We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck at tidewater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Beach Resort
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck at tidewater”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I was concerned from reading some of the negative reviews and went in expecting some issues. But when we arrived, group of ~18, check in was a breeze, plenty of luggage carts, elevator was extremely slow maybe twice that weekend. Great location and I booked through resortquest. I would def. stay at tidewater again or venture out to other condos as well as through resortquest. Their customer service is always awesome when I call and I enjoyed the passport to fun passes. not the best sleeper sofa and sometimes my key did not work so make sure you ask for atleast 2 keys

Room Tip: look online and request for the room you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrspickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    156
    108
    75
    77
See reviews for
364
99
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, KY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at VRBO #360638 - Tidewater Resort unit 300 – 3rd floor overlooking the pool and beach - the week of July 10, 2011. The condo is immaculately clean, and very well decorated. It’s at the end of a long hallway, which provided us with privacy from the noise that was coming from other vacationers in the hallways and elevators. The view from the balcony was wonderful – right out to the beach! Below us was the pool, which is beautiful but a bit noisy during the day and into the early night hours.
The beach does offer beach chairs, but they rent for $33 per person per day. This was not included with our condo stay. I would recommend the owner purchase a seasonal pass for the chairs to give his/her guests the added amenity of having chairs on the beach and not having to bring their chairs – and the sand on their chairs – into the condo.
We had to purchase a few things for the condo – additional hangers and washcloths being the main things. We didn’t have a robe hook in the bathrooms, but found that we could hang our dripping suits over the shower head. The kitchen if furnished perfectly – even with the same kitchen stove and fridge I have at home! But other than cooking a pizza – we didn’t use it much.
We really liked that you don’t have to have a key or key card for the door – just a simple combination that you can memorize. We didn’t have to worry about having enough keys, or who had the key.

Parking was included in our rental, and the parking garage has a walk-over on tne 2nd floor. We liked that since the road is very busy, and we'd not care to try to cross in traffic!

Tidewater is a beautiful resort – only a few years old - on Lullwater Beach, which is very close to Pier Park. We walked to the pier a couple of days. The beach the week we were here was FULL of sea weed. We heard one local say they called it “June grass” and it was always here between the last two weeks of June and the first two weeks of July. It really stunk – like dead fish. I’d recommend coming at another time to avoid this stuff. We couldn’t stand to lay on the beach for the smell. No one was getting in the water – it looked like country pond scum!

Room Tip: Rent from VRBO.com where you can rent directly from an owner. I've done it many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank limeadelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Even though my room was very nice, I will never stay at Tidewater again. The elevator wait was terrible and when you did get one they smelled like a guy locker. i didn't see one person cleaning the commons areas. I realize that the week before July 4th is very busy, at least this was the reason that I was given why the elevators were so slow, but I've stayed in large complexes before the same week and never have I had to wait for an elevator for 30 minutes every time I would go to the beach. Then the 500 plus chairs in front of the condo is ridiculous. Half the chairs were not being used, due to them being on top of one another, so all the beach area in front of the condo was taken up. And the free wireless Internet, we'll you get what you pay for. A dial up modem is faster. Pitiful for such a nice facility to be degraded by the lack of design and functionality of the space.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nascardan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panama City Beach hotels

St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Was here over the fourth and it was packed. Elevator and cart wait time was insane. The facility and condo is very nice, clean and well stocked. Great supply of dishes, blender, toaster etc. It is newer therefore still very nice. Was in a 2 br, with bunk bed room. Walking distance to the pier, restaurants and shopping. The view from the 23rd floor was nice of the water.

Negatives... you can't put your own umbrella up in front of the condo umbrellas. 40 bucks a day to rent an umbrella is nuts. However PCB is overpriced in general. Wait time for the elevator to get up and down was very frustrating-some waiting an hour for an elevator on arrival. Nothing in the room to explain how to access the internet, had to call.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank timcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Second time staying at the tidewater. Havent had any problems here. My wife and i have stayed at origins, calypso, and here and the tidewater gets you on the water unlike at
origins and the same amentites as calypso for a lower price. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvermoonglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We went to PCB for a baseball tournament at Frank Brown Park. Tidewater was a great location, very close to the park but still right on the beach. We spent six nights in Unit 2605. The condo was HUGE and very well kept. We were on the 26th floor, so our view was spectacular and we were high enough that we weren't bothered by any street noise or partying on the lower levels. There was a little coffee/snack shop on the main level where you could purchase some lunch/breakfast items, ice cream and drinks, so that was nice when we were down on the beach and wanted something close and simple. The parking deck was convenient and there were always spaces, although the second level (where the walk across bridge was) was typically full in the evenings. We were able to get extra parking passes for some of our teammates to come over and play on the beach with us, so that was a nice feature.

Now, the downside. Apparently, every June there is a giant algae bloom that hits the panhandle. The water was like swimming in chunky pea soup. We would come in at the end of the day and take off our suits to find our skin COVERED with algae. It had the texture of damp astro-turf. It peeled off very easily and didn't clog the shower drains fortunately; but it was pretty gross. The bloom was only about the first 30 ft from the shoreline, so if you went out deeper, you could get clean water; but you had to come back through it on your way in. We had read reviews about the beach chair situation being a pain; and also the elevators being always full. We elected not to rent beach chairs; but instead we set up our canopy in the "public" area on the perimeter of the rental portion of the beach. It was absolutely fine, not very far to walk (I think the complainers must be in TERRIBLE shape and not like to walk at all!) and we avoided the early morning lines to rent the chairs (the lines did start forming around 7:30am...seemed a little bit crazy to me). I don't think the chairs would've been very comfortable anyway, they're all right on top of each other and the rows between them are very narrow, so you'd feel like a sardine in a can. Regarding the elevators, they were kind of a pain. There are only six for the entire complex and if you're on one of the middle levels, they'll ALWAYS be full when they arrive at your floor, whether you want to go up or down. We were fortunate being near the top because whenever we were headed down, we had an empty elevator. We learned during the course of the week that we needed to plan 15 extra minutes to navigate the elevators. Sometimes it took that long; and other times it was a breeze....very unpredictable. One morning, we were headed to a baseball game and our elevator stopped ELEVEN times on the way down, it was a nightmare! They were also not air-conditioned, so they did get a little uncomfortable when they were crowded and stopping a lot; but when you're at the beach, you're hot and sweaty most of the time, so you just have to roll with it.

Overall, I would highly recommend this complex, and this unit in particular. I understand that some of the units aren't as well kept; but this one was pristine and very comfortable for our family. The complex is in a great location, closer to the west end of the strip, so you don't have as much of the activity as those who are staying down near Pier Park and farther east. We were close to everything; but we got to get away from it at night which was nice.

Room Tip: Upper or Lower Floors are most desireable for best elevator situation. VRBO has lots of Tidewater u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nealfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The developers of this property overdeveloped the amount of beach that was available to them. This property is far too beg for the size of beachfront available. It is a monstrosity - 30 floors high. The beach chairs are four rows deep on the beach. The property is too large for the number of elevators and parking spaces as well.
We stayed here despite the reviews and we will not be back. This place is too big! The only light at the end of the tunnel would be if people read the reviews and stopped staying there so it would not be crowded for the others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank putmeinaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#7 of 83 in Panama City Beach
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Breeze
Sterling Breeze
#46 of 83 in Panama City Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunrise Beach Resort
Sunrise Beach Resort
#10 of 83 in Panama City Beach
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Emerald Isle Resort and Condominiums
Emerald Isle Resort and Condomin...
#2 of 83 in Panama City Beach
277 reviews
5.1 mi away
Majestic Beach Towers
Majestic Beach Towers
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Beach Resort

Property: Tidewater Beach Resort
Address: 16819 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tidewater Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tidewater Beach Resort is a first class resort condominium featuring an impressive array of amenities for owners' and guests' enjoyment. Two huge lagoon pools with hot tubs, a 4,300 sq. ft fitness center with roman spas, saunas and steam rooms, a 5,000 sq. ft. conference center, a movie/media center, indoor pool, seven elevators and much, much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidewater Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Beach Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing