We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Back Porch

The Back Porch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Back Porch Seafood and Oyster House has been serving Gulf seafood, raw oysters and ice cold beer since 1974. We were the first to serve chargrilled Amberjack along the Gulf Coast. Stop by The Back Porch for a great meal, fantastic Gulf views and an unpretentious atmosphere that will take you back in time. We hope to see you soon!
Decatur, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was ok...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This was an OK night. The food was OK. The view from outside was nice. The rest was OK. That is all...

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    306
    182
    75
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Go there for happy hour 2p-5p, appetizers are on special and try the dynamite shrimp (I think that what it is called) fantastic during happy hour and its $4 cheaper! Happy hour is wide spread at pier park and is reasonable time to eat at these restaurants!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank KelliL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
423 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good spot. Average seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I used to love coming here but has gone down a little in the last few years. It's in Pier Park and you can eat upstairs outside which is great. Food is usually good with fair service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GLENN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great manager, Greg!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Love this place! The food is great, service is great and the manager Greg is awesome! Very friendly! Stopped by our table several times to make sure our food was ok and filled up our drinks. We will be back to eat very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JessMurphy5882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I went during "Happy Hour". The hostess was very pleasant and our waitress was so knowledgeable about the food. The Firecracker shrimp is excellent, the corn chowder was soooo good and I can't forget about the crab cakes they are very large portion enough for two people. Definitely put this restaurant on your list when you visit PCB.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseeker1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to The Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing