We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature, but only a few minutes from the fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Andrews State Park
Certificate of Excellence
ATL, GA
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Back to nature, but only a few minutes from the fun!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My family just returned from a trip to Panama City Beach, where we spent three nights camping at St. Andrew's State Park. The park is conveniently located only a few minutes from all the fun in PCB, but there is plenty of fun to be had right at the park.

Our campsite was extremely small, but suited our needs, as we were tent camping. Our site was right on the water, so we had a multitude of wildlife visit us daily, including hermit crabs, turtles, birds, snakes and jumping fish right off the shore. Our site included water and electricity, which was very convenient.

The bathrooms in the park were the nicest we have ever encountered; very clean with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. My only complaint would be the time the staff cleaned the restrooms, they were usually closed for about an hour first thing in the morning. But having such clean facilities made it worth while.

Our bathhouse also contained laundry facilities, so bring plenty of quarters if you're going to be staying a while. There are only two washers and dryers, so you may have to wait a while,, but I had the opportunity to talk with some great people while waiting so it was well worth it!

The park has two beach areas, one in a lagoon area that is perfect for people with small children. The waves are minimal due to the protection of the lagoon by a rock jetty. The open beach is absolutely beautiful. The crowds were minimal when we were there. There is also a wonderful pier on this beach for those who like to fish.

Be advised, this campground does allow dogs, so inconsiderate animal owners do occasionally leave behind doggie messes that they do not clean up. This would be the only true complaint that I would have.

I would not hesitate to recommend this park to anyone who camps on vacation! We've spent quite a bit of time camping over the years and have a lot to compare this locale to, and I would have to put this in our top three camping destinations!

Room Tip: Size of campsites varies greatly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CSmithATLGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, LA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I've been to St Andrew's most recently with friends for getaway vacation.

The campground is nice, we can always fit at least three tents in each site with plenty of room for a nice campfire. If you're like us and forget firewood, there's some for sale in the campsite.

We arrived in the middle of Spring Break and we were worried about all the drunk partiers we saw on the main drag of town, but the campground was an oasis from the craziness!

The beaches were calm, clean, and wonderful. The bathrooms are in great condition. Security made a few rounds to make sure all was well. Dogs are allowed in the park, but not on the beach, so be sure to consider that when bringing a pet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GenieMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We try to go as a family and stay at St. Andrews at least once a year. It is secluded and quiet but not far from all of the great attraactions in Panama City Beach. All of us always have a fantastic time and plan the next trip before we leave for home. The camping area is nice. Each spot that we have stayed in has always been sort of secluded from the next spot. The bathhouses are always clean. We enjoy the great variety of restaurants to choose from. The sunrises and sunsets are specatular along the beach.

Helpful?
3 Thank 6Clarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Park entrance is $5.
Good place to go if there is June grass on the coast.
Kiddie pool area is great for snorkeling.
Take your goggles, pail, kid fish net, and a big umbrella.
Beach rental chairs are available with unbrellas, but they are sold out early.
Don't go on weekends if you can avoid it. The crowds are huge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed in the park about 2 years ago and are planning on staying again this October. Can not wait. It was one of the best vacations we have been on in quiet a few years. We stayed on the water, which we loved. It's so relaxing to get up in the morning and have your coffee while looking out over the water. The campground was very clean and the bathrooms also. The personnal were very nice and helpful. See you in October.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

The sites at St Andrews are VERY LARGE- I went for my first trip there last September. I had a water site and it was right on the lagoon-water birds were walking right in front of my campsite early int he morning looking for food in the water. It was VERY windy though. My camper was often shaking because my site was so open and the windy was so strong. You could see lots of boats , such as the Pirate Ship, coming and going in the lagoon from the site. Some of the bathouses were air conditioned but others are not. I was told to do my laundry in the mornings because everyone does laundry in the evening afte a day at the beach. It was very flat there and GREAT for bike riding. The campground has a small but adequate playground. It is also close to restaurants and grocery stores. In September the campground store doens't carrry many groceries or supplies and closes early. It is too far to walk to the beach area, so you need to take your car. They have pontoon and kayak rentals right next to the campground ,so this is convenient. The sites that are not on the water are very close together-almost on top or each other with not alot ot privacy. I have booked to go back again this summer and in the fall too. You need to book almost a year in advance to get a site. Everyone was very friendly and helpful-including other campers. It is hard to level a trailer on some sites because of the uneven sand-no pads on many of the sites. There are several fishing piers with "supply stores" that were open. Super Wal-Mart is also not too far away, as well as a Publix, where you can get whatever you need. I really enjoyed myself and I am looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank let'sparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

This is a great location for the beach and restaurants. We stayed one night in a 36 ft. Class A. As for the campground, many have no concrete pads so there is a lot of sand!! Although we requested a site to fit our RV, we had to eventually drive the wrong way down a one way street and pull in face first to finally make it work. The bugs will eat you up! My power monitor would not work due to a low voltage reading. Power supplies need upgrading. The only good sites are along the bay. St. Andrews Campground desperately needs an upgrade! The trade off are the great amenities of the state park!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcouch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panama City
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
Sheraton Bay Point Resort
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
380 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#3 of 31 in Panama City
245 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#13 of 48 in Panama City Beach
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay P...
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
349 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews State Park

Property: St. Andrews State Park
Address: 4607 State Park Ln, Panama City, FL 32408-7347
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
St. Andrews State Park Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing