We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing mini vacation...”
Review of Legacy By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy By The Sea
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I Come back Monday . The personnel is work there during the day Karen, Cindy and Greg are very professional and friendly .I love when somebody is give a big smile. My check in was 1.5 min is awesome. The room was excellent clean and full furnished. The kitchen was clean and complete. You have a toaster and coffee maker . I bring my magic bullet I made my frozen drinks too. The room have 2 bed and 2 units the air conditioning. ONE TIP NEVER EVER TURN OFF THE AIR CONDITIONING .The view is incredible. The housekeeping Canda she make a excellent touch up at my room . The crew at the night Cindy, Ashleig and Andrea help me with the knowledge about the place supermarket and stores close to the hotel.In the morning the breakfast i was waffles , cereal ,yogurt, bagels, orange and apple juice , referents kind of tea, muffins, donuts, Is only two machine you have to take a little patience because everybody like waffles, coffee. The mini gym is across the breakfast area . you have a walking machine and bike . The swimming pool is huge same the Jacuzzi . The beach is white soft sand . They charge for use the chair and umbrella but you can bring yours. The water is clear cold and you see amazing species little fishes with the goggles . excellent for snorkeling. I came for Orlando was my first time in that area was the mos amazing mini vacation my husband and I . The internet is charge for hour, day or week . I went to disconnect the world was excellent for us . I went to this paradise for relax and fun. Thank you very much for everything you guys .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 899 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose the Legacy this year over Beachbreak(which we stayed at last year) because of the location. The Beachbreak was wretched, my husband said it reminded him of the barracks he used to live in when he was in the military. Anyway, the Legacy was a huge upgrade, clean room, very spacious, and the ability to section off the room to the beds and the sitting room, and two tvs, excellent for the kids to watch something while the adults can watch something else. The beds, not that comfortable but still better than the other hotel. Better off just skipping the breakfast. It's too small of an area for as many guests trying to get a donut or bagel. Parking is difficult if you come in later at night, but the lot behind SunMart is well lit if you need it. We found the staff to be pleasant. The hotel manager has a cool parrot named Frankie and is great for pictures with the kids if you run into him. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShanO4177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

One of the biggest issues we had were how dirty the floors are. After walking in your room for just a little while, the bottoms of your feet turn black. We had to put many bath towels down on the floor to form a walkway around our room! While the view of the beach is nice, that's pretty much impossible to screw up. The employees could have been more friendly and I don't know where they found that breakfast lady from but they need to return her....very rude and short with guests. And $40/day to rent beach chair/umbrella is a little too much in my opinion. I wouldnt recommend anyone to stay here based solely on the filthy floors...ive never stayed anywhere this bad in all my trips to the beach!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Afang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just got home from our week stay at Legacy. Very misleading. When we called and booked we were told of all the discounts that we would get from other places by just showing our key. 20% off Gulf World, Kids will eat free at the next door Barefoot Tiki Bar, so much off helicopter rides, etc. Once we arrived and went to eat next door we were told they no longer offer those discounts and haven't seen last year. Next day we made a visit to gulf world were we are told the same thing. They even had signs in elevator showing all places that offer discounts for staying at legacy and NONE of them did it anymore. Very frustrating that they lie to just get you to stay there.

The hotel was okay. Not the cleanest I've ever stayed in. Staff seemed very nice although we didn't have much connections with me. Breakfast was a joke. Waffles and cereal and there was always a hung line and no place to sit. After second day we went and bought breakfast food at walmart and just made it in our room.

Overall, the location is wonderful but I can't say I would ever stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momma2two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen C, Public Relations Manager at Legacy By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

I believe you spoke with a member of our reservations team via online chat this weekend concerning our Passport to Play Discounts. All discounts have been verified with our partners as of yesterday morning. The management team at Gulf World was contacted and they assured as that, as always, our discounts are being honored. We pride ourselves on offering discounts to area attractions, dining and shopping.
The breakfast lines are typical of any resort. Unfortunately, it takes a little longer to make fresh waffles than our guests would like.
Again, we're sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Had you brought the issues up during your stay we would've been more than happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Finally arrived...

"We need to charge you $172 for exceeding room capacity" reluctantly, "ok"... Which I had to later have reversed because they charged our children as adults... We did not exceed capacity.

"I believe there has been a mistake, we booked a Non-Smoking room"... "Well, did you book through Legacy by the Sea, or a third party" "A third party" "Oh, we don't guarantee requests by third party travel sites" "I don't consider non-smoking a request" "We have no other rooms available, here is a bottle of Odor-Ban"... I had to go back for bug spray after I killed 3, yes 3 cockroaches in our room.

Smaller complaints - full beds rather than queens, no dvd players, $10.99/day for wifi?! Old school a/c units pull in smells from outside, which stinks when they put you on a smoking floor against your will.

You can park in 4 different areas because they don't have enough parking to accommodate for the number of rooms. In front (never available) basement garage (if your car will fit through the tiny maze) across the street (hardly ever available) or a block away behind the convenience store (Hope you have good weather and nothing to carry)

Breakfast is from 7-9 am. The breakfast prep area is not large enough to accommodate for the number of guests and neither is the time-frame. Tried several times, always packed. Options very limited. I showed up a 6:55 am and the unfriendly staff member said "we don't open til 7" I said "it's 6:55" and she looked at her cell phone clock and proceeded to not open until 7:05.

The pool/hot tub are not large enough to accommodate for the number of guests. I hope you like being real close to people if you stay here and want to use the swimming facilities.

The beach... The only upside to being trapped at this "Nightmare by the Sea" Perfect views, short stroll to water, open beach.

Trust me, pay more and enjoy your stay elsewhere! I have stayed at Edgewater twice and loved it, but I stayed here in an attempt to be closer to pier park... Next time ACCOMMODATIONS>LOCATION!!!

Room Tip: "A room in a different hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

There are very few places to stay in PCB that are not condos. We took a school group. The facility is pretty nice. The decor is very basic but you are there for the beach - not the room decor. The room layout in the units we rented was very handy. When you walked in, there were two full beds with a television. The next area was a small kitchenette on one side with the bathroom on the other. The next room was a living area with a pull-out bed plus dining table and television that led to the balcony. The view is great. The management was very friendly and the maid service was adequate. The continental breakfast was a good snack to get ready for the day. There is a convenient store, diner and a restaurant/bar just next door. Pier Park is an easy twenty minute walk down the road. If I were visiting again for a weekend, I would bring my family here. If I were staying for a week, I would look into a condo rental - but Legacy by the Sea works for a short stay.

Room Tip: If the view is important, ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We sent 2 nights in Room 612 June 2nd and 3rd. My husband booked the room so I did not get to preapprove it. I will say the room was clean but very dated and the sofa had stains. the general condition of the room gave me the creeps I would not walk on the carpet without my shoes. The view was awesome and the kids kids had a great time so that is what matters the most. The breakfast was not worth the trip down stairs go to the grocery store and make your own (the lady who works the food service is rude and nasty). Over all it is ok for a family on a budget but not my first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
6.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Panama City Beach
Beachside Resort Panama City Bea...
#10 of 49 in Panama City Beach
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Beachfront
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#1 of 49 in Panama City Beach
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Panama City Beach - Beachfront
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pan...
#9 of 49 in Panama City Beach
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Panama City Beach
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 49 in Panama City Beach
749 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#4 of 49 in Panama City Beach
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy By The Sea

Address: 15325 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3527
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $93 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy By The Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Panama City Beach hotel is located directly on the beach and a mere 2 minute walk from Gulf World Marine Park. Features include a heated outdoor pool and hot tub facing the Gulf, free continental breakfast, and rooms with a fully equipped kitchen. Free WiFi and balconies offering Gulf of Mexico views are featured in each room at Legacy Beachside Resort. Room service is available from our adjacent restaurant, Barefoot on the Beach, which serves up delicious food in an unbeatable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legacy By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Legacy Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing