We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spring Break with 11 bros” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
New Yor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break with 11 bros”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Sandpiper is the place to be. I say that with sincerity. If you're going on Spring Break, you will have a great time. Nice pool, great hot tub, pretty nice tiki bar (gets poppin at night), amazing white sand beach, and decent service. Yes, the security is strict, because they don't want non-guests to be on their property. Yes, they do care about underage drinking, but I'm sure you will be fine. However, the maids clean VERY well, the rooms are VERY decent for the price, and the whole experience is totally worth it. We had to pay $50 extra (before tax) for our 11th person, but we split that up between the 11 of us, so it was completely fine. Enjoy your time at the Sandpiper because I guarantee you will NOT regret it! (P.S. - it is a bit far from the "main" clubs so you'll have to take a taxi ($5 a person stop complaining))

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the beach of the pool. We had a 3rd floor room with a balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    415
    185
    90
    233
See reviews for
899
240
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was very unsatisfied with my stay at this resort. When the reservations were made, our party was promised a room with two double beds, a pull out sleeper sofa, and a full kitchen. Upon our arrival we had come to find our room contained one king bed and a pull out sleeper sofa. The room was very clean, but the kitchen was tiny: there was a full refrigerator, but zero space to do any cooking. If you plan to take a shower, I would wake up at sunrise or wait until the very late afternoon to have any chance of hot water.
The staff is a story in itself. The security was absolutely ridiculous. My friend and I wanted to have our two boyfriends, who were staying across the street, over because our room was directly on the beach; but were told we would have to pay $50 per guest, per day for the privilege. Every time we left our rooms we were interrogated about where we were going, and asked to show our wristbands. Oh, and by the way, if you loose a wristband you are also charged an extra $50 per wristband, per day for a piece of plastic.
It was a challenge to get any clean towels or sheets, not to mention toilet paper. Forget about a DO NOT DISTURB sign, as we were awoken at 8:45 by the cleaning staff who refused to go away and come back later. And that was the only time we saw the cleaning staff the entire week we stayed.
However,your guest can join you in the tiki bar free of charge, before 10:00 p.m. The tiki bar was probably the best part about the entire resort. It was a lot of fun, lots of dancing and good music. But you can not bring amy outside drinks into the bar and I paid at least $4 per drink.
Don't stay at this resort, unless you like being pestered all day long, sleep in a tiny room, and have cold showers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2016
Maddy, we apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 3 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I don't even know where to start.... Maybe I'll start with the horrible service we got by manager Steve. We booked a 3 bedroom suite that holds up to 10...or so we thought, we had planned on bringing at least 8 maybe 9 people. A lady told us we can just call to add another person it would be a one time fee of 50 dollars. We called the night before and found out our room only holds 8 and we would get charged 50 dollars per day for our extra person. We thought that was a tad ridiculous considering we already spend over $3000 for 6 nights. We tried to cancel but then found out we would have not none of our money back. We waited about 2 hours for check in, which wasn't guaranteed until 8 pm. Got into our room and locked the door with the chain, one friend didn't notice the chair was locking the door, so he pulled the door open and the lock and chain came right off...super safe. Our room was very loud and with a suite that holds up to 10 you would think have more than one toilet. I understand this was spring break week but still, this place was terrible and I wouldn't suggest this to anybody, not even spring breakers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AimeeHaleiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2016
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 3 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was the worst, never again. They need to clean that place up. Employees are the rudest. Steve Scott manager needs to find a new job. Please don make the same mistake we did. There are to many greats places to stay

Room Tip: Stay away please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2016
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 3 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I used to sort of live here. I was working in the Pan Handle and stayed here. Later on I would bring my G/F down for he weekend. What a cast of characters that worked here back in the day. The towels felt like sandpaper, the rooms where....not all that and the restaurant was slow at best at breakfast but I must say if you want to have a good time and not go broke for it this is the place. Great memories here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailnaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sandpiper Beacon Resort in Panama City Beach, Florida. The rooms were recently renovated and clean and the property was well kept. However, the amenities in the rooms were terrible, no hand towels, no glasses not even plastic cups, no Kleenex, no alarm clock, no hair dryer, no coffee (but we had a coffee maker) absolutely no amenities in the bathroom except soap. When asked about the amenities or lack thereof we were told it was the resort policy not to furnish these items. When we asked to borrow a hair dryer we were charged a deposit as if we were "would be thieves" even though they had my card card information. There was no place to eat on the property even though they advertised a deli that served breakfast, lunch and dinner.

This is NOT a four start resort as advertised and we would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tjt704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2016
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 3 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was so impressed with this place. with my kids (4 and 6) and early feburary i needed heated pools. The staff was so extra nice , the rooms were very clean and nice and had everything we needed . They had so many activities for adults and children, playground, tiki bar and its a huge resort. One of my favorite things were the Snowbirds. they were so much fun and nice. The pools outside and in were more like hot tubs not just luke warm. The hot tub was like a water heater lol. I will go every year we have found our new favorite place in panama city.

Room Tip: I would not really pay extra for beach front view or partial beach view because your so close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tfraser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#10 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#29 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#6 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmetto Inn & Suites
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#4 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing