We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th stay and will be back again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Save
You added Sunset Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“4th stay and will be back again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was the 4th time staying at the Sunset Inn, and it didn't disappoint. Owners are great - always friendly and helpful! We had reserved an efficiency, but then found out we would have 2 other family members joining us and requested a condo instead. I called a week in advance to switching, but was told the condos were all booked and to check again when we arrived in case of a cancellation. We were late checking in due to a bad accident and subsequent traffic jam on the drive down, so I called to let them know. The owner said "no problem!" I also checked on a condo, and they had one open up (yay!) We had a great stay! The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The people are friendly, both the owners and the other guests as well. We ran into a guest we met last fall as well, so I can say that we aren't the only repeat customers at Sunset Inn! Also, I read a comment that said they don't have WiFi. That's not true. You just have to get the password from the office. I highly recommend this place. It's not a fancy place, but it has everything we need during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank re08212014v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    88
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
106
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

In a strip full of soulless high rises, the Sunset Inn shines with old-fashioned charm and personality. We found it several years ago, and loved that it is owned by a family, it is small, it has a wonderful location, with several rooms directly on the Gulf, a great deck with grills provided for cook-outs and picnic tables and chairs also provided. The rooms are fine; small kitchen included, full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, stove and oven - you can actually cook meals for a family. Very friendly owners, helpful and can recommend the best places to eat along the beach and in Panama City.

Room Tip: The free wireless internet doesn't always work in every room, so ask at the desk when you check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intlxpatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Over the past 38 years my family has stayed here off and on and whenever we have come down to visit my parents who now reside in PCB, Florida, this place has evolved over the years and is wonderful place to stay, very family oriented, great access to the beach andthe people are very friendly, They have great kitchenettes and the rooms are very clean, it doesn't matter what time of year you stay here, everyone welcomes you with a smile and the owners are wonderful and very knowlegable of the surrounding area, This is our family place to stay away from home

Room Tip: Clean no sand build-up anywere in the corners or on the bed linens, rooms look and smell clean, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just got back from a quick weekend at the Sunset Inn. Had a great time. It was fall break and it was mostly families that were there. In fact, you seem to see the same people every year. That says a lot about the place! You can't beat the value, cleanliness and friendliness of the place. The heated pool was just the right temperature. Another great thing about the Sunset Inn is Anthony's beach service. The chairs are in great condition and people aren't squished in beside each other. Looking forward to spring break!

Room Tip: The condos have washers and dryers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiredteacher65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to take my two year old for her first trip to beach and didn't have but one night available to stay. His sister referred us this hotel, and for one night we were pleased.

It's right on the beach, MAJOR PLUS with a two year old. The view from our oceanfront room was gorgeous. It could definitely be renovated and updated, but for the price (springbreak $117 oceanfront room) I was not surprised at the decor. The inn is small and family oriented. There were no partiers, only families staying. The pool looked clean and inviting, although we never did make it there. We mostly stayed on the beach. The service was fabulous, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

The amenities were very limited, no WIFI, small pool, and if you're going for the beach then you're fine. But with small kids I would find another hotel with more extras.

Room Tip: Like said before, good for a night but probably not for longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heatherashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

First if your looking for a high end hotel, this will not be the place for you to stay.. If on the other hand you want a clean, friendly great beach location, you cant pick a better place on PCB.
The hotel has 3 buildings, 1 right on the beach with of course direct beach access. They have grills on the beach deck so you can have a cook out if you like. 2 other building directly across a very small street. Plenty of parking. 1 building offers 1 and 2 bedroom condo's and the other offers 1 bedroom or queen size beds. If your looking to save some money this is a great option. The street is very quiet so you dont have to worry about traffic or noise.

The location is excellent. Easy to get just about anywhere on the beach. Some great restaurants within walking distance and if you like bars there are a couple of those within walking distance as well. They also have free WIFI which I had no problem using across the street. There is a nice sized swimming pool if you dont like swimming in the ocean. I think all or at least most of the rooms have a small kitchenette which of course is great to have. It comes completely stocked with pots and pans.

If you wish for a long winter stay you can check them out and see if they have any monthly rooms left. They do go very fast as the prices are excellent.

Room Tip: Condo's are across the street from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misse43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winder,ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My family has stayed at Sunset for almost 15 years, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Panama City Beach. Clean, friendly staff, great value and we love the location.
Our only complaint is the pool is small for the motel size, and it is always crowded.... but we go for the beach. We love Anthony the cabana guy, he's great. Cabana chairs and umbrella are also a great value compared to places like Edgewater.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sneakieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#29 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Legacy By The Sea
#12 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#9 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#31 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Comfort Suites Panama City Beach
#14 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Property: Sunset Inn
Address: 8109 Surf Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4758
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn invites you and your family to vacation with us in paradise. Nestled among the sandy white dunes on the Emerald-Gulf waters and far from the crowds, you'll enjoy our spectacular sunsets, romantic beach walks, refreshing swims, and a variety of family activities. The Sunset Inn is just minutes away from the finest restaurants, golf courses, night clubs, specialty shops, amusement parks, and world renowned sport fishing. So enjoy our family atmosphere and have a pleasant stay at The Sunset Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Panama City Beach
Sunset Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing