We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See”
Review of Shell Island

Shell Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Panama City Beach Adventure Catamaran Sail
More Info
$145.00*
and up
1.5 Hour Dolphin and Shell Island Jet Ski Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have to go to Shell Island at least once while at PCB. The shells are usually abundant, no crowd at this beach and serenity.
My favorite place to frequent while on vacation

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank coleman_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    333
    187
    77
    50
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daughter's worst experience on vacation!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were going to take the shuttle from the state park but once we started asking questions, decided against it.
Apparently there was so much muck in the water that you couldn't see anything at all. They said it was due to the amount of rain fall they had, which I understand is not their fault. However, they were still having shuttles go out there and not telling people how bad the water was.
About a week later, we decided to check the water with them and they said it was much better. We decided to go and were met with tons and tons of nasty flies. Those flies bit you whether you were underwater or not and it hurt! My 10 year old had a high speed come apart because they would not leave us alone.
When we got back from shell island on the shuttle, they had finally decided to stop running for the day because so many people had been complaining about the flies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for an afternoon or all day!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We used Shell Island tours on the Ashley Gorman & it was a great little tour that took you right up to a dock on the inlet side on the iland. They told you a good bit about the area on the way out and way in. Checked a crab and fish trap too.
We found some cool shells off to the right when we got to the beach up in the dunes, the water was super clear there and the sane was even whiter than by the hotels. you could walk probably 40 yards out to sea and it still be mid thigh.
Absolutely amazing. on the way back we saw dolphons out by St Andrews. Lunch was hotdogs and a drink. Great value for the price if you dont want to risk going alone for your first time out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJenniferToney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A vacation while on vacation”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Rent a boat - take a ferry - do something and get to Shell Island at least once!

Shell Island is just a stones throw from St. Andrews Park however it is miles from everywhere! If you take the shuttle across you will off load on the tip of Shell Island. There is very good snorkeling around the rocks and you will see MANY different types of fish and sea life.
To really experience the island you will need a boat. Travel down to the flats areas, be aware of the shallow water and grass areas, and anchor out or beach the boat on the island. You can find sand dollars and crabs all day long. I never found a sand dollar but my kids found so many it was crazy.
We released our catch and ventured to the gulf side of the island. Looking both East and West all we saw was the whitest sand and warm clear gulf water. There was no one on the beach near our location and it was great. There is just something about being on the beach and not seeing chairs, tents, crowds of people or hearing the airplanes, jet skis, or your in-laws complaining about the heat.

It's just you, the sand, and the water...relaxing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chop22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Island of Paradise”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I can see why the locals every weekend try to get in a boat and go to shell island, a mere football field across from the really cool state park where deer are just running wild and has its own gorgeous beaches by traveling a mere 100 yards across the pass by boat taxi or personal. It is 7 miles long and is gorgeous!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zbusf122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Island also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shell Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing