We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time”
Review of Hammerhead Fred's

Hammerhead Fred's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My first time”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It will probably be my last, dang it was too high priced just for a hamburger. It was just somewhere that the kids wanted to go because of the name.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    213
    155
    73
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressed; would go back”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Seating was prompt for how busy they were. Didn't wait long at all for a table. I will say the check in process was a little confusing, they shuffle you back and forth between two hostess stations, but I guess it works for them. Our server was great, we were on the patio and it was crowded but she was on top of things the whole visit. Quality and quantity of the app and entrees were all great, with the exception of one of the combos. It was a pick two (shrimp and scallops) with a side. What I got did not live up to what the dish cost. A few tiny shrimp and some measly scallops on top of a giant bed of mushy vegetables. There were more veggies and side item than actual seafood. That's the only complaint I have. Overall we enjoyed our visit and would go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaPrince217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“below average”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Staff was not friendly. No smiles from anyone and the server acted as if we were an inconvenience. The food was ok. I ordered the stuffed shrimp and sent it back because it was not stuffed. It was wrapped in uncooked bacon and looked horrible. Drinks were out after the appetizer. Who knew water could take so long to get. Refills were few and far between and one drink that was refilled was taken and never returned. No atmosphere....what happened to the music and lively entertainment. I spent around $100 on a disappointment. I also agree with the previous comment....where is Fred?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly6672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slim selection of seafood, but cooked well”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice place to hang out with friends, nice nautical decor. Seasonal employees, but they do give friendly service that is timely. Food is grilled or fried, and was probably previously frozen. All the standard drinks, alcoholic or otherwise, nothing creative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BevCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good seafood”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice place. The food was good and cooked to perfection. A bit pricy but worth it. You get to listen to live music while you eat. This time of year it tends to bet busy toward night fall so go early and enjoy your meal and music without a long wait

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammerhead Fred's also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hammerhead Fred's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing