We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Top of the Gulf Suites
Paragon,Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed stay”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife ,two teenaged granddaughters and myself just wrapped up a quick four day get away.We stayed in #723 unit of Top Of The Gulf condo.The condo was exactly as described .It was a studio, Everything worked ,it was clean and really convenient to attractions and restaurants. I would have liked a balcony,but I knew going in
the units don"t have them,but they do have nice seating in open areas for viewing the sunset in comfort.The staff was very courteous and check in was quick and easy.
All in all it was a very good experience.It was a good value stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47travelguy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    20
    17
    44
See reviews for
61
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Rented this condo from the internet for my son and husband. Was given a rate and total, with no mention of fees. After printing off the confirmation, the way the receipt read led us to believe that the fees were included in our rate we were quoted. They were not. When my son and husband got there to pay the bill, they ended up paying around another $100 in fees and registration and other bull crap. The room itself is nothing to write home about. Outlets that look like they could burst to fire anytime. Will not stay here again, nor will we recommend it to ANYONE! My husband said he would rather have stayed at any other place!

Room Tip: Don't choose this complex!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elydon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

Richmond, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We rented off of a private owner, it was awesome , was very skeptical at first on making decision on condos due to some past bad experiences with vacations, this was a great get away and very close to local stores. we had a blast , the condo staff were very nice and helpful, we really enjoyed the security there. we met some great people and one of the employees we really enjoyed , her name was sally, she was very helpful and very nice. we are going to return as soon as we can, the condo has a great pool and easy escape the beach. we experienced beachfront view which was awesome. would highly recommend this getaway from home , mini paradise and reasonably priced

Room Tip: we rented beach front on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLDalbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The building is old, the condo "owner association" collects money from the condo owners but doesn't let them change things unless they approve them. They need to let the owners update more things, especially the door knobs/locks, etc. The association is responsible for things getting fixed at the building itself, not the individual condo owners. The condo owners can only do what is approved. There is a maintenance man for the building who will come & fix things.

As for those of you who reported how bad their condo was, especially the one who stayed in room 511, "you get what you pay for". I don't know about 511, but I know there are a lot of other places in this building that are very nice. The people who stayed in #511 are the people that left their hot water heater spraying water all night without telling anyone which caused our ceiling & everyone below us ceiling to leak. Maybe you should take into consideration that people who stay in these places are the ones who destroy them and ruin it for everyone else. There were people who let their kids run wild thundering down the halls and occasionally knocking into people when they ran around corners there. They also let them swim really late without parents being there disturbing our sleep, but we didn't rent an adults only place, so we didn't complain. As for saying there wasn't an ocean view, your room was 2 floors above ours (311) and we had a great view, did you have your blinds closed or your eyes open??? None of the condo's have a balcony, you should have read the description & asked questions. If you expected luxury, toilet paper, house keeping, etc. you should have went to a hotel. These are CONDO's, you obviously have never stayed in a condo before. They do not provide anything except what is listed unless they tell you they have a minimum supply of toilet paper, shampoo, etc. You have to provide your own food, toilet paper, paper towels, shampoo, soap, etc. There is no maid service, the cleaning charge you pay for is to clean up the mess you leave. Granted, the service they use could stand to clean better and wash the bedspreads more often. And if they see a stain on furniture or bedding, they need to try to clean it or contact the condo owners who pay them. After seeing some things some of the people who rent these places do, I would never want to buy one. Maybe the renters would take better care of their places if they screened their renters.

Room Tip: Look at photos and ask owners questions, like are these photos current, are there any other charges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLover355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have stayed in lots of beach front condominiums and homes - but this was certainly a great value for a beautiful studio, beach front condo. From the check-in staff, the front desk staff, and all the amentities . . . everyone and everything was great. I don't often do WOW reviews, but I have to say Top of the Gulf (condo 711) was wonderful. The view of the ocean was great !!! It literally took less than four minutes to walk to the elevator, ride down, walk past the beautifully maintained pools and onto the beach. We were able to comfortably leave our beach chairs and umbrella on the beach from morning until night . . . everyday. The condo was close to everything in Panama City Beach, restaurants, fun, nightlife, attractions, parasailing, dolphins . . . everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chadton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohatchee, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I must say I was concerned...but when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. Yes this is an older condo building, and yes it does have an older pool area, but it was clean, the people were very pleasant that worked there, especially the security lady names Sally, the only problem we had was the sliding glass door mechanism, which was addressed immediately. There were only 3 of us, but we took our little dogs and were on the bottom floor. There is a convenient dog walk area, the kitchen looked almost brand new with all dishes, pots and pans in like new condition. We plan to return next year. I recommend that for those familys that exceed 3 people you request a larger condo, perhaps with separate bedroom, but the one we stayed in (unit 107) was enough. The location is good and area is maintained and quite. For those complaining,, if you want a "ritzy hotel" you should perhaps stay at the RITZ, for those of use wishing a relaxing family oriented place this definately was it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I absolutely love this condo. It was a perfect fit for us (including our little dog.) Very clean and up to date, right on the beach, a wonderful staff and friendly residents, and within walking distance to shopping, golf, etc. We have found an affordable place on the beautiful gulf coast of Florida that meets our expectations and our budget. This allows us to go more often to this great destination. An “ A+” for Top of the Gulf #821.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Voinche T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
110 reviews
Sunbird Suites
#68 of 83 in Panama City Beach
191 reviews
The Summit Condominiums
#69 of 83 in Panama City Beach
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Beach Resort
#14 of 83 in Panama City Beach
323 reviews
Origin Beach Resort
#29 of 83 in Panama City Beach
653 reviews
Majestic Beach Towers
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top of the Gulf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the Gulf Suites

Property: Top of the Gulf Suites
Address: 8817 Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-4029
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Top of the Gulf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at St Thomas Square on Panama City Beach is a truly unique vacation destination. The Inn is located just across the street and sits along the magnificent Grand Lagoon. The Villas and Plaza are not a busy, crowded high-rise condominium. It is actually a European Villas and Plaza with all the comforts of home set in a quaint, relaxing atmosphere. The Inn is one of only a few locations with a boat dock along Grand Lagoon. Grand Lagoon will give you easy access to St. Andrews Bay, The Gulf of Mexico, and Shell Island.There are several floor plans to choose from that accommodates 2 to 8 people. If you are traveling as a couple, family or group, rowers, triathletes, baseball, softball, cheerleaders, divers or bikers, we have rentals to fit every budget. All Villa’s and Plaza units have fully equipped kitchens and all but the studios have a washer/dryer. Though The Inn is across the street from the beach, it only takes a minute to walk across the street to the open sugar white sands and pitch your gear for a fun filled day of sun. We are within walking distance to Club LaVela, Spinnaker, Emerald Falls Family Entertainment, and Hammer Head Fred’s. There is a Mexican bar and grill on the property, a hair and nail salon and Panama City Beach Winery, Gift shop that has a large selection of the best Florida Citrus wines available. They have wine tasting daily – our top pick is the Mango. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Top of the Gulf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Of The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach
Top Of The Gulf Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing