We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset over the Gulf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunset over the Gulf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Yes it is an older property but we still love it. We have been for fall break twice now and spring break once. I love being on the beach and all the amenities the Sandpiper offers. We have enjoyed watching the movie on the big screen at night. Although my kids are getting older now they had fun on the big slide during the day and enjoying the other kid friendly activities. The family atmosphere in the bar area until 9 p.m. was a shock to begin with but then I realized how nice it was to be able to enjoy a cocktail without having to worry about driving and watching the kids participate in karaoke. And I feel safe letting them walk the property and hang out with new friends we meet. The Sandpiper is very forthcoming about when college spring break is and when family spring break begins. Luckily our kid’s spring break has always fallen in the “family spring break” time. If not Florida period would probably not be a spring break destination for us at all. Our first visit to the Sandpiper, having never seen the hotel, we were disappointed with the room we chose. They were very amiable about upgrading our room, at a nominal charge, to a beach front walk out room. The rooms our budget could afford are a little small for four people but really how much time do you really spend in a hotel room on a beach vacation to Florida! My daughter loves the mall in Panama City Beach. And we have enjoyed going over the bridge to old town Panama to go to antique stores. My son, the fish, just wants to be in one of the pools at Sandpiper at all times. I really love Destin but they do not offer a hotel that we can afford, with all the amenities Sandpiper has to offer. Our last trip to Destin was spent in a high rise 20 floors up looking down at the beach. So we definitely will be back to Sandpiper so we can walk out our sliding door, take a few steps and stand on the deck to watch the sunset over the Gulf.

Room Tip: Beach front bottom floor is the way to go, nice table to sit at and watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    430
    191
    93
    235
See reviews for
929
249
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for one overnight on our way to Pensacola. Checked in at sunset and enjoyed the beach location and beautiful views. Older hotel, but room was clean. Just before turning-in we discovered two live cockroachs in the room. Called front desk and after an apology, was given the option to change rooms or have ours sprayed. We chose the latter figuring if they were in our room, they were in other rooms as well...it was too late to change hotels. Lousy night sleep and nobody overly concerned at desk when we checked out. We wont be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandpiperBeacon, Manager at The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2016
We apologize for such a late response to your feedback. 4 years have now passed since you visited us, and we have been continually making changes and improvements since then. We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your last stay more. We'd like to invite you to visit us again. We're confident that you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my daughter's 20th birthday bash and loved it, so we wanted to come back. Kinda wished we hadn't though. We are here now 12-3-2012. We drove to Destin for some shopping and we got back to our room and it had not been touched. When I called down to the front desk I was told that they do not have house keeping in the off season. We were not told that when we cheked in. So we had to take our own trash out and make our own beds and gather up our twels.
My Mom has bouts were she can't sleep and wanted our porch light fixed so she could go and read on the deck. No one has shown up yet. The housekeeping ladies showed up yesterday (the same ones we were told that would not be there) and then cleaned. THey said they would not be back until Tuesday so we didn't clean our beds off today and they showed up and cleaned half the room. They have list of rules about no drinking around the pool and no animals on or near the pool deck and there was drinking in the hot tub and older folks have thier dogs all over the pool deck. Not to mention the 50 cats wandering all over. There were also dogs on the beach taking a dump and no one there to make sure the poop was picked up. Big disapointment this time. Won't be back. Off season or in season.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WENDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

They have remodeled alot here so it was worth 65 a night off season. They accept spring break kids so dont go near here when that is happening.The rooms are ok,clean and all, this is an old motel. I went down the road a bit and found an efficiency that I liked better but I paid more too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

First, this is not one of the big highrises on the beachfront. This place has been around for a while. Everything that needed to be painted was painted. We had the standard king room with a kitchenette. The vanity in the bathroom had no counter space. The kitchen sink was a single bowl. The room was clean and had been updated. No hangers provided and small area to hang things. Am I sounding critical, maybe, but I would go back in a heartbeat. Go ahead, pay the big bucks for the big names. This was a place that was extremely affordable, staff courteous, plenty of parking for PCB standards. Many amenities ie tiki bar, outside grills, tables, lounge chairs and on and on. Let there be no doubt, you will not be disappointed as long as you don't think you are the king or queen.

Room Tip: Second or third floor down the way from the tiki lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

we had a wonserful time at the sandpiper beacon in panama city.
the entire staff was very friendly and very helpful.(one of the staff members even took us to our room!) they were all great!
the room was spotless and very nice.
the hot tub,the swimming pool and the tiki bar was right around the corner with a ocean view in front of us.....couldnt have asked for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are lots of conveniences- groceries, gift shop, laundromat. the food at the beach stand is good, but food across the street, at the Paradise Restaurant is better. There is plenty of staff around and they are pleasant and helpful. The guests were pleasant as well, friendly, chatty, helpful.
However, lots of kids in the "adult pool" which I don't understand as they have their own pool! We were traveling with our adult son, so we needed separate bedrooms. When we requested this, we were assured we would have two separate bedrooms, we were initially put in one room 2 beds. Upon refusing that room, with an explanation of why, we were escorted to another room with the same setup! The third try yielded a room with two private sleeping areas.

Room Tip: Don't take the first room offered! It took three tries for us to get the room we requested. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessie_G58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
4.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#11 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palmetto Inn & Suites
Palmetto Inn & Suites
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber By The Sea
Beachcomber By The Sea
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort

Property: The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Address: 17403 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as the "FUN Place!" The Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort & Tiki Bar offers year-round fun, activities, and entertainment for all ages. Located directly beachfront on Front Beach Road, the Sandpiper is a family-friendly resort-hotel with planned activities and entertainment, waterslides, multiple indoor/outdoor (seasonally heated) swimming pools, free WiFi, indoor lazy river ride, on-site Deli, Ice Cream Shop, Gift Shop, Restaurant, Arcade and more. Offering 24/7 resort services, including housekeeping, guest services, and maintenance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Hotel Panama City Beach
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beacon Beach Panama City
Sandpiper Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing