We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice, Panama City is not...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hotel is nice, Panama City is not...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Legends Edge is a small, beautiful property.

Here are the highlights:
- Our room was clean and recently updated (although a bit smaller than some Marriott Club accommodations).
- The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids especially enjoyed the crafts in the Wreck activity center. The were a wide variety of activities offered and they were very reasonably priced...
- The pool and hot tub were pretty with plenty of seating.
- The resort is located in Bay Point which offers lots of natural beauty.


Cons:
- Location, location, location, right? Please note this resort is in PANAMA CITY BEACH, and it attracts a Panama City crowd. We thought that since it was in Bay Point, it might be different. It is not. If your idea of a great mountain get away is Gatlinburg, TN, this is the place for you. If you prefer Highlands, NC, you won't like it here. It is a place for people who like their food fried, their bodies tattooed and their prepositions at the end of their sentences. That's why they make chocolate and vanilla, right? Just know what you are ordering and you will be fine.

If you still decide to go, here are some hints:
- Some rooms have spectacular views - request a room with a water view...
- If you walk down to the Wyndham, there is a boardwalk/pier out to Lime's, which is a great place for a drink at sunset. (food is not great, but the waterfront view with live music some nights is really special).
- There is a really good Publix about 2 miles from the resort.
- At night, there are lots of very loud frogs. A higher room might be better for avoiding this noise. Do note that there is only one elevator per building, so be ready for some stairs or a wait.
- Beach access is an easy 10 minute drive away, either at St. Andrews State Park or Rick Seltzer Beach Park.
- We saw a lot of wild life on the property (snakes, bunnies). I think a first floor room would be a bit creepy (and would not have a view.)

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    110
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
143
96
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alpharetta, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed our short 5 day stay. The smell outside was annoying. We think it was from sulpher in the sprinkler system. The rooms were very nice and the staff was excellent. The mold on the shower curtains and on the shower were the only issues we had in our room. We also thought the stairways to the rooms and pool deck sidewalks needed pressured washed because they were moldy and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
313 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Marriott has some fine properties but this one is one of my very favorites. The setting is very scenic with serene views of the picturesque wetlands that are always hosting scores of Herons doing their stalks in search of a meal. A standout feature is the island type bar/grill located at end of long pier that is a delightful stroll past the everpresent Herons. The "big house" has a well staffed restaurant and lounge as well overlooking the pool enclosure. Although I don't partake in the supposed mystical golf experience, this location is set admist a beautiful palm tree lined course that gets plenty of action. I won't stay anywhere else when in area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Traded my Palm Desert Timeshare for a week here and was not disappointed. The staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way whenever we had a request. The rooms were spacious and up to Marriott's timeshare standard. The best part was not bring hounded to attend tons of presentations-- that is a first and wonderfully welcomed!! Other Marriott resorts should follow suit especially when an owner is staying! We stayed in the Bluebonnet building on the top floor and had a beautiful view of the pool area and the Lagoon. Towels were readily available and easy to trade for fresh ones. If you ( or your teens) want to be in the middle of the beach action, this isn't the place. However, if you don't mind a 10 minute drive, you can be in the midst of all of the beach action-- and leave it behind. I would definitely trade to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsun28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I just returned from a four-day stay at the Marriott Legend's Edge in Panama City Beach. We took a two-bedroom unit in the Azalea building. The room was spacious, clean and comfy and the decor was modern. Our party consisted of two adults and three children ages 9, 5, and almost 3. My kids' first words as we opened the door was "Daddy, can we live here!". That says a lot. My chief concern is always how comfortable my family is with our accommodations, as it is "home", while we're at our destination. So, that was very reassuring.

Check in was a breeze, but beyond that, I never had to interact with the staff much, except in the Wreck Room, which is where they kids' activities are located. They were extremely courteous and professional and worked with my kids to accommodate them when they wanted to do an activity--even when it wasn't the time for that specific activity. So, in the resort itself, there was something for everyone. My daughters enjoyed making crafts, my son enjoyed playing the Wii with the other boys, my wife and I enjoyed the table tennis, and everyone enjoyed the pool.

Overall, I would rate this as an excellent stay. There were no issues that arose, the beds were comfortable, the accommodations felt like a modern condo, and the location was close enough to the "strip", if we wanted to go, but far enough to avoid the noise and congestion.

Oh, I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that the President and his family stayed here a few years ago. That definitely scored some points for me with the wife. ;-) I would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imanico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Legends for five days. The kids had a ball....pool, craft classes, ice cream social, bikes, outdoor chess, bean bag toss, ping pong, putt putt, shuffleboard, basketball, splash pool. The villa was lovely. Fully stocked with dishes, silverware, pans, pots, dishwasher, full fridge, microwave,coffe pot and toaster. They also provided dishwasher soap, paper towels, Tide for the washer. We were given plenty of pool towels, so you wont need to bring any. The Villa is large, decorated well, we had a view of the pool from our screened in porch. The staff was lovely and friendly. I would recommend this property !! Lots of resturants within 10 minutes. Great Pirate ship adventure at marina....a must ! They entertain the kids, you can sit back and relax. Yo ho ho

Room Tip: Ground floor near the pool was great with the kids. Plus while they are crafting, we got plenty of g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threecatstolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Six people headed to Panama City and we had a great time! The hotel was clean, spacious, and more than what we imagined. We were a few steps from the pool and spa. We didn't want to leave, but this great hotel (and the awesome restaurants) made our own night vacation a blast! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
16.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
9.6 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#10 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#8 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#12 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
10.1 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#5 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Property: Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
Address: 4000 Marriott Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32408
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Legends Edge At Bay Point Hotel Panama City
Marriotts Legends Edge
Marriotts Panama City
Marriott Panama City
Panama City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing