We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN”

Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have slept in Howard Johnson before. I will never sleep at this location. It was nothing like I expected. Breakfast: HAHA, what a joke! Peacefully nights rest, Only after I ran off the drunks that were having a party in front of my room.
If you have children, run in another direction. Stay away from this place. I wouldn't leave anything of value in hotel. Thank God I only had to stay one night.
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. What a dump!
I don't trust many hotels to clean their sheets so I always carry my own. I don't think they washed their at all. The smell was unreal.
Only plus, Price. Had to take a class down there during Spring Break. Next time, I'll pay the $100 for a better room.

Room Tip: Choose another location. This hotel is ghetto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 129 of 129 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

Found this hotel at a decent price and the price was probably the best part. The hotel was listed as a two star but was barely a one. The staff was friendly and helpful but the room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since the day the place was opened. The carpet had stains all over it, the walls had holes that had been patched (not well) the counter top with the sink was coming loose from the wall, the bathroom had cobwebs in it, the toilet paper holder was rusty and the paint around the door was patchy and peeling. The value was great, and with a little TLC this would be a nice place, but until the staff dedicates some time to maintenance and cleaning, I'd advise to only stay here if you can't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnMb_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for your response. The staff of the Howard Johnson Express- Panama City, FL apologizes for any inconveniences during your stay. We have worked with housekeeping and maintenance to keep the property up to standard and continue to work with them to keep guests comfortable and happy during their stay. We have recently as of last month updated our rooms with new carpeting, furniture, and bedding. If you come to Panama City again, please give our inn a try. Please contact management when you reserve or come in, so we may personally show you our updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Absolutely dirty, worst service, dont buy into the free WI FI lie!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValBM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The lady at the desk wAs very friendly and the pool was decent.. I cannot find any other good points about this hotel. The room had a strange smell upon walking into the room, this went away after the air conditioner was turned on. There were holes in the walls, there door to the room had shoeprints on it, as if it had been kicked. The latch to keep the door locked was broken, so it would be easy to break down the door.
There were bugs on the bathroom floor and cobwebs on the ceilings. The bathrooms were small but at least the water was warm.
There were also stains on the ceilings... Not sure what those were from.
The desk personelle was helpful And offered another room but we were only there for one night and just dealt with it... I could not reccomend this hotel for anything
more than a night.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripperMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The room and appointments showed signed signs of age to the point quality was compromised. However, the continental breakfast was presented in a neat manner.

I would rate this location on the lower end of chain motels. It's definitely not for the discriminating traveler but would meet the needs of the budget-minded.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chamomilegardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Stayed at the Hojo July 21 - 26. The hotel is average, the rooms are small but no one really stays in the hotel. The continental breakfast was nice as we got up early each morning grabbed some cereal and coffee then hit the pool for a couple hours before heading off to our daily plans.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joujoukim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Panama City
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Panama City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
Hilton Garden Inn Panama City
#1 of 31 in Panama City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramada Panama City
Ramada Panama City
#25 of 31 in Panama City
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Panama City
Red Roof Inn Panama City
#4 of 31 in Panama City
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Panama City, FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City

Address: 301 E 23rd St, Panama City, FL 32405-4524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: $63 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.) Hotel Panama City
Panama City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing