We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent hotel, decent price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Panama City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Panama City
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed the night after our business had their Christmas party here. I found the staff attentive and polite, if not a bit "untrained". As an example, I asked if/where an ATM was. They told me "Around the corner, by the elevators". It was there, but it was out of service. I told the desk clerks, and they said "There's nothing we can do". Of course, the correct answer is "We'll notify our manager, who will notify the people who fix ATMs". Because - as I pointed out to the clerks - if I can't get money out of the machine, I may not spend money in the hotel bar, restaurant, tip the maids, etc.

The politely took my concerns, and whether or not they called the manager, I have no idea.

Anyhoo, the room was clean and in good shape. Breakfast was NOT included, but I did purchase breakfast in the restaurant, and it was very good.

All in all, I'd stay here again if I pass through again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmohank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    49
    32
    22
    11
See reviews for
52
32
12
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our first visit to pcb so we were unaware how far from the beach the hotel actually was. The hotel is older and could use a little renovation. The rooms were clean but could stand to be a bit more tidier. The staff is extremely nice. And the pool area is awesome! Our kids loved the pool! All in all its just okay. I do recommend spending the extra $$$ to stay closer to the beach be taken into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CottonTopsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford de
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is a good examples of what an older Holiday Inn can achieve wit great employees
with great service attitudes.
Pool and spa are very good .Only negative is Hotel Very Slow. If you are going to use the pool facilities should ask the front desk to put you in a room convenient to stairwell exits or lower floor by elevator. Room rates are very reasonable if traveling I-10 Hotel is approx 50 miles south
of I-10 on rt.231 Oh in the evenings expect a snack cart to stop by your room with snacks and drinks (non alcohol)
Parking is very convenient and plenty of spaces

Room Tip: If using pool ask for lower rooms to be more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not a great place for the money paid. The rooms were pretty clean for the most part, the pool and the hot tub are so dirty. My friends and I must have swam in that pool multiple times not realizing what a very bad idea it was. We all ended up getting ear infections from the pool, I got red spots all over my back that did not go away for another 2 weeks. The sauna was ok, except some old staff guy kept hassling me and my friends trying to make us go back to our rooms. I felt like I was being babysat. The cafeteria was clean but the service was not great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetmagnolia1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear sweetmagnolia1717,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel needs to be downgraded to 1 star effective immediately!

I booked a 4 night stay with hotwire.com using their exiting “blind “hotel booking and I was unpleasantly surprised at my arrival. The hotel is very old, it smells terrible, customer service is nonexistent and we found a frog inside the room on the 5th floor. Initially we were checked in into a dirty room, and then we found the frog in the 2nd room they gave us. The entire length of our stay was 20 minutes and I will never return to this hotel, I am undecided on the brand yet.

The problem is that somehow the hotel has 3 stars rating everywhere on Internet and I cannot understand why. Well, hotwire refunded my entire booking without any hassle, which is a good indication it is not the first time they hear complaints about this property.

Anyways, if you expect to stay at 1 star hotel and if you book it for around 50-60 dollars per night, then you will stay in a 1 star hotel and you might get to sleep with frogs. If you expect a 3 star hotel, regardless of the price you paid, you will leave as soon as you enter this property.

Room Tip: I found a frog inside the room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Panama City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Petar K

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the overall condition of our hotel. This is certainly not the impression we wish to project to our guests. We take our customer reviews very seriously and really use them to better the quality and guests services we offer in the future.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Upon checking in, the clerk at the front desk had me wait for service for three minutes without saying a word to me. Customer service is dying in this country. You never ignore a customer that is ready to spend money...... Overall, the hotel appears to be older, but very well-maintained. The hotel was very clean except for the jetted-tub in my room. The jets had gunk around them. I also noticed that when I started the jet, the jet released a foul smelling water. Of course I didn't bother using the tub after that. I didn't bother asking for another room either. Other than that, the room was very clean.....The poor service and dirty tub were enough to make me cancel my reservations for the following two nights. I ended up booking rooms at a reputable hotel on the beachside with complimentary hot breakfast for each guest for the same rates... I've had pleasurable experiences at Holiday Inns before, but I will never return to this one.

Room Tip: Check the jets on the whirlpool before you use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffhughb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place for a quick stop, Staff really friendly, Rooms are clean, great ameneties, refrigerator, plasma TV, spacious, with WIFI access. Hotel has a Pool and hot tub, plenty of parking, and is located in a center area in Panama City. It is an older building so you might find few things that need to be updated for example the Bath tub/shower. But overall for less than $90 per night it was a Good experience. About 10-15 minutes away from Panama City Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel_aficionado2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#1 of 32 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 32 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites Panama City
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Panama City
Courtyard Panama City
#5 of 32 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Panama City

Property: Holiday Inn Panama City
Address: 2001 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Panama City, FL 32405-5316 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Panama City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Panama City 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated Holiday Inn is once again the premier hotel in Panama City, no matter if you are in town for business or pleasure! From the front entrance, all throughout the hotel guests will enjoy a fresh new experience as a multimillion dollar renovation is now complete! All new guest rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby, fitness center, and business center are waiting for vacationers and business professionals alike, the only thing that has not changed at this award winning full service hotel, is the superior level of southern hospitality. The Holiday Inn offers a variety of amenities like free WIFI, free parking, and great IHG Reward Club Member perks, but most importantly are the comfortable, spacious guest rooms. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, pillow top mattress and pull-out desk. After a restful night, enjoy a full breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Then after a day of work or play, take a relaxing swim in our indoor pool, soak in our hot tub, have a seat at the bar, dine in our restaurant, or indulge in room service. Our 4425 sq. ft. meeting convention space will accommodate groups up to 300. The Holiday Inn Specializes in events, meetings, reunions, wedding receptions, and athletic teams. Located only 9 miles from Tyndall AFB, 8 miles from NCSS and the Beach, in the Panama City business district at HWY 231 and HWY 77 across from the Panama City Mall. Our hotel is near the businesses you want to do business with. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Panama City Hotel Panama City
Holiday Inn Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing