We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This place is fantastic!”

Mike's Cafe and Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! This place is fantastic!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Best oysters ever! This place is small, but don't let that fool you. Great food, nice selection of adult beverages, and the absolutley beat oysters I have ever tasted!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jehartley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    187
    80
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant on the Beach”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in a condo near Mike's and it was recommended by the condo owner. Although I never been an oyster lover or even an oyster liker, I decided to give Mike's baked oysters a chance and I'm glad I did. Our party shared a dozen baked oysters. Mike's does them lots of ways. We tried the Mornay, Rockefeller, Parmsian and PCB baked and they were all outstanding. My personal fav was the PCB baked with creamy, not hot, horseradish and parmesian. I also stole a few of my husband's fried oysters and they were equally fabulous. On a return visit we had the oyster stew; a creamy, peppery concoction with whole oysters. It was incredible. Everything we ate at Mike's was terrific but I would drive back from Atlanta tomorrow just for the oysters.

A few things to know ... the building actually contains 2 separate dining areas. In the evening for dinner only the smaller oyster bar side is open which makes for limited seating and potentially long waits. On our second visit our party of 6 was told the wait would be an hour and forty-five minutes. We watched a few parties leave to go elsewhere but we decided to stick it out and our diligence was rewarded when we were seated only twenty-five minutes later. My advice is to get there early for dinner and wait it out if your have to. The food is worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
619 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Go every time I'm in Panama City Beach. The best S.O.S. in PCB. Everything I've had there had been absolutely delicious! You've got to try this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We went on a recommendation from our hotel and it was very good. Lots to choose from and good portion sizes. Was very pleased all around and would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 89mustangatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast spot...”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Didn't get a chance to try lunch or the oyster bar during this trip to PCB, but will next time. Nice clean family oriented place. Prices are reasonable, portions are good, and food was delicious. Wait staff was friendly. This will be my go-to place for breakfast on my next trip to PCB!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Cafe and Oyster Bar also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Mike's Cafe and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing