We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, great beach, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Summit Condominiums
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We have never been here during spring break before and I have to admit it was quite different. The rowdy kids were dropping garbage faster than the employees could pick it up. I was impressed at how "on top" security was. Kids were being evicted left and right for getting too crazy. The pools were perfect and the beach was kept better then I thought it would be. We rented through the on-site company. They addressed any concerns we had very well. Our room (1411) was really clean and has nice appliances. The furniture was new looking. It did need new balcony furniture but we could live with it. The owner even called midweek to ask how we liked the room. This has never happened to me anywhere before. I will definetly stay here again-in 1411 if it is available. I must say though that I and others I saw checking in only had to pay $10 for parking. Paying for parking sucks but $10 beats $25 any day. For the money I loved The Summit! If you are a family/value oriented person you will too!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank muttandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 726 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2007

The best way to ruin a vacation is to walk into a unit that you have paid nicely for and find that it is an absolute mess. The smell, when we entered the unit, just about knocked us down. The beds did not look clean, there were not enough towels, mold on the shower curtain, the dish washer leaked and best of all the dishes in the dish washer were dirty. The list goes on and on.

We ended up going to the local Wal-mart to buy cleaning supplies and paper products. What a way to spend vaction -cleaning the place you intend to stay in for five days. My goodness, I could go on and on.

Our unit which was located on the second floor was filty. When I inquired at the front desk I was told that because it was a privately owned unit there was nothing they could do.

We were charged $25.00 for parking while there. The hot tub and the sauna were not working. One of the pools was closed because there were two catfish found swimming around in it. The stair wells were littered with trash and food. You didn't even want to get on the elevators. The place was an absolute mess.

The beach directly off the hotel and was also littered with trash; pop and beer cans; various other debris.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know and our family will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skunzakeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We found the summit to be very dirty. There was always garbage on the gounds, in hallways and stairways. The beach was the dirtiest we have ever encountered in twenty years of traveling to Florida. The only highlight was that the pools were kept clean and the water sparkled. While there are many amenities, nearly all the condos offer something similar and there are much nicer places to stay. This condo is adjacent to two teenage night clubs and it gets very loud, so I would not recommend it for families. Our unit (621) was dirty and is in desperate need of some updating. We rented from Michelle Goodwin through vrbo.com.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bmakinmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Booked on line from the rental office, check in was quick, room was ready and clean. Really enjoy the towel exchange daily so my wife does not have to wash and dry laundry. We spent our time on the beautiful white sand instead of washing.

Across the street is a great cajun restaurant with real po-boy's

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank corvettnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2007

We stayed at the Summit for a week late last summer and are going back this summer. The complex had much more to offer than other Panama City Beach resorts; such as: two pools (one heated, one not) , Sauna, game room for kids, kids playground directly on beach, several computers by pool to check e-mail, tiki bar by pool and ample on-site parking. We rented directly from owner (unit 224) and got a good deal. Although the Summit is not one of the newer resorts the room we stayed in had been updated and was very clean. I would recommend the Summit for anyone traveling to Panama City Beach.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank thetraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

I have rented unit 832 for two years (from Tillie Cohen) this is was better than ever. New tile floors, cabinets, fans. Loved it!! Will return to 832 again next October.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank earnhardtlady03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

The view of the beach from the higher Summit rooms (say, floor 7 and above) is spectacular. We stayed in 1414, which we rented from the owner. She gave us a deal because it is not very busy right now.

Beside the Summit amenities (two family pools, two kiddie pools, hot tub, whirlpool, park area, restaurant, Internet, good location, etc.), the unit had a lot to offer--fully equipped to stay for however long. There's a small kitchenette with an oven and a microwave. The washer/dryer came in handy. The furniture and beds were comfortable. I liked the tile floor.

I would definitely return, and would certainly stay in 1414 again!

Stayed: August 2006
7  Thank susanmc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
125 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
891 reviews
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites of Panama CIt...
#23 of 48 in Panama City Beach
304 reviews
Top of the Gulf Suites
#71 of 82 in Panama City Beach
153 reviews
Laketown Wharf Resort
#20 of 82 in Panama City Beach
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Condominiums

Address: 8743 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4030
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $131 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Summit Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Summit Condo located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico in Panama City Beach, Florida. Spectacular views and gorgeous sunsets from the 14th floor ocean front balcony. The Summit is next door to the very popular Spinakers Beach Club and Club LaVela. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Condominiums Hotel Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Panama City Beach
Summit Panama City Beach
Summit Condominiums Hotel
The Summit Panama City Beach
Panama City Beach Summit
Summit Panama City Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing