spend our 4 thousand dollars we spent on hotel and extras at another location next year.

Room Tip: Beach from rooms are good for beach lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southern H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience. We are sorry to hear you did not receive the quality guest service that we strive to provide for all of our guests. Your comments have been forwarded to management and will be heard and taken seriously. Our intention is to always treat our guests with courtesy and respect. It is never our intention to make our guests feel uncomfortable and this issue will also be addressed. Once again, we appreciate you sharing your feedback and thank you for staying with us! We hope you enjoy your future stays in Panama City Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in July 2013. Room was recently painted (within last year or two) and looked pretty nice. We had a kitchenette, which was tiny but had all the essentials for eating some basic meals in the room to save money on eating out.

The beach was nice and although the pools are very small there are three, as well as a lazy river and a hot tub. The much hyped Tiki Bar was OK. Not really "on the beach" or at the pool which would be very nice. All in all, for a stay in Panama city Beach during peak season, no complaints.

Room Tip: We had a room away from beach which was cheaper. Beachside would have been worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tall-e-moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was once my favorite place to stay in PCB,now..not so much.We were there in July and couldn't believe how much the place has gone down! We have stayed at the sandpiper every year for the last 8 years..three times last summer alone. This year was a nightmare..the rates are outrageous. We are staying at splash in 2 weeks for 50.00 cheaper than what sandpiper quoted us for the same days! Our room was filthy,one small A/C unit for the entire room. If you didn't keep doors open you couldn't stay in room,even then it was hot.The loveseat that was supposed to be a full size fold out sleeper had red/brown stains on the cushions.Flimsy door locks, elevator by the lazy river smelled of old urine.Water to low in lazy river to enjoy it..no tubes. When we tried to use our tubes we were told they were to big.Water in indoor pool so cold the kids wont swim in it...that has always been an issue..Was sick for 3 days after I ate fried pickles and seafood dip from the tiki.And on,and on, and on!!! RUN!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melissa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Guest Relations Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Melissa,

We are sincerely sorry to here about your most recent experience at our Resort! We do our best to make sure all of our guests, especially loyal returning guests, have a memorable and enjoyable vacation. We strive to not only put your vacation back on track, but also do whatever we can to make your stay even better.

When guests of the resort are not pleased with their accommodations, we do everything in our power to find a different room(s) that is more suitable and comfortable. We are in the process of remodeling and updating many of our rooms and will take all of your comments and concerns into serious consideration.

We are sorry you were not able to enjoy the lazy river or indoor pool area. We will also address these issues to make sure future guests do not have this problem.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. This will help us work harder and improve for the future! We do hope you give us another chance to become your vacation destination in Panama City Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
537 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#12 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#14 of 48 in Panama City Beach
469 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
236 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing