We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will definitely return again and again....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dee's Hang Out

Dee's Hang Out
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Carolina
Level Contributor
390 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“I will definitely return again and again....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the kind of place I could eat at several times a week.
The menu has quite a few different items and not just seafood,the specials appear to be different everyday.

I stopped in for lunch and went with a 6" poboy,the thing was HUGE,piled high with shrimp and remoulade sauce on the side...tasty.

The staff really set this place apart,everyone who was working the floor stopped by and asked if I needed anything and how my food was. A+

I will definitely stop in again during my PCB stay and try some other items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolinaCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    272
    85
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dee Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have never had a bad meal, Dee comes out to check on you to be sure he got it right. But it doesn't matter because his food ROCKS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psinned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seafood in the Old Panama City Beach Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the place for you if you want fresh seafood, reasonably priced served by a friendly wait staff. The food is prepared well and the portions are generous. We ordered from the daily specials menu: Hangout Platter and the Cajun Platter.

Hits:
- Both platters were generous portions.
- The chicken gumbo was made with a dark, richly flavored base. I liked it but wife didn't care for it. Next time I'll try the seafood gumbo.
- Both the shrimp and the catfish were lightly battered and fried to a light golden color. The catfish flesh was tender and flakey and the shrimp were cooked perfectly, not overcooked.
- My wife's hushpuppies were very flavorful with an appealing slightly sweet taste.
- the slaw was excellent
- the wait staff is excellent. They are attentive, friendly and efficient.

Misses:
- The outside of the restaurant is a big turnoff - it's in a small unappealing strip mall with a dingy appearance.
- The french bread roll felt like it was stale
- The price of the meals appeared a little high.

Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whittwicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Grilled grouper and blackened catfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went for lunch in January, and it was crowded. Good prices and good grilled grouper. Large portion of slaw. Hushpuppies were a little greasy, but different than most recipes. Catfish a little too much blackened seasoning. Will go back for the prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Best food and value we found. Everything we had was excellent and tasty. Prices were 25% less than Boatyard but the food was just as good. Agree restroom needs updating. We will definitely go back. Well worth checking it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dman456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee's Hang Out also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dee's Hang Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing