We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You won't be disappointed if you know what to expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Save
You added The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed if you know what to expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Since it was January we wanted a hotel on the beach with an indoor heated pool. The water temp in the pool and lazy river was delightfully warm in the mid to upper 80's but the "indoor" was actually tent like walls so the air was shiver cold when you got out and ran to your room.

When we pulled up to the hotel we thought it was old, but requested a newly renovated room and it was beautiful with new carpets and furnishings, flat screen TV, granite sink counter, new mini/fridge/freezer and mircowave and on the first floor so we could walk right out to the beach. The shower head and water pressure was unusually good for a hotel, most places we go to dribble like a 90 year old man with prostate problems. However, there is a coffee pot but no in room coffee is provided, just free coffee in the mornings in the lobby. Ice costs twenty five cents, and only soap and towels are provided in the bathroom, no shampoo or conditioner. We had to put a towel behind the headboard to keep it from banging the wall if you just rolled over.

Keep in mind this is a family hotel...and teenagers stay up late and whoop it up at midnight while little kids are very excited shouting in excitement when they go out to the beach early in the morning. Maybe if we were on an upper floor, sleeping have been easier. We will ask for it when we go back...and we will, because the good outweighs the bad and the winter "off season" pricing is so reasonable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    388
    180
    86
    227
See reviews for
854
221
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cookeville, tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June of 2012...it was not a good experience. The only nice thing about this hotel was the tiki bar, which offered family entertainment every day and evening. Our room, on the other hand, was nasty. And once I realized how nasty the room and carpet were, I requested another room. Of course they assured me there weren't any other available rooms. The shower head was extremely short and I had to bend backwards to even get my hair wet (I'm only 5' 6"). When I sat on the commode, my knees almost touched the 1960's looking rusty wall vent. I had to call downstairs every day to request clean sheets. We stayed very active and made the most of the trip, but I will never visit this hotel again. Yuck! This year we have booked a condo through VRBO for around the same price. It is right across the road from Pier Park. My husband even wrote Sandpiper a letter when we got back home...said he just couldn't let it go; but they basically brushed us off. No more Sandpiper for us....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blondi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 3 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As a Professional Photographer we have many reasons why we stay at different hotels. We wanted to take the family away for New Years Eve. We arrived earlier that he had hoped but that was not an issue for the Sandpiper!! We were settled in our room within 15 minutes of arrival!! The property has a very retro look and feel to it. Many different rooms to choose from! 3 pools, Tiki bar, and much much more!! The beach view is to die for!!! The staff by far is the BEST!!!

Room Tip: You may want to take a look at what size room before you get there!! All you have to do is ask! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The outside of the hotel looks a bit run down. After convincing my hesitant husband to give it a try, we booked a room. The rooms had been remodeled and were nice and clean. Each room had a private balcony but if you want ocean front and are offered a partial view, ask to see the room first. The partial view room we looked at looked straight at another hotel and the room was TINY because of it being a corner room. The ocean front room was much nicer. Even though it looked worn on the outside, the rooms and ammenties were nice. There is a ton of things to do at the hotel without even leaving. I also liked its location...away from the excitement a bit.

Two things I did not like- The hotel was only three stories...I like to be higher up. You cannot make reservations online. It must be done in person or over the phone.

Room Tip: Ask to view your room before finalizing your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilson_ah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Yes it is an older property but we still love it. We have been for fall break twice now and spring break once. I love being on the beach and all the amenities the Sandpiper offers. We have enjoyed watching the movie on the big screen at night. Although my kids are getting older now they had fun on the big slide during the day and enjoying the other kid friendly activities. The family atmosphere in the bar area until 9 p.m. was a shock to begin with but then I realized how nice it was to be able to enjoy a cocktail without having to worry about driving and watching the kids participate in karaoke. And I feel safe letting them walk the property and hang out with new friends we meet. The Sandpiper is very forthcoming about when college spring break is and when family spring break begins. Luckily our kid’s spring break has always fallen in the “family spring break” time. If not Florida period would probably not be a spring break destination for us at all. Our first visit to the Sandpiper, having never seen the hotel, we were disappointed with the room we chose. They were very amiable about upgrading our room, at a nominal charge, to a beach front walk out room. The rooms our budget could afford are a little small for four people but really how much time do you really spend in a hotel room on a beach vacation to Florida! My daughter loves the mall in Panama City Beach. And we have enjoyed going over the bridge to old town Panama to go to antique stores. My son, the fish, just wants to be in one of the pools at Sandpiper at all times. I really love Destin but they do not offer a hotel that we can afford, with all the amenities Sandpiper has to offer. Our last trip to Destin was spent in a high rise 20 floors up looking down at the beach. So we definitely will be back to Sandpiper so we can walk out our sliding door, take a few steps and stand on the deck to watch the sunset over the Gulf.

Room Tip: Beach front bottom floor is the way to go, nice table to sit at and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for one overnight on our way to Pensacola. Checked in at sunset and enjoyed the beach location and beautiful views. Older hotel, but room was clean. Just before turning-in we discovered two live cockroachs in the room. Called front desk and after an apology, was given the option to change rooms or have ours sprayed. We chose the latter figuring if they were in our room, they were in other rooms as well...it was too late to change hotels. Lousy night sleep and nobody overly concerned at desk when we checked out. We wont be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 4 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my daughter's 20th birthday bash and loved it, so we wanted to come back. Kinda wished we hadn't though. We are here now 12-3-2012. We drove to Destin for some shopping and we got back to our room and it had not been touched. When I called down to the front desk I was told that they do not have house keeping in the off season. We were not told that when we cheked in. So we had to take our own trash out and make our own beds and gather up our twels.
My Mom has bouts were she can't sleep and wanted our porch light fixed so she could go and read on the deck. No one has shown up yet. The housekeeping ladies showed up yesterday (the same ones we were told that would not be there) and then cleaned. THey said they would not be back until Tuesday so we didn't clean our beds off today and they showed up and cleaned half the room. They have list of rules about no drinking around the pool and no animals on or near the pool deck and there was drinking in the hot tub and older folks have thier dogs all over the pool deck. Not to mention the 50 cats wandering all over. There were also dogs on the beach taking a dump and no one there to make sure the poop was picked up. Big disapointment this time. Won't be back. Off season or in season.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#12 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City Beach Pier Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama Ci...
#15 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#26 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing