We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouper throats”
Review of Captain’s Table

Captain’s Table
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grouper throats”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great raw oysters and the fried dishes will not disappoint. Get the Grouper throats! Very, very good and sort of a house specialty. Expect it to be crowded since Captain's Table is rather small. There is definitely a "local" crowd here which speaks well of a small downtown restaurant. Service was good and the prices fair for absolutely fresh (non frozen) seafood.
A little out of the way from the beaches but worth the drive and it's easy to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    87
    36
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I originally wanted to go to Hunts but they were out of oysters and their was 6 of us and they automatically charged a 18% tip to parties of 6 or more so we went next door. Food was excellent. Most of us got the catfish and it was delicious. They had the best hushpuppies I have ever had. It was personally the best seafood I had all week. Would def go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whit1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city, florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average seafood restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Old fashioned coffee shop style decor and fried seafood. That is what first came to mind as we entered the restaurant for my first visit. My first impression was correct! The menu does offer a variety and preparation choices too! The pricing felt higher than expected, and the food along with the presentation was just average. Service was average to good. Beer and Wine, fresh oysters, and a variety of offerings is about all I can add. No deck, No view, No entertainment, average preparation, very bland decor, rather loud and noisy dinning area, Nothing to entice me to return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pitstop53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“looking for old fish house comfort”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

has a very fish house atmosphere, busy but get you in and out, offer fresh fish caught by their own boats. have raw and cooked oysters,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe how much I enjoyed my meal. The food was excellent! It is a little off the beaten path, but well worth the drive. Everyone in my party left with empty plates. The staff was friendly and met all of our needs in a timely manner. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mj4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain’s Table also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Captain’s Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing