We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely trash experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Motel
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Zurich / Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely trash experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I loved this place. But it clearly is not a not a luxury hotel or anything like it. Its best days are over and everything is worn out. The location is still excellent and we had a great day there. Staff was very friendly and everything is close by (by American standards), very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am glad that you love our place and you had a great stay. The building is older, however we continue with renovations every off season to increase the quality of our facility. I hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    98
    57
    37
    62
See reviews for
176
111
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Fort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Chateau over Thanksgiving and loved it!! We traveled with our small dog so we needed a pet friendly place and that's why we booked a room at the Chateau. Next year it will be because we enjoyed it so much! We were on the 2nd floor and the room was very clean, beds were comfortable and loved having a place to walk the dog right outside the door. Near the pool and just a few steps from the beach...it was perfect for us! The staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband was a little disappointed about not getting to see the game on the big screen on the deck Saturday, but...not a huge problem. We are now among "Those who know..." and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are so glad that you spent your Thanksgiving with us and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chateau. We apologize that you did not get to watch the games on the big screen. We shortened our staff so that they could spend the Holiday with their families.

We have a very limited number of pet rooms and they are all located on the tanning deck so that there is a place to walk the pets. We just started this a little over a year ago and it has been very well received. Many people travel with their pets and they are like their children so our pet friendly rooms are there for pet lovers! We look forward to many future visits from you and your family. now that you are one that knows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Didn't book a reservation this time since I know on November there is no need, I wanted to stay this time on Front Beach and found a nice place. This is the nicest of the Motels I have stayed in Panama City Beach, FL. No complains what so ever. I will book in advance for December and for the fishing season.

Room Tip: Book in advance, the rooms with kitchen are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimimua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share details on your recent stay in Panama City Beach at the Chateau. We are so glad that you found us and look forward to many future visits. Remember when you are here that if you need anything our staff will do the best they can do accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
295 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to overnight at Panama City Beach on our way to New Orleans a little uncertain as to what to expect. Given the great rates at The Chateau we decided to take to best room options available.

We were in for a treat. Sure The Chateau isn't the newest property on the strip but we had the most amazing room on the top floor with direct beach and ocean views. The apartments comes with all the basic needs within the kitchen to prepare a meal and we sat and watched the sun go down over the Gulf of Mexico enjoying drips and nibbles followed by a home cooked meal on our ocean front balcony.

The Chateau was excellent value for money and it was complimented with friendly courteous staff who went out of their way to greet you and make you feel welcome. Our only complaint - we didn't have more time to spend here and enjoy Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for the ocean view rooms and taking the plunge to pay a little more and going for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Chateau with us and others. We appreciate the compliments on our staff and our location does not get much better! We hope that you return soon to Panama City Beach and we will be here waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just when we thought it couldn't get any better....they surprised us again!!! It just gets better and better! There cannot be any hotel, any where, with a better staff!!! They are unbelievably helpful with anything you need! Our room was clean and comfortable! Hopefully our Beach Bum Reunion will always be at the Chateau! Couldn't ask for more!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We continue to strive to make our guests experience a memorable one. We look forward to the reunions each year and now we can enjoy them twice! We hope that we have many more years to come and will do everything possible to make it comfortable and fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I selected this Motel, because I was looking for a place right on the Beach and for a single night I thought the rate is ok. Deluxe Beachview @ $74.- + Tx.
If you get there and see it from the road it's less of a Chateau (Castel), it's more a fortress!
The room itself, apart from the entrance door, which is very hard to open and close and the entry with its open sink area and the open wardrobe/closet space and opposite the newly renovated bathroom. The room is fine with everything you need, including large fridge, ( but you need to pay for ice at the machine or buy a bag at reception) flat screen TV but picture not always clear and sharp ( fridge uses the same power socket), but there is the balcony where you can enjoy a nice sundowner and check out the pool. And the beach is right at your footstep with the perfect powder white sand.

Room Tip: Take a Deluxe, it's on the top floor (4th floor from the beach level or 2nd floor from street l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chateau with us and others. We take our guest feedback very seriously and do our best to correct any issues that they bring to our attention. The hotel was built in 1964 long before technology of today so the electrical issues are something we have to deal with the best that we can. However, the ice machines take quarters or tokens. Tokens are available at the front desk free of charge. This is done so that our guests will have ice for their rooms, otherwise everyone will be filling coolers and the ice machine will not be able to keep up with demand.

We do sit directly on the beach and have excellent views and beautiful sunsets to watch. Again, thank you for taking the time to share with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this hotel by accident a few years ago and we return every year now. I see a few negative reviews, but I think these people must be A.R. or expect more than they pay for, after all you get what you pay for. We are a 50-60 year old couple with grown children, so we come alone, but would also consider bringing our 6 y/o grandchild with us. She would love the pool and that part of the beach is just beautiful. We come after the crowds clear out and the kids go back to school. It is a relaxing place for older people with no small children. At the time that we go the "snow birds" (no disrespect) are starting to arrive and it is mostly older people. We meet a lot of interesting people from all over the country. We normally get a suite, although we have stayed in a regular kitchenette and a plain room one night while they got our suite ready. I cannot complain about any of the rooms. Yes, the suite offers more room and more storage, thats why we choose that room, but we've never had a bad room there. They are doing some re-modeling, so it will get better over time. Just ask for a recently remodeled room. The staff has always been friendly. We have never had a problem from the front desk to housekeeping to maintenance. If you will just talk to them, they can give you a lot of good tips on local restaurants (not the tourist traps), shopping and where to get the best prices. I saw another review about "Take back the beach" and I have to agree with that. The bands were "head banging". Maybe they should have that in the spring before spring break because at the time there were a lot of older people who just left and went to their rooms and stilll couldn't get away from the music because it was so loud. I agree with that person. If it had been a mix of music. It would have been better. I know it's hard to satisfy everyone, but the music they played while testing the sound equipment was way better than the bands. You have to think about who your clientel is this time of year. This is my only complaint and I realize it was for locals. That's why I said spring might be better. We had our first and only issue this trip and one call to the front desk it was taken care of immediately. Awesome service. I can't remember everyone's names, but Star, Sarge, Big Mike, Nick, Cassandra, the male houskeeper from Jamaca were all awesome and another house keeper (and I hate to specify race) but because I don't know her name I will say that she was a small, short black girl with pretty, curley hair. She was a big help one day and I looked for her the rest of the day to give her a tip and didn't see her again. I would have tipped at the time but left my purse in the room and didn't have any cash in my pocket. We always go toward the end of September or first of October. My only suggestion would be to have a party for older people during that time. Like some old rock or southern rock/mild country. Maybe that isn't what your staffers would choose depending on their age, but you have to realize that you do have that age group in the fall. Love the football on the big screen out on the deck. We loved the Karokee last year by the pool. Keep up the good work Chateau, but do remember us older folk. We have more discretionary income.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Chateau with us and others. We appreciate your repeat business and hope for many return trips in the years to come. It was unfortunate that you were here during the "retake the beach" event. We did our best to inform all guests that booked directly with us about the event and activities that would be going on to allow them the opportunity to book another time.

Thank you for all your kind comments about our staff and it is nice to know that someone takes advantage of the knowledge of the local area they have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Seahaven Beach Hotel
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#28 of 48 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#15 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bikini Beach Resort Motel
Bikini Beach Resort Motel
#23 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Tower By The Sea
Beach Tower By The Sea
#19 of 48 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Motel

Property: Chateau Motel
Address: 12525 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Panama City Beachfront motel sits on a 500 foot stretch of sparkling, emerald green Gulf shoreline. Relax beside our lagoon-style, gulf side pool. Take a leisurely stroll at sunset. Grab lunch or a daiquiri at Treble Hooks, our pool-side Bar & Grill. Whatever you desire, the Chateau Motel is conveniently located close to the best Panama City Beach attractions and offers guests 150 ocean-view rooms with 5 floor plans to choose from. Located in the heart of the Miracle Strip, there is no better place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Motel Panama City Beach
Chateau Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing