We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Laketown Wharf Resort: Fun In the Sun! ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laketown Wharf Resort
brownskin1703
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Laketown Wharf Resort: Fun In the Sun! ;)”
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We traveled to Panama City Beach on August 26th for 4 days. Wow! is all I can say. This was our first time at the beach and even in Panama City Beach, Florida. We were directly across the street from Pineapple Willy's and enjoyed easy access to the beach. It was less than a minute's walk! We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo. We had 8 people and it was more than enough room for us and then some. We enjoyed the modern kitchen and breathtaking balcony in the living room area and the master bedroom. Each bedroom had a bathroom which was very convenient. No fighting over the bathroom! Yay!!! We were on the 10th floor which was not too high. There are 21 floors I believe. They have a gameroom also, but we were too busy in the pool to really check it out. I know I saw an air hockey table in there. We enjoyed the breathtaking scenery of the beach while hitting the waves and letting the waves toss us too and fro. We enjoyed the nightly watershow at Laketown Wharf with the different musical themes and the awesome colors displayed in the water. It was like being at a Las Vegas Bellagio show. Wal-Mart was conveniently located just a stone's throw away for those last minute forgotten items. We visited Pineapple Willy's for lunch. Very nice restauraunt. Also we brought back some T-shirts for souvenirs. We also went to SeaBreeze Winery and toured their facility. We taste-tested some Blueberry wine. Delicious! Next time we go, we plan to go to RockIt Lanes and do a little skating! Gulf World Marine Park is nice too. Very good value for the amount of shows they have. We especially loved the high diving act. Those divers are truly skilled. We especially loved Seth! He''s a hoot!!!!! We got a chance to go to Pier Park and eat at Five Guys hamburgers and fries. We were stuffed after we left. Their hamburgers are fantastic. We also visited the Beach congregation of Jehovah's Witnesses. They have a lovely Kingdom Hall and we look forward to visiting with them again. The hotel constantly had hotel security driving around which was very reassuring. All of the personnel were very nice and made our hotel stay enjoyable and one we will remember forever. Also they have 5 pools and our kids loved the kiddie pool with the turtle and splash slide. They are adding more shops. They have a gym on the 4th floor. They are adding more businesses such as restaraunts. They have internet on the lobby floor and free wi-fi- in the rooms. All in all, we loved the beach, food, scenery and our hotel was exceptional.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank prettybrownduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    155
    91
    56
    60
See reviews for
353
80
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

we arrived on a wednesday in september i guess it was a slower season but thats the way i liked it . we stayed in room 814 it was way more than i expected . it was a surprise for my wife and daughter and boy there was no disappointment for us at all. very clean . the staff was working on the upkeep of the property everyday. i seen reviews where people were being picky on a broke elevator button whoopdoo do. i will go back one day after all the renovating is complete . a ten in my book . dont be detoured by some of the other comments this place will surprise you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gator76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis,tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I along with my soon to be husband and two sons ages 9 & 14 stayed at lake town for our summer vacation and oldest son birthday. I must say we were not disappointed at all. We had a wonderful time, our room was beautiful as was the view. We got a great deal on the internet and the stay was well worth it. The only thing i was disappointed in was the elavators where hot and(which I knew up front) was that none of the the shops(except for the golf shop) or resturants were open for business but there were plenty around the immediate area so we didn't have to go far unless we wanted to.
We loved this place so much we didn't want to leave and actually looked into the price of the long term rentals and I loved this place so much I recommended it to my boss who came the week after I returned and she loved it just as much.
I suggest renting the scooters (the $10 an hour ones) and taking a ride and really getting to see panama city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenise25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Just returned on August 1st from Laketown Wharf at Panama City. This was a great place to stay. The rooms were very roomy and quite with a great view of the gulf. The staff was great and parking was very convenient. There were several pools at the resort but the best was on the private lake....it was like we had our own private pool! The nightly fountain show was beautiful. I would recommend this place to anyone and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sls1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redford, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

words cant express how satisfied i am with laketown wharf!! First off we arrived early at 9 am and check in at 3pm and they got a room prepared for us fast!!! The rooms are beautiful and the beach view is amazing eventhough u are not directly on the beach!!! We were on the 20th floor !! We had a 2 bed and 2 bath it was spacious and big!! It was my husband and i and 3 kids. I like how they set up the masterbed on one side and the kids rooms on the other. I can go on and on. The kiddie pool is amazing with the slide my kids went everyday we were there. U have restaurants , shopping, clubs, etc. around u. A great place for a vacation and laketown is new!!! A must see

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

After MUCH research on resorts in PCB, we decided on Laketown Wharf. We initially wanted a beachfront resort, but couldn't find one with availability so we stumbled across Laketown Wharf. We were pleasantly surprised! It was RIGHT across from the beach. We were at the beach within 3 minutes. The money we saved from being non -beach front, made it well worth a 3 minute walk.
We traveled with teens and a preteen and we all had a ball. It's close enough to attractions that you could walk to and there were plenty of options within driving distance. Can't think of anything negative to say about Laketown Wharf. THe condo room that we had was a 2BR with 2BA and a full kitchen with a view of the beach from the balcony and the view of the lake from the front door. THe room was very clean and well-decorated. THe staff was attentive and friendly and quick to answer any questions we had. THere were 5 pools so didn't have to worry about crowded pools. Oh, thought of a negative: no indoor pool and no lazy river. Most of the other resorts in the area offered those, but Laketown did not. It rained one day, so we couldn't swim. So, we shopped instead. Would've been nice to have had an indoor pool.
The traffic from the street was not a concern as the doors were well-insulated. Didn't hear a thing once the doors were closed. Sitting on the balcony at night, the car horns and people yelling were a little disturbing.
Other resorts we researched complained of the elevators taking too long. Didn't have that problem here. Most we had to wait for an elevator was 2 minutes during peak beach time. Non-peak times, it came right away. NOte: Laketown is still under construction and about half of the rooms were unoccupied, so not sure if the crowd will be an issue when it's at full capacity.
So, overall, it is a great condo in a great location. Oh, they have a nightly water/light show. It's cute, but seeing it once is sufficient. It's a nice added feature, but don't pick this place just because of it. Would definately go back. Only reason I didn't mark every area excellent was because I figured no place was perfect- but Laketown Wharf was close to it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychephd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

These are new condos, open less than a year. They are managed by Sterling Resorts (www.laketownwharf.com). We booked because of a special 50% discount off their regular summer rate; Our room averaged about $135 per night. We had room 711, 2br, 2ba +2 bunks (~1,200 sq ft). We were 2 adults with 5 kids ranging in age from 9 to 21.

As the property matures and the rest of the units are finished/filled, the boardwalk along the lake should become an active place. Presently, it’s just a sidewalk in front of unfinished retail space with shuttered kiosk’s.

Despite my mixed review, I would stay here again for three reasons – the location is great, the price is right and the accommodations are clean, new, and nice. The caveat’s are; be patient at the elevators (get a lower floor so you can walk down – see “know before you go” below) and report problems so management can address them.

The Good:
• It’s new – The room looked and smelled like we were the first to use it.
• Great location – It’s at the intersection of S. Thomas Drive and Front Beach Road, across from Pineapple Willies. It’s across the street from Wal-Mart. It’s one block from where Hutchison (AKA Middle Beach Rd) intersects Front Beach Rd so avoiding major traffic was easy.
• Not crowded – It looked like only about 25-40% occupied (<300 of the rooms were occupied (i.e. furnished.))
• Four Pools – A large, zero-edge wade-in main pool on the ground floor. A small “Island Pool” was relatively secluded with few bathers. The rooftop pool on the 10th floor of the parking deck (called the “adult pool”) was my favorite but the term “adult” is a misnomer and must mean anyone over 6yrs. The hot tub is on the 10th floor also. A kiddy pool with small slide and activities is on the 4th floor of the other parking garage.
• 10th floor pool – a highlight. It’s location atop the parking garage offers great views.
• The Fountain – 8:30 nightly. A 15 minute musically animated water show that us 40-50 something’s will enjoy.
• Activities for kids – The “Fun Patrol” had activities for kids at the main pool every day except Saturday and Wednesday.
• Fitness center was adequate with treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bikes, and a weight room overlooking the gulf.
• Washer and dryer in all rooms.
• Management was responsive when alerted to problems.

The Bad:
• Kitchen floor tile was cracked – two cracks ran from the counter into the room indicating an underlying structural problem (probably minor).
• Only half finished – Looking in the windows, the rooms are finished but half are not furnished. Also, the ground floor is all retail space but there are only two shops (one open – a golf shop, and another soon to open). Construction continues at different points on the ground floor but it’s not intrusive.
• Game room – Air hockey table and several games. Besides the air hockey table - only ½ of one game worked (a competitive driving game with only one side working.)

The Ugly:
• Elevators – or lack thereof. There aren’t enough and they were frequently broken. Seven elevators served all floors and over five days, I observed four of them not operating at some point either because of repair or they were under manual control by resort staff. They were very slow – on some cars, the doors closed and there was a 3-5 second delay before the car moved. On two occasions, elevators failed to respond to the call button – press the button, light comes on – 15 seconds later the light goes out but no elevator. At checkout, it took 35 minutes and visits to 2 banks of elevators before we were able to get on the elevator with the cart – they were overcrowded or not working – management allowed us two extra hours to check-out. Comments about frustration with elevators were common. It is also apparently longstanding because the down call-button on several faceplates had been abused to the point they were broken and pushed into the wall (had to stick your finder into a dark hole and track wires to find the button.)
• Security – Security was highly visible but ineffective. They came to our room to tell us to remove the towel from the balcony rail (I’m sure for aesthetic purposes), but the two back elevators were repeatedly vandalized while we were there (broken buttons and lights both inside and out; inside display was partially taped in place one day, hanging by wires the next, broken in pieces the next and completely gone the day we left.)
• Pools were relatively clean but the wading pool at the main pool had lots of floating leaves and crap every day. All pools had a “ring” where the tile at the water line was not being properly cleaned. This was especially apparent in the hot tub and in the middle of the main pool around the island (which would require the pool cleaner to get into the pool in order to clean it.)
• Inconsistent attention by property management – Arrived on Wednesday and the trashcan by the back elevator was overflowing. By Friday, it hadn’t been emptied and was piled higher and stinking. I reported it and it was quickly addressed. But by checkout Sunday, it was again full with the promise of reeking again by Monday.
• The Laketown Wharf development went bankrupt and is reported as bank-owned (blog.panamabeachrealty.com). This however should be transparent to vacationers. However, some units are being leased as apartments to locals (we talked to two locals leasing rooms on an annual basis.)

Know Before You Go:
• All rooms on floors 1-4 and room numbers between x28 – x38 have balconies that look inland over the lake. All other rooms have balconies overlooking the Gulf.
• Not directly on the beach – Laketown Wharf is across a local, 2-lane street from the beach. It is about 100 yards from the lobby to sand between your toes. Crossing S. Thomas Dr. was not hard but there was no designated crosswalk to the beach access boardwalk.
• Two gas grills are available at the east end near the Island Pool.

Helpful?
5 Thank CraigN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
819 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#36 of 48 in Panama City Beach
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,563 reviews
Long Beach Resort
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
329 reviews
Shores of Panama Resort
#59 of 83 in Panama City Beach
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laketown Wharf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laketown Wharf Resort

Property: Laketown Wharf Resort
Address: 9902 S Thomas Dr, Panama City Beach, FL 32408-1201
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laketown Wharf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laketown Wharf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laketown Wharf Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing