We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Bill goes to Sonny's Real Pit BBQ”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Unfortunately my review will not be good. I had the bottomless salad bar and added pulled pork. It sure tasted good but I couldn't even get back to our condo I had to make an emergency stop at Publicx. Something sure didn't agree with me. The price was good but the results weren't.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Willard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Willard R, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your recent visit with us didn't sit well with you. Please send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with any details you would like to share about your dine in experience, including the location, if we can help in any way. We would greatly appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Sonny's BBQ
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

I know BBQ and this is good BBQ. Daily specials cost about 6.99. You can't get a crappy meal at MC Ds for less than this.

I highly recommend this chain when you crave BBQ and don't want to spend your entire SS check in one sitting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RedCardRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

RedCardRick, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ and take advantage of our daily specials. We appreciate your support and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have eaten at the one in Zephyrhills twice and the service was alright but the last time the Waitress we had wasn't so nice. The food was good chicken was a little dry, the ribs were good and the cornbread is mouth watering. Besides that it was a great experience with my friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OsuGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

OsuGirl77, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your ribs and cornbread but we would like to hear more about your chicken and experience with our waitress. Please send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your visit, including the location, so that we can address the issues that you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

8 of us went here. We really didn't care for the mac n cheese. The wet rub ribs were enjoyable, but the dry rub ribs were too dry. All you can eat ribs for $15 can't be beat though. Didn't care for the chicken salad, but the salad bar was better than most, but maybe slightly overpriced at $7.50 for just the salad bar. I would definitely go back!!

Thank endthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Endthought, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you and your party enjoyed the all you can eat rib special. We appreciate your support and look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Some of the best beef brisket I have ever had!! The service was awesome and the staff was real friendly. Will definitely be back,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing