We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach side Honky Tonk”
Review of Dee's Hang Out

Dee's Hang Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beach side Honky Tonk”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is Family owned and operated with tile floors and dinette style furniture. It's loud from crowd noise and hustle, bustle. Food is mostly fresh, not frozen, and delicious for casual fare. Two had skirt steak tacos or fish tacos, all fresh, all great. Another had fresh oysters, just great. I had fried seafood combo; all fresh and handbattered. Service is fast. It is a casual T-shirt and ballcap kind of place. If it weren't for Spring Break kids we'd gone back, but it is located in the center of west beach. You should try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    278
    89
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A small, quaint family owned restaurant. We first started going to Dees when it was just a locals favorite. We were so happy to find it. The food is amazing. It has great southern comfort food, seafood and Cajun specialties. Upon retuning it seems the tourists have discovered the place too! If we don't have the kids, my husband and I like to sit at the bar for dinner. If you are in town on Tuesday - make sure you get there for lunch - the have old fashioned fried chicken...amazing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathis, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is great food!!.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes, catfish, greens, and jambalaya are the best we have ever had! We try to try different dishes each time we go. My husband loves the banana pudding - home made!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryLou0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yummy southern eats”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the cajun platter, great combination of yummy souther US fare....the $1.50 happy hour draft was great too!! Would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended by a Local”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm sure this is an overlooked place by most travelers and they are they missing a treat. Food was over the top GOOD! Hubbie had blackened catfish w/ creole cream corn crab sauce topped with a fried soft shelled crab...And I had blackened grouper with a cajun remoulade sauce.....Collard greens that were exceptional and a side of red beans and rice.....whew..makes me hungry all over again just thinking of how good it was!!! Check them out and you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KARROTSOUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee's Hang Out also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dee's Hang Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing