We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great service”
Review of J Michael’s

J Michael’s
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I went here for lunch, and we were very happy with the experience. The food was fresh, served quickly, and the beer was cold. Who could ask for more? The decor is pretty eclectic, in that the walls are papered with dollar bills, and there are about 300 shotguns hanging from the ceiling. All in all, we enjoyed ourselves, and we highly recommend J. Michaels.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misterblutarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

948 - 952 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was in town for the night on business and take pride in doing my research on where to eat + had a recommendation from a co-worker with family in the area. Service simply stunk- no attention for >10 mins and waitress stated "Do you just want to order your drinks and food?" Appetizer wasn't bad. Found the menu to be very limited with no fish other than Grouper...disappointed. Order the garlic shrimp based off of a review that I had read. The shrimp was very overcooked and rubbery. Forced myself to kill off 3 of them, but I was done. Potatoes were average, but the slaw was pretty good. Special for the night was spaghetti...really...spaghetti?? Waitress actually noticed the lack of shrimp eaten and comped the entree', which got her an extra buck despite the poor service. Would never recommend this joint. Poor all around..very disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I used to think if someone wrote a review on a place more than once they must know someone there or be part of it. This is not the case, we spend our winters in Panama City Beach from far away Nova Scotia and this establishment deserves the honor of a high rating again.

Our group (14) visited J. Michaels for a birthday get-together on this date. The staff worked very hard and very quickly to arrange tables, etc. to accommodate our unannounced visit.

Kelly was our waitress for this visit and also had served some of us on a prior visit. All of us agreed she worked very hard and efficiently looking after our wide variety of requests. She and all of the staff make J. Michaels a nice place to eat and spend some time.

Patrons will surely find something here that is to their liking. We like the fish basket and the shrimp basket, while others in our group had everything from steak to chili. Everyone in the group also made mention of how good the cold slaw was.

Each of us agreed the quality of the food was excellent, and the quantity was more than expected. There is little doubt you get your money's worth and more.

J.Michaels is in a good location, easy to find with lots of ample parking.

We always visit here several times during our stay in Panama City Beach each year and feel everyone should do so at least once. If you do, you'll be back.

J. Michaels 28 Feb.2013 Kelly B

I used to think if someone wrote a review on a place more than once they must know someone there or be part of it. This is not the case, we spend our winters in Panama City Beach from far away Nova Scotia and this establishment deserves the honor of a high rating again.

Our group (14) visited J. Michaels for a birthday get-together on this date. The staff worked very hard and very quickly to arrange tables, etc. to accommodate our unannounced visit.

Kelly was our waitress for this visit and also had served some of us on a prior visit. All of us agreed she worked very hard and efficiently looking after our wide variety of requests. She and all of the staff make J. Michaels a nice place to eat and spend some time.

Patrons will surely find something here that is to their liking. We like the fish basket and the shrimp basket, while others in our group had everything from steak to chili. Everyone in the group also made mention of how good the cold slaw was.

Each of us agreed the quality of the food was excellent, and the quantity was more than expected. There is little doubt you get your money's worth and more.

J.Michaels is in a good location, easy to find with lots of ample parking.

We always visit here several times during our stay in Panama City Beach each year and feel everyone should do so at least once. If you do, you'll be back.
(¯`·._.·ns¢ävË·._.·´¯)

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nscave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

7 of us enjoyed red beans and rice and J. Michael's shrimp. The oysters on the half-shell were nice and salty and fresh. The horseradish was very crisp and tasty. Loved it.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had lunch on Sunday and noticed several locals just from church, always good sign. We were not disappointed. I had the grilled grouper sandwich, which was excellent. Great place, don't pass it up.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank szvacek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Michael’s also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to J Michael’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing