We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing even with low expectations”

Margaritaville Panama City Beach
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Best of the Bay First Place winner for best lunch, dinner and live music venue! Designed like the great old beach hang outs that once populated the Gulf Coast, Margaritaville Panama City, is located in Pier Park, the only entertainment and shopping complex on the beach. With upper and lower decks overlooking the Gulf it's the perfect blend of ocean breezes, great food, generous drinks and Beach Party Music. The island-inspired menu offers something for everyone with classic American and Gulf Coast favorites.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing even with low expectations”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Honestly, I wasn't expecting fine dining when I sat down at Margaritaville at Pier Park Mall in Panama City Beach but even my simple expectations were not met. Fajitas arrived with badly overcooked strips of meat and tortillas had hard curled corners like you get when you store them with the package opened in the refrigerator. A second try at tortillas had the same result. The waiter was clearly not trained how to deal with unhappy customers since he was unable to manage even "I'm sorry" but was able to find the manager. He comp'd part of the meal but didn't have the good sense to offer a substitute or dessert as you might expect from a restaurant that cared about how its customers felt about their experience. To top off the experience, one of the waiters managed to spill a drink on my wife as we were getting up to leave the restaurant. There are lots of other restaurants at Pier Park. Try them all before you try Margaritaville.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Panama City Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Atlrich - We are very sorry we did not meet any of your expectations during your visit. We want our guests to expect the best from us, so the details of your experience will be addressed with the team. From start to finish the items you describe here do not meet our high standards and we sincerely apologize.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    595
    491
    212
    156
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Found the lost shaker of Salt!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Luncheon with Santa and Mrs. Claus is a wonderful tradition and fun time for the kids. Staff is friendly and helpful. Food is great, and the photo opportunities are fun for all to remember the occassion.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elyzabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Panama City Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Elyzabeth A - Thank you for joining us for lunch with Mr. and Mrs. Claus! Lunch with Santa is one of our favorite annual events, so it's wonderful to hear how much you enjoy it too. We hope to see you again next Christmas!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Overpriced So So Food.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

James our server was an average server. He took our drink order, came back shortly with our drinks. James suggested Conch fritters to start with,we said OK. Then he took our meal order, after a long wait he and another server came with our food. My wife asked about the Conch fritters, James had the Deer in the headlights look, He said I can go and get some, We said NO not now. Food was below the quality we were expecting Fish was frozen fish sticks. Margarita $7.50 ,Draft Beer $ 5.00, Tea $ 3.50. Cuban Sandwich $11.50, Fish & Chips $16.99,Chicken Quesadilla $11.99.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Panama City Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
TonyGA - We apologize for the events you describe here. You should expect the best from us and we are sorry for not fully exceeding all of your expectations. Your feedback will be taken very seriously by the team.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

When we were in Panama City Beach, we went to this restaurant, and we had a great time!. My grandson had a wonderful time with the girls on stilts who did balloons for the kids. We spent a few hours there. I loved their Pina Colda daiquiri, best one I had all vacation, and my daughter enjoyed her Strawberry daiguiri.

A fun time had by all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meizerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Panama City Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Meizerman - Thank you for spending some time with us! We are happy you and your daughter enjoyed our boat drinks and the whole family had a fun time. Please come back and see us the next time you're in the area.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oops broke my own rule”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I really prefer to stay away from chain restaurants on vacation but hubby and I were looking for a quick salad or burger and we were right there so we stopped. My taco salad was fine, not bad, not great. Very greasy. Service was also average, considering we were one of very few tables I would have expected more attentiveness. Prices were very high. We spent more on two drinks and one salad there than we did on a huge meal and four drinks earlier in the trip at a locally owned establishment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catchersmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Panama City Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
catchersmom99 - We are very sorry this is the experience you had with us. We always want to deliver a fun and valuable meal to our guests. You should expect the best from us, so your feedback will be addressed with the team.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville Panama City Beach also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Margaritaville Panama City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing